We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half term city Break”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #65 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for a week with our son (7) and thought it was perfect for what we needed to do. We managed to get a good deal through bookings.com and it was well worth the price. The staff are very polite and efficient and made a fuss of our son which was a nice touch. Both small problem items in the room were fixed immediately (bulb and leaking shower) the (family) room was certainly large enough and the balcony gave us a view across to the station. It was clean with no unusual smells and was cleaned and tidied each morning. The beds were perfectly comfortable and we found BBC World on the TV whose remote was immaculately clean and had no unsavoury deposits smeared into it. The breakfast was superb and we ate till we could barely walk. Everything you could want is in the buffet, and it's always fresh, hot, or chilled as you would expect it. There is a huge varity of food on offer. We helped ourself to fruit for our lunches as well. The bedroom mini bar was free for us, so we enjoyed the beer, water and juices each day, just right. All day in the hotel lobby you could help yourself from a table spread with sliced cake, coffee and a selection of teas which was lovely to have as you return to the hotel from a museum or sightseeing. This table is immaculate and regularly restocked with cake and clean cutlery. Reception also steered us in the direction of "Samuri Sushi" which is well worth tracking down if you like a good sushi meal, it's not listed on trip-advisor. I've certainly stayed in better hotels (on business) but for our money it was comfortable, clean, well staffed and at less than £30 each per night including the (excellent) breakfast, free lobby refreshments and mini bar plus the free fast wifi for all our devices I can recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Keyframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed at the Excelsior for one night on business. Chosen from recommendations for ease of transport option across Frankfurt, reasonable cost/value for a 3 star hotel in the downtown.

Arrived by train, so 100 meters to the Hotel. Used the S-bahn for meetings and a short taxi ride to main meeting. All in all, suited my needs for this trip perfectly.

The hotel is definitely 3 star, common areas and rooms clean but functional. Staff all friendly and again a good cost/value proposition as long as you are not expecting a higher level hotel. Rooms were large enough.

The breakfast was better than I expected in a hotel of this class.

Overall, very satisfied and can recommend if this type of hotel and location is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Wifi Internet works.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller12305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a recent stay in this pleasant hotel, very central, and just across the road from frankfurt main train station. Breakfast is amazing, so much variety, looked forward to this lovely feast each morning, it really set us up for the days sightseeing and shopping, also loved the idea of coffee/ tea and cakes available all day in the foyer of the hotel, with no problem taking this to our room. Great to have the mini bar in our room also, and even better it was free of charge. All these little extras made our stay at the excelsior very enjoyable indeed. The only fault, and I'm sorry to say this, is that the bedroom was very small, no leg room at one side of the bed at all, but this was our only negative point. We will definitely recommend this hotel and will book to stay here again when we next visit. Thank you !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room when booking, and preferably one at the rear of the hotel, due to street noise...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neesy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel is in great location in front of the main station. Many resaurants are around, also near the shopping area. The room are tidy but little bit small. The mini bar are free. Breakfast is good with many varities. Stuff is friendly. The only thing was not good the bad smell that sometimes exist in the bathroom. OVerall, I will stay there again if ever I went to frankfurt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamernaggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It was our second stay in this hotel. Location next to Frankfurt Main Train Station makes this hotel very popular. Street noise is unavoidable for such location, but it is not overwhelming.
Free internet, free minibar, excellent breakfast with great selection of food including international cuisines.
Sleeping arrangements are quite good - comfortable bed, good pillows.
Service is very efficient; it took only few minutes to check-in. Small issue we had with the minibar was fixed straight away.
This hotel is our first choice in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located right across Frankfurt Main Train Station and is very easy to find. Breakfast is good (quite delicious actually) and the minibar in the room is free! Room is clean and comfortable. Price is reasonable. The only gripe is that the luggages are all placed in a room which is not locked or manned. Anyone can enter the room to take the luggages as there is no exchange slip or anybody to ensure that you have collected the correct luggage. Deposit at your own risk!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Traveler-from-Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Location is just accross Frankfurt main stn. Breakfast is good. Free mini bar at your room. WC is very old and not so easy to move around. Very very small and stain in the floor. You could heard a lot of noise on the room beside during cleaning time. Elevator is only two which are bothe very small.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank arielpayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#56 of 270 in Frankfurt
583 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#30 of 270 in Frankfurt
262 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#46 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#9 of 270 in Frankfurt
736 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#7 of 270 in Frankfurt
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £45 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing