We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best 2 star hotel in Germany” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Hotel - Frankfurt

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
National Hotel - Frankfurt
Ranked #152 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
AR
1 review
“best 2 star hotel in Germany”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

not a 4 star hotel. Rooms and bath look very shop worn. Service was poor. Have stayed in Germany and in
Frankfort many times. For Germany not even a good 3 star hotel. I would say 2 or 21/2 stars. Not worth the money. Will not stay there again.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank EWLoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    130
    98
    40
    19
See reviews for
40
82
68
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

Location: Near the train Station about 5-10mins walk

Receptionist: Friendly and able to provide information

Rooms: The room was spacious and the toilet was spotlessly clean. The decor of the room was however on the 70sor 80s era. But its does look nostalgic. The pillows are not fluffy but is didn really bother me.

Nice simple hotel.

  • Liked — Location, Value for money.
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

I booked via Hotwire b/c they stated this hotel was a 3 1/2 star hotel. I would rate this hotel as 2-3 star max. It does have a small bar area and a restaurant which is ok. Breakfast is 9 Euro. You are better served to walk into the Underground Subway station by the Irish pub and get a snack or go to Burger King and save the Euro. The staff were super efficient, friendly, and helpful. 4 Star staff. Internet computers for free in the lobby. Quiet room and maybe a bit expensive at $130 USD, but I would stay here again, I would just know it is a 2 1/2 star hotel. Restaurant and bar don't mean too much to me.

Being next to the train station was AWESOME. Red light district and its element is overrated as bad in this area. I wouldn't let this fact deter you since it wasn't as IN your face as I worried about. You can easily bypass this area and not worry about it so stay here with confidence. There is a Le Meriden around the corner so you know the Hotel's KNOW this area is good for travellers.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — room was small and furniture old.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bond007k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

This is an excellent hotel We were on the 4th floor room 418 and obviously recently renovated. Large flatscreen tv two single beds put together but extremely comfortable and big.Roomy wardrobe space and safe, minibar and tea and coffee making facilities a great help after a day or night out.Bathroom was absolutely gorgeous loads of towels changed every day great power shower which could be height adjusted which is great.Very quiet at back of hotel only problem was the heat very warm in Frankfurt last week 34deg!! and no a/c but the very helpful Desk Clerk Marcus who was so pleasant and helpful supplied us with a large fan and extra pillows.The front desk staff were a joy to deal with we arrived very early about 10.30 am but our room was ready even though the hotel was very busy.Free internet service in lobby tea and cakes in lobby in evening we also got vouchers for a free drink in the Bar which was great..A lovely comfortable bar run by an extremely charming and very experienced Greek Bar Man who presented me with a box of choccies because it was his Birthday!! He was great craic also a lovely barmaid.Breakfast was plentiful and would definetly fill you up for a long day. Hot and cold food lovely scrambled eggs I would recommend highly .Hams salmon, sausages ,bacon ,cereals yoghurts, fruit lots of different breads and always kept topped up never run pout of food no matter what time we arrived for Breakfast.Excellent location across road from station walking distance to all attractions and shopping and in all honesty if you want to see red Light you will have to look very hard no matter how many different ways we came and went we never seen anything bad or seedy few" specialist" shops but they are in every city.Never afraid walking back at night.All in all I will definetly be back.The Staff employed by this hotel are the best I have ever dealt with and I dont make remarks like this lightly.

  • Liked — Staff Room Location Food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancesC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

Stayed overnight in May. Hotel is just across the street from the train station. If you need to escape the "red light" district a bridge across the river is approximately 200 meters away. While the area is close to the train station and in the supposed red light area it didn't feel unsafe at all. The hotel desk clerk was friendly and professional. The hotel itself was quite a surprise. From the outside it looks a tiny bit grimy but it's a different world beyond the main entrance. We had room 110 which was at the end of the hallway. It was large, airy, and quiet. It faced the back of the hotel and looked over a small park (?) in front of another hotel. The bed was a double and quite comfortable. The bathroom was clean and shiny (always a concern!) I was quite pleased with the accomodations. The breakfast at 9 euro wasn't spectacular but all-in-all it was a good stay and I would definitely book a room there again in the future.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Taleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,968 reviews
392 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,088 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2008

I was looking for a hotel near Frankfurt's Central Railway Station and was not disappointed.

The lift was inoperable and carrying my bag was a bit of a pain up three long flights of stairs in this olde-worlde hotel with its giant staircase, but the room was adequate for a single traveller.

Unlike some other reviewers, I experienced a quiet stay. Perhaps I was in luck.

Breakfast was adequate. Perhaps because I was focused on coming in and leaving by train, I did not even notice the supposed 'red light' district.

The manager was friendly and when the sole Internet terminal in the hotel failed, he opened the door of the hotel next door and allowed me to use it.

All in all, a pleasant if brief stay and a hotel that while not four-star, is an acceptable 2.5 to 3 stars and deserves a repeat visit.

  • Liked — Quiet and friendly manager
  • Disliked — Room a little on the spartan side - needed some paint
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

I selected this hotel based on reviews found in the internet and I wasn't disappointed.

Location is great, just about 100 m from the Main Railway Station
(Hauphtbahnhof). So if you come by train from the airport, is it only a couple of minutes walk to the hotel. I saw in some comments that this hotel is situated near the so called "red light district". Well, only hints about that were a couple of shops in the Kaiserstrasse, but if you don't want to visit those places, nobody is dragging you there. I didn't see a single junkie during my four-day visit but I did saw nice places to have a quick bite at cheap price because there are a lot of ethnic takeaway bars and a very nice Irish pub.

I had also read that rooms facing to the backyard are peaceful and I asked and get that kind of room. Room itself was pretty small but it was ok for one person. Some things would need fixing, for example bathroom door but it didn't fall apart so no problem.

The breakfast was also very good and there's also a cozy bar downstairs with very friendly and smiling bartender. You can use internet free of charge in the lobby, it is handy to send for example e-cards.

To put it short, nice hotel, not four-star level but a good tree and a half.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room would need some fixing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KooVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Hotel Excelsior
#49 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Savoy Hotel Frankfurt
#212 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#50 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Colour Hotel
#214 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Grand Hotel Empire Frankfurt
#136 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel - Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel - Frankfurt

Property: National Hotel - Frankfurt
Address: Baseler Strasse 50, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel - Frankfurt 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your National Hotel - Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing