We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated near the station”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #61 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Strasbourg, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well situated near the station”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hotel extememly well situated just in front of the train station and a 10 min brisk walk from the main shopping area. Tea and coffee available in the reception area all day. Rooms well insulated and spotless. Lovely fluffy duvets. Ample room for the two of us sharing. Very accomodating staff even when we came in late.

Room Tip: Even though ours looked out over the station and the main road, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emsaboutown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    733
    321
    97
    48
See reviews for
282
392
258
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed three nights at hotel excelsior, in a twin room. The beds were comfortable, the room clean and the bathroom also clean. Just what we needed for the short stay. We really liked that the mini bar was free and re-stocked each day. We booked this hotel due to it being so close to the train station and walking distance to downtown. A little noisy during the day due to some sort of construction but fine a night. I would away here again for a short visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djclk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel has several big pluses, but some minuses as well.
+ Conveniently located next to the railway station, good and variable breakfast, very early breakfast (starting at 5 AM!), free tea/coffee in the lobby 24h, free wifi, free minibar, free ironing service (one item only), clean rooms, clean bathroom, quiet rooms (at least on the courtyard side)

- air circulation in the room was not good, cigarette smell in the room, wifi was slow or not usable in the evenings, elevators are very slow, smallish rooms.

Despite the minuses, the hotel offers good value for money, and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: the street side is very busy throughout the night so perhaps that side should be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

After a long flight it was a relief to cross the road from the central train station and to be able to check into our room early. This was my first stop on a 3 week tour and my thoughts were if this was what accommodation is like in Europe, then I'm in for a great holiday and I can honestly say that as far as value for money and what we received, there was no other place that we stayed that equalled it.

The cake and coffee in the lobby, the mini bar with a selection of beverages, the towelling robe and slippers, and the breakfast selection was incredible.

The only negative I felt was the pokey bathroom but this really wasn't an issue.

Thank you very much for the warm welcome and I would happily come visit again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MataiWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week with our son (7) and thought it was perfect for what we needed to do. We managed to get a good deal through bookings.com and it was well worth the price. The staff are very polite and efficient and made a fuss of our son which was a nice touch. Both small problem items in the room were fixed immediately (bulb and leaking shower) the (family) room was certainly large enough and the balcony gave us a view across to the station. It was clean with no unusual smells and was cleaned and tidied each morning. The beds were perfectly comfortable and we found BBC World on the TV whose remote was immaculately clean and had no unsavoury deposits smeared into it. The breakfast was superb and we ate till we could barely walk. Everything you could want is in the buffet, and it's always fresh, hot, or chilled as you would expect it. There is a huge varity of food on offer. We helped ourself to fruit for our lunches as well. The bedroom mini bar was free for us, so we enjoyed the beer, water and juices each day, just right. All day in the hotel lobby you could help yourself from a table spread with sliced cake, coffee and a selection of teas which was lovely to have as you return to the hotel from a museum or sightseeing. This table is immaculate and regularly restocked with cake and clean cutlery. Reception also steered us in the direction of "Samuri Sushi" which is well worth tracking down if you like a good sushi meal, it's not listed on trip-advisor. I've certainly stayed in better hotels (on business) but for our money it was comfortable, clean, well staffed and at less than £30 each per night including the (excellent) breakfast, free lobby refreshments and mini bar plus the free fast wifi for all our devices I can recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Keyframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed at the Excelsior for one night on business. Chosen from recommendations for ease of transport option across Frankfurt, reasonable cost/value for a 3 star hotel in the downtown.

Arrived by train, so 100 meters to the Hotel. Used the S-bahn for meetings and a short taxi ride to main meeting. All in all, suited my needs for this trip perfectly.

The hotel is definitely 3 star, common areas and rooms clean but functional. Staff all friendly and again a good cost/value proposition as long as you are not expecting a higher level hotel. Rooms were large enough.

The breakfast was better than I expected in a hotel of this class.

Overall, very satisfied and can recommend if this type of hotel and location is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Wifi Internet works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller12305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a recent stay in this pleasant hotel, very central, and just across the road from frankfurt main train station. Breakfast is amazing, so much variety, looked forward to this lovely feast each morning, it really set us up for the days sightseeing and shopping, also loved the idea of coffee/ tea and cakes available all day in the foyer of the hotel, with no problem taking this to our room. Great to have the mini bar in our room also, and even better it was free of charge. All these little extras made our stay at the excelsior very enjoyable indeed. The only fault, and I'm sorry to say this, is that the bedroom was very small, no leg room at one side of the bed at all, but this was our only negative point. We will definitely recommend this hotel and will book to stay here again when we next visit. Thank you !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room when booking, and preferably one at the rear of the hotel, due to street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neesy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#55 of 269 in Frankfurt
572 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#34 of 269 in Frankfurt
250 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#16 of 269 in Frankfurt
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,861 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#9 of 269 in Frankfurt
774 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#14 of 269 in Frankfurt
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing