We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Hotel - Frankfurt
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
AdinaHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jumeirah Frankfurt(Frankfurt)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Roomers(Frankfurt)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
47
134
118
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
134
118
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationnice star hotelbody washeuropean hotelsthe hotel staffhotel is situatedzeil
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The big selling points for this hotel are its location just 100 yards from the railway terminus and its price, which seems relatively inexpensive for central Frankfurt. It’s an older building but in good condition. My room was a twin with a slightly odd layout; the two beds were nose to tail rather than side-by-side but that’s because the room was long and narrow. The bathroom was very good – blindingly white and very clean. Internet access is €5 for 12 hours.

If you have time to kill or want to exercise, the hotel is 5 minutes from a very pleasant riverside walk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The situation of the hotel is very well place in proxsimity of the main station.
If you go with expection of 4* quality im affraid you will be disappointed. I stayed in a single room and it was very single but clean. No aircon, the chandelier or excuse for one had seen better days but worked, the room had obviously had been smoked in as marks from the cigarettes had been left on the bathroom shelf tiles. The bathroom had been decorated but only a trickle of water left the shower head over the bath.
The towels sadly I would have thrown away or used them to clean my car.
Sadly again you have to pay for the internet and no English TV but to be fair I couldn't find them.
I booked the hotel on lastminute.com and this was not the orginal hotel I found out after I paid for the designated hotel of my choice but I was told it was fully booked and they put me into an equilivant hotel .....this was not the case. Just a word of warning
The Staff at reception was pleasent but the bar staff did not care as the soccer was on the TV. I hope this helps just be aware that lastminute.com may not be the cheapest price.

Room Tip: 330 not a good room
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at National Hotel - Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Lee,

thank you so much for having taken the time to rate our Hotel National Frankfurt in such detail.
On one hand, we are of course happy that you liked the location of the hotel and found our front desk staff to be pleasant.

However, we are of course not glad to see all your other comments about the room, the bathroom and state of the towels. We do sincerely apologize for these unfortunate events that you experienced. And certainly that we did not fulfil your expections of a 4 star hotel here at the Hotel National Frankfurt.
Our flat screen TV's are brand new and we would like to point out that we do offer several English speaking programs. Your comment helps us though that we have to do a better job to explain the various programs on a display next to the TV.

We do also understand your frustration about your experience with the mentioned online travel agency, which is obviously not in our control. This is of course a good opportunity to point out to other guests that if you book on our own official website, we do take responsibility for any errors we made there.

Thank you very much again for bringing up your valuable points in your comments here on Tripadvisor and we do appreciate that and hope you will be back at our Hotel National Frankfurt upon your next visit so that we can show you that we can do better

very best regards
Igal Lemler
Managing Director
Hotel National Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

LOCATION: The main reason to stay here is for its proximity to the train station. The neighborhood immediately surrounding the hotel is kind of gritty, but doesn’t seem unsafe. About 4 blocks away you can take a pleasant walk along the river and into areas with lots of typical (if not touristy) restaurants, shops, and promenaded streets.

ROOM: Big! The décor is dated, but in an elegant way, with chandeliers and high ceilings. It feels like this must have been THE place to stay in the 1950s.

BEDDING: Passed my bedbug inspection. I worried that the lumpy pillows felt like they were stuffed with dozens of golf-sized nerf balls, but they turned out to be very comfortable.

NOISE: None whatsoever. Even though ours was one of the rooms that opened onto the elevator foyer (on the 2nd floor), the double entry doors blocked out all noise.

AMENITIES: bath/hair gel, shoe cleaner, tissues. Good hair dryer, magnifying mirror was adhered to the mirror about two feet away, but at least it was there. Keyed safe was free, but too small for a laptop. Adjustable-height shower head with good water pressure.

STAFF: Helpful when asked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Callejera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The biggest advantage of this hotel is it's location and proximity to the train station and shopping district.
Rooms are old but clean.Mine was a single room and I did feel claustrophobic.Could have been a little bigger.Bathrooms are big,bigger than my room infact.Cleanliness we OK.Staff helpful. My room wasn't noisy but then it had no view and gave a feeling of suffocation.Breakfast was good.There is a nice Indian Resto Gaylord next to it where is used to have my dinner and lunch and the food is good there.Missed the AC badly in night while sleeping.
Not bad considering the price.BTW I got my stay extended by few hours and thus payed 50 euros.I was told the rack rate was 74 Euro for 24 hours.While after few minutes later only a young man entered they quoted the rack rate to be 70 euro for the single room.So different rates were quoted to two different people within minutes.

Room Tip: Towards the backside has no view.very suffocating.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kaushikid111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at National Hotel - Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear kaushikid111,


we would like to thank you for your upfront and detailed comment about our Hotel National Frankfurt and the time you took to do this.
We are glad to read that you found the location, the breakfast and the cleanliness of the hotel to be very good.
Sorry that the room you were in was not large enough for you. We do offer, of course, several different roomtypes and locations at very different price points so that we feel that there is usually a choice for every budget.
This brings us to your comment about the price difference that apparently was quoted to another guest. We have tried to investigate this and our explanation for this is: You asked for an extention of your stay which was given to you at the mentioned amount along with the explanation that your normal roomrate would be 74 Euros.
When the other guest arrived and asked for the roomrate, he was quoted the rate that was valid on that day which was 4 Euros less.
Like many other hotels, we do offer different rates on different days, depending on demand. But also, as mentioned before, we offer various roomtypes with slightly different rates. So, this must have been the confusion. We do apologize for any bad feelings this may have caused.

If your travels bring you back to Frankfurt, we would be very pleased to host you again at our Hotel National Frankfurt and show you our rooms personally so that you can make your choice while you are with us.

Thank you again for staying with us

Igal Lemler
Managing Director
Hotel National Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Close to the Hauptbanhof yes... but totally lacking in any other redeeming features.
Certainly the noisest hotel in Europe... no airconditioning and with the windows open you hear every bit of noise from the highway, train and tram junction!

Not even able to live up to its promise of a complimntary drink in the bar... promised when booking online.. but the bar is closed on the weekend.
What? Yes... the bar is closed on the weekend! In Europe??? is this possible? And the minibar can't manage to rustle up a wine from anywhere...
Pillows are lumpy and cleanliness seems only adequate.
My suggestion at this point... stay somewhere else!

Carmel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at National Hotel - Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Carmel,



first, we would like to thank you for your comment about our Hotel National Frankfurt on Tripadvisor.

Although,we do feel it is somewhat harsh, since we have offered you several rooms during your stay. But unfortunately we were obviously not able to satisfy your needs in this case.

Our hotel bar is indeed closed during weekends since the hotel is surrounded by many bars, cafes and clubs. But our front desk staff is of course able to provide you with drinks of your choice upon request.



However, the comment about a free drink at the bar does only apply to reservations made through our

own website. In your case it was made through an online travel agency.

We apologize for this misunderstanding.



If you ever come back to Frankfurt, we would be very happy you staying again at the Hotel National Frankfurt so that we can be able to rectify any negative feelings.



Very best regards and greetings to your beautiful city of Sydney



Igal Lemler

Managing Director

Hotel National Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews