We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$77
View deal
Booking.com
US$77
View deal
Agoda.com
US$72
View deal
Hotels.comUS$77
PricelineUS$77
eDreamsUS$77
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,766)
Filter reviews
1,766 results
Traveller rating
342
823
396
127
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
342
823
396
127
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free mini bar the main train station excellent location free breakfast tea coffee minibar pepsi lobby euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 1,766 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I was returning to India from Germany after a business trip and had a planned stay at excelsior hotel. I arrived at Frankfurt from Bremen late in the night and checked in at excelsior which was closely located to the hauptbahnhof. I wouldn't say, that it is an excellent one, but definitely suits the needs of people like me who don't spend much time in the hotel. The rooms was rather small for the cost being charged. But yes, the service was good and i also enjoyed the breakfast there which was complimentary. Its close proximity to the dusseldorf street where many Indian restaurants are located was a blessing for me. The service was good except for the lifts that were always engaged.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohan_Prabhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Clean, comfortable and serviceable. Great location across the street from the central train station. Comfortable beds, and triple room is truly 3 beds. Mini-bar with sodas and beer is free. Tea, coffee, soft drinks and pastries are available for free in the lobby throughout the day. Good breakfast included in rate. Some traffic noise in our street-facing room, but not distracting. Front desk staff are very helpful, professional and multilingual.

Room tip: We arrived at 8 AM expecting to check our bags and wander around the city, but they offered the option of checking in early for 40 euros. So worth it, since we were exhausted from our flight! Non-room tip: Don't change money at the bank/wire transfer agency (not mentioning names) 2 doors to the right of the hotel. Go around the corner to the gold buyer's shop for a much better exchange rate.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The Excelsior is just across the street from the right hand exit of the main railway station so an excellent location.We were only 148 euros for two nights which gave us a double bedroon with breakfast included .There have been reports of outdated decor and poor dirty bathrooms .Our room No 518 was claen and with a newly installed bathroom so no complaints there.
Included in the price was 1) Free wifi internet access 2) an excellent buffet continental breakfst with hot eggs /bacon /sausages if required 3) a free mini bar -yes free which was refilled each day ( beer/coke /juice/mineral water ( no wine but hey the beer was good) 3) free coffe and cake in the reception if you want it -best be quick as it goes fast 4) shirt/trousers iron free .
As you see excellent value.
So any down sides ?
Would be best if you get a room at rear of hotel if traffic noise disturbs you easily
Close to the red light district if you are sensitive to that sort of thing ( we never had any trouble in the area)
You might need an extra pillow as there is only one -ask at reception.

The small negatives are far outstripped by the positives.
With this hotel you get a great deal for your money- but dont expect 5 star

Room tip: Get one at the rear of the hotel. See it before accepting .Some rooms have refurbished bathrooms and are better than others.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skunkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed for a trip to the Xmas markets. Easy to find from the main train station. We stayed in room 719 - twin room at rear of hotel, quiet and warm. Excellent choice for breakfast. Easy access to trams and trains for onward travel and around city. Tram five mins to romer for xmas markets and zeil. Really enjoyed our break and it was good value.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherineoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Pros:
1. Good rates ( especially if you book in advance)
2. Very near train station. Good for those who are travelling with large pieces of luggage
3. Free mini bar
4. They have triple and quad rooms (proper beds, not rollaways). Perfect for families
5. Fantastic breakfast spread (included in rate)
6. Free hot beverages and cakes in the lobby during the day

Cons.
1. Old and tired rooms. Needs refurbishment
2. Could be a bit noisy due to its proximity to train station.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail_mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews