We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a fan of German food so perhaps a tough sell” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Depot 1899

Depot 1899
Ranked #205 of 2,445 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
344 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Not a fan of German food so perhaps a tough sell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Depot 1899 did not thing to assuage me that German food is worth writing about. It isn't lost on me that I am about to do that nonetheless.

The decor is pleasant although my visit was in the run up to the Christmas season so I appreciate that it was perhaps a little 'chintzy'. With its high ceilings and tall windows looking out into the street, there is a very airy feel here. The seating is mixed with some bar-side tables, larger tables for groups as well as the usual 2s and 4s. As we were sat by the bar, I can tell you that this is very well stocked and if you're a fan of German beer or beer more broadly then you're in luck as it is pretty cheap and plentiful... as you would expect in Frankfurt.

The food was OK. I had roasted pork which came with a restrained sauerkraut and a large ball-shaped doughy, stuffing. To accompany this was a separate sauce 'jug'. See photo to see what arrived. The pork was well cooked, it wasn't dry and two thick slices arrived so you coudl describe it as a hearty portion. I think you would struggle to make it through 3 courses with this portion. I say the sauerkraut was restrained as sometimes when I've had this I've had to ask for cabbage with my vinegar. This however was nicely balanced and provided a refreshing contrast to the meaty cut of pork. The sauce tasted like roasted meat juices so its depth of flavour nicely accompanies roasted meat and a sharp sauerkraut.

The baseball sized stuffing ball was truly a mystery to me. I am not sure you would eat something this size. I say stuffing ball because that was very much the flavour coming from it. Bready, herby and soft. It was very dense and safe to say stodgy. My friend remarked that sometimes they just serve this to kids in schools. As a sole portion. I am not surprised. In fact it is remarkable that they serve it in a place largely made of windows. One bad move and the business could fall like a pack of cards. It was pleasant enough but you could easily be satisfied with two golf ball sized offerings. This struck me as both 'filler' and added nothing to an otherwise well-balanced dish.

My friend had roasted beef which arrived in a rich, onion glaze and a generous portion of spetzel (German noodle like side dish which looks like thick off-cuts of pasta boiled and sauteed in butter). Hers looked pretty good but again this Spetzel just struck me as stodge for stodge sake. It is low on taste and high on filler.

Would I return? Maybe for drinks. Again, German food is not my thing but I'm always willing to give food a go. I should say that the overall presentation was more modern than I've had in a few German restaurants which usually follows the mantra of 'lump it on there'. Perhaps I've had bad experiences but Depot 1899 does nothing to make me second guess my view to date.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lcollens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    65
    49
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun festive place for friends, family or just to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have been here twice - good solid German food and great beer selection. The home brewed beer is very tasty. Food is quality, nothing fancy but shouldn't disappoint. Outdoor seating and ambiance of the nice facade and large bar make the restaurant. Large lovely area to sit outside under umbrellas and plenty of indoor tables. Had no issues with service either time,(standard European service). Easy location to get to, 2 minute walk from the Sudbahof.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DMSC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for the Brunch Buffet - avoid if you expect table service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Depot 1899 benefits from a great location and amazing building - it's an old tram depot in a nice quiet area, near to the Sudbahnhof in the Sachsenhausen area of Frankfurt. It's a relatively large establishment that brews its own beer, which is quite nice. Also, the food is pretty good.

The one thing that lets this place down is the service - it's almost comically bad! I'm not sure whether it's because there aren't enough staff, they don't pay them enough, or it's a deliberate policy, but it's a feature that makes this place stand out from the crowd. They're slow at allocating you tables, slow at serving, they get orders wrong, they forget about you, they're slow to bring you the bill... it's a real comedy of errors!

The best time to go is Brunch on a Sunday. It's around EUR 16 a head, including coffee and fresh orange juice and there's a good selection of food, hot, cold, sweet and savory and even a waffle bar. It's all tasty, fresh and frequently refreshed. And best of all, you're not dependent on the waiting staff. The only thing they have to do is clear the plates and bring you the bill. This they do at their own pace, so best policy is to pile your empty plates on a nearby empty table and they'll meander along in 30 or so minutes and perhaps they might think about taking it away. We even witnessed other arriving couples get bored of waiting for someone to take their order and leaving the place for somewhere that cared about their custom. On our most recent trip, I had to ask two or three times for the bill and eventually it arrived, but thankfully the free coffee and orange juice means it's less of a pain - just don't go if in you're in a hurry.

Providing you accept all this, it's a great brunch venue!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RupertFFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loud, fun, affordable - perfect for a group dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We come here twice a year for a team dinner during a trade exhibition, and we know what we can expect every time: hearty & affordable German fare in a fantastic setting, with so-so service.

Whilst the Frankfurt specialities of Handkäse mit Musik (cheese in vinegar and onions - tastes much better than it sounds!) and eggs in green sauce are good and nicely served in jars, it is the Flammekuche that steals the show for starters. Thin, wafer-thin crispy pizzas, great to share. Highly recommended!

The schnitzels are decent, nothing more, nothing less. Served with a variety of sauces, with sautéed potatoes or chips. Honest German food.

Desserts can be shared, tapas-like but are not prepared to order. Not expensive either, so worth a go.

All in all, this is probably not the place to go for a romantic first date, but for a group dinner it is always top of our list in Frankfurt. A great night out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Huge restaurant, lovely environment, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Depot is a huge restaurant in Frankfurt which doesn't seem unfriendly at all in spite of its size. The service is fast and friendly, the food is excellent such as its own beers.
They also play great music for the dinner, but it's not loud so you can still enjoy the conversation with the others.
Definitely one of the greatest choices if you wanna arrange a great business dinner or just simply hang out with friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krisztina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Depot 1899 also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Depot 1899? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing