We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really happy with our choice of hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #50 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Surrey/Hants border
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Really happy with our choice of hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We visited Frankfurt to see the Christmas Markets. Hotel Excelsior seemed like it would be a good base due to the location, plus I liked the fact the rate includes breakfast.
Firstly the location was excellent. Right opposite the south exit of the station. The train journey from the airport was fast, cheap and direct.
Check in was friendly and efficient. The receptionist told us that she was upgrading us to a business room as "it's always good to try something different" we couldn't argue with that!
The room was a good size, with a balcony, television, decent shower, bathrobes and slippers and a kettle with coffee etc. the free minibar was brilliant too. Especially as its refilled daily!
Breakfast was an absolute feast. Especially the smoked salmon, tasty scrambled eggs and fruits and yogurts. The afternoon tea on offer in reception was a lovely touch too. The lemon cake was delicious.
I wasn't too keen on the lifts, they were quite slow and always full, but the stairs run alongside so I just used them instead.
This was a really friendly hotel and ticked all the boxes for us. It was a shame there was no hotel bar, but the free drinks in the room made up for that. Would recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BimboDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    713
    309
    88
    44
See reviews for
271
378
252
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The hotel looks very worn and tired, but that is made up for by the very helpful and friendly staff. It is located close to the main station so handy for visits. The rooms are small, with a free minibar, but no room safe and no tea/coffee making facilities, but during the day there was complimentary tea and coffee and cake in the lobby. The room I had, only had a view of a wall opposite.

The left luggage was accessible by any guest (or pretending to be a guest) by asking for the room key from reception, I spent some time in there repacking my bag, but could easily have been doing anything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drakeekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our room was ok, but my son's was just not good. It was a smoker’s room and he had stopped smoking recently and found this room to be why he had to give it up. Although the rooms were clean and basic, it was the smoke in his room that turned me off. Breakfast was fine. We had trouble with clean towels and toiletries. The kindness on our last with a late checkout was very welcoming. Thanks. Lift did not work whilst we were there on 1 occasion. Nice snacks in foyer was a great gesture. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed in the Standard Single Room for two nights.

Although the room is simple, it is equipped with everything a solo business traveler or a solo tourist needs.
For this kind of price, it is good enough.

The Wi-Fi signal is free and the system allows two device to get online at the same time, which is good.
However, the system is proceeded under some sort of control, which will block some websites and cut off your Wi-Fi connection automatically.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHL2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

good hotel for one day stay
the location is excellent and noisy
the breakfast is excellent
the facilities is poor .
it's fit for one day stay not more than that
there is parking t hotel ( 10 euro per day
you will find various choices of restaurant and activates around

Room Tip: the west room on central station is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alamoudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great location with friendly service, excellent infrastructure and surprisingly good breakfast buffet that exceeded expectations big time. The relationship of price and value is fantastic. Good location to explore the city and very easy to access by train or via taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hotel Excelesior is located just across the street from Frankfurt main train station. The room are clean and comfort. We have stayed there twice, on 2011 an 2013. Great breakfast. Free snack and beverage all day in the lobby area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venus1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#52 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#35 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#42 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#18 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing