We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #64 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel is situated to the side of Frankfurts main railway station (HB). If you come out the station and turn right, you will see it.
It seems there is a red light district area in Frankfurt, on the left hand side of the HB as you exit, so you will be clear of that at this hotel.

We arrived well before official check in time and I requested a room overlooking the front, with views of the tram and the HB. We where told that a room not overlooking the front was available straight away but we would have to wait for a room overlooking the front to become available, but we where able to leave our bags at the hotel. The reception staff where very helpful and friendly.

We had a twin room with a balcony, as requested overlooking the front. Service was fine, although the one thing that I have had to mark the hotel down on is the room looks a little dated and there is no A/C, however a large fan is provided. We where put into a smoking room and we are both non smokers- however, as we requested a specific room with specific views, we where not going to complain. The room has a mini bar, which is included in the room rate- which is fantastic! Inside, you will find beer, pop and water. Wi-Fi is also included in the room rate, with passwords being provided by reception. This is the case for all rooms.
The bathroom is fine, although looking a little dated. Shower gel is provided in a small hamper which is quite a nice touch. The other nice little touch is on the beds, a small pack of Harribo sweets are left- not quite sure of the reason, but its nice.

In the lobby, complementary drinks are provided including tea and coffee. Hotel guests are also able to make use of their business centre, with access to computers, printers and drinks, again its included in the room rate.

Breakfast was very good for a continental European destination- with a good selection of both hot and cold options and a selection of fruit juices.

This is not a hotel that seems to regularly pop up in searches, but is worth the stay if you can get a cheap rate.

I have based my rating on the price (I got a very good price for a flight and hotel package for 1 night for 2 people) and the two negatives mentioned earlier.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metromuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

First, the positives: the location is great (right beside the Frankfurt Hbf), the rooms are clean and cheap, and the minibar is free (although a couple of cheap beers and two bottles of Pepsi didn't really excite me). The breakfast was OK I suppose, but I've had lots better.

Balance against that the general run-down condition and the loud mystery grinding noise that went on about six times an hour all through the afternoon and night. When I told the Reception staff about it, they said they didn't know what I was talking about. I can't believe that.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel is right across from the main train station, and not far from the airport (15 minutes by cab). Clean hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast selection included in price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The hotel was OK, not too much luxury for the rooms. The breakfast is really good and included in the room price and also there's a nice mininbar. The staff is friendly and helpful. Also wifi is available, for free, upon request. The area is a typical train station area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joerg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I and a friend stayed at Hotel Excelsior for a one-night stay recently. We arrived into Frankfurt's Main train station and walked around the corner to the hotel.
The staff were friendly and professional and checked us in right away.
The lift is rather small but we were happy there WAS a lift because I think we were on the 5th floor!
We found the room (2 single beds) to be exactly as we expected and the bed linens seemed to be very clean and comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the contents of the mini-bar were FREE and so we cracked open the two beers which were in there!
The WiFi in the hotel is also free and passwords can be obtained from the front desk.
The location of this hotel is very convenient - there seemed to be lots of bars and restaurants around and we walked about a 10 min to the river where we took a river-boat tour. The downside of the busy-ness of the area is if you leave the window open in your room there will be traffic noise.
The Hotel also has a free business centre with computers and most importantly a printer which came in handy when printing out directions for the next part of our trip.
The best part of the stay was the surprisingly lavish breakfast (included in the room price) available the next morning. Cereal, breads, hot food and lots of beverages were available buffet-style in the restaurant. My friend and I were very well-fed as we left Frankfurt, again by walking around the corner to the train station.
All-in-all, I would say this was a very comfortable place for a one-night stay, especially for the VERY reasonable price we paid. I was pleasantly surprised with some of the extras.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Hotel is very near to the rail station and is very quite, clean and having large rooms, Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor east side
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohammedbaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Walked into this place and thought... super ghetto hotel. Not that the other hotels in Frankfurt looked any better. Does have a few things going for it. Friendly staff, wifi, free mini bar, great breakfast buffet and across the street from the train station. Everything you need to see as a tourist in Frankfurt is walking distance from the hotel. Just don't expect a nice room and don't expect a quiet night if you are facing the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#57 of 270 in Frankfurt
583 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#31 of 270 in Frankfurt
261 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#46 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#10 of 270 in Frankfurt
736 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#7 of 270 in Frankfurt
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £47 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing