We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #68 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a two night stay in a room for three. My son liked the bunk beds, though I can imagine others would not. The pushed together double had eccentrically opposed soft and hard mattresses. The bathroom was so cramped that you had to be very careful not to put your fott in the toilet when exiting the shower.

That said, the mini bar was included in the room, the buffet breakfast was varied and excellent, the free wi-fi was strong and the complimentary all day drinks station in reception was a nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful and the off street parking was very convenient and no more expensive than in the car parks around.

The location is immediately opposite the busiest railway station in Germany, so those of you who are troubled by these things might want to bring earplugs!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here as a stop over after arriving in Europe and before heading to Northern Italy. The breakfast selection is enormous and the free mini-bar was a delightful treat. Now this is not the newest hotel you will ever stay in but the room was adequate, the bed was good and the bathroom provided everything you need. It was clean, well stocked and the staff provided good service. If you need something to eat just wander across the street (literally across the street) and pick from dozens of choices in the train station - or there are other restaurants nearby. The train from the airport is fast, cheap, and drops you at the train station right across the street from the hotel - you can't beat that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ld S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Have stayed in the hotel on my first visit to Frankfurt and this still remains my favourite.

Pluses (+)
Just across the station. So you can move in and out at any time with the heaviest of luggage.
Very clean hotel. Though sgl rooms are a bit small.
Free use of minibar.
Free internet at the business centre.
Excellent breakfast.
Prices are reasonable.
Most professional staff.
Minus (-)
Very high prices during fairs !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali_asif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Location couldn't be any better, right opposite the train station, 15 mins walk into the town area. Free minibar is a great idea, why don't other hotels offer this?
Breakfast is as other reviewers say, loads of variety and plenty to suit all tastes. Lifts were slow, but contrary to other reviews we never had to wait long. Free coffee and cakes all day which we never had, but nice to know its there if you want a drink.
Rooms are basic, but very clean. We were at the front of the hotel which was noisy with the window open, but we kept close and was then quiet.
A great hotel for the price. Would definitely recommend if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

the hotel is so very near to the main train station, very convenient to travel to the nearby country., I was there and had a nice shopping on that train station, just walk straight from the hotel lobby across the street. . Food and hotel service is so very cheap but so delicious. I was also so lucky to met the hotel staff which is a Filipina and she helps me a lot going around frankfurt, All staff were accomodating...

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor were quieter, and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PtrGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Excelsior is right next to Frankfurt Hbf, so is convenient if you have to stay overnight between trains on your way through Germany. Come out of the station on the south side (turn right coming off the platforms), cross the road and you're there. For a short stay I thought it was absolutely fine, and excellent value for money.

My room wasn't very luxurious, but was comfortable and clean. Free minibar, including water, cola and beer, and the wifi worked well. The breakfast (included in the room rate) was surprisingly good, a huge selection and a nice big dining room so no problem getting a table.

The only drawback is that the area round the Hauptbahnhof is not the nicest part of the city, and can feel a bit seedy in the evening - there are quite a lot of people sleeping rough. Plenty of fast-food outlets but couldn't find anywhere for a proper sit-down dinner. So I took the S-bahn two stops along to Hauptwache in the city centre, and there are plenty of good places to eat there. Or (as I found the next day) you could go to the old town square near the Dom for an even better choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dohfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just across the street from the main train station. Decided to stay there again at the end of our trip as it was so easy to get to the airport because of the location. Lots of shopping and good restaurants nearby and within walking distance to the old city. Room was clean and spacious but the shower stall was quite small. We had problem with the WI-Fi during our first stay and was fine during the second visit. Good breakfast and free mini bar. Free coffee, cakes and fruit in the lobby during the day.friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgarytripper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#52 of 270 in Frankfurt
594 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#37 of 270 in Frankfurt
277 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#47 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
#55 of 270 in Frankfurt
797 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#8 of 270 in Frankfurt
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £46 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing