We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senior Travellers”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #60 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Newcastle NSW
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Senior Travellers”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hotel Excelsior is just across the road from Frankfurt main railway station. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean. A "cuppa" could be had in the foyer along with cake which was much appreciated after sightseeing all day. We had 2 months in Europe and Hotel Excelsior was rated by us as the best breakfast on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    737
    325
    97
    49
See reviews for
284
395
261
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Hotel Excelsior is next to Frankfurt main train station. Lots of food and convenient store and shops. Hotel offer all day free snack and beverage in the lobby area. Twin room are clean and comfort. Bathroom size is adequate and clean. Comfort bed make good sleep quality. Hotel staff are friendly and happy to give you the area informations. Buffet breakfast is supurb, they provide high range of food including asain noodle and rice!! Good for asain customer like us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwanvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great location within 1 minute from Hauptbahnhof if the signal is blue.
It is the very front of the Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof south exit.
The next day , I went to an overnight trip by train to entrust my luggage.
I left baggage the next day and went for an overnight trip by a train.
I think that 75 Euro per night for two people was reasonable with breakfast included.
Also the drink of the refrigerator is complimentary.
It is with beer, cola, a mineral, mineral gas, and orange juice, each item of the number of guests.
Floor of the room seemed to be a new layer to re-covering .
Other than breakfast time, there is a coffee service in the lobby.
Elevator is slow since there is no close button.
And it stopped at every floor, however no one got on the elevator with its crowdedness.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1100PlumGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

So handy just to cross the road to this hotel. A nice welcome and great to see some cake, tea, coffee, water to have at the foyer. A nice touch. Ask for Non-smoking if that is what you need then on arrival or even when you book. Our room faced the street and was a decent size Room 206 with good room for the two of us. My son was in 208 accommodated him close to us, and I am afraid but the room reeked of cigarette. It would not matter to a smoker, I guess. He had just given up smoking and said with this room he made the right choice giving it up. He said don't complain mum and he left the window open. His room he said was very noisy from the outside happenings. I could not have taken it myself. I dropped shampoo etc around to take some of the smell away. He was just glad to be near by our room.
Breakfast was great, with plenty of room and great variety. Would stay there again. The front desk helped us with a late check out for a moderate amount. 10/10 that helped so much.
ok no Air con...no safe.. great internet... no heater.. and great English TV.

Room Tip: I think I covered that.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Pros - Great location, Extremely helpful staff at the reception, free MINIBAR (though not too much in it - 2 beers, 2 pepsi, one water, 2 orange juices and sparkling water), free tea and coffee through the day at the lobby and finally free WIFI

Cons - During the exhibitions; the breakfast area could get quite full - however; always some place available. The breakfast is adequate (not bad at all). The rooms are ok (not bad - however not too great as well).

Would I recommend this hotel - yes I would but don't expect the world

PS - spelt on the bunk bed (it was quite comfortable)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I Stayed at hotel excelsior 4 nights by the end of October 2013 . The room was so small we cant even unpack 2 persons at the same time .The breakfast was horrible no cookies at all. the price due to the fairs taking place in Frankfurt was 200 euros per night . unbelievable such a high price for such a low grade hotel .Only the location was excellent. The staff indifferent . i will never stay at this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ADRAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a two night stay in a room for three. My son liked the bunk beds, though I can imagine others would not. The pushed together double had eccentrically opposed soft and hard mattresses. The bathroom was so cramped that you had to be very careful not to put your fott in the toilet when exiting the shower.

That said, the mini bar was included in the room, the buffet breakfast was varied and excellent, the free wi-fi was strong and the complimentary all day drinks station in reception was a nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful and the off street parking was very convenient and no more expensive than in the car parks around.

The location is immediately opposite the busiest railway station in Germany, so those of you who are troubled by these things might want to bring earplugs!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#57 of 269 in Frankfurt
576 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#28 of 269 in Frankfurt
255 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#48 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#17 of 269 in Frankfurt
698 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#12 of 269 in Frankfurt
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing