We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #62 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have often stayed at the hotels near the rail station in Frankfurt because of the convenience. The service has always been good but the reason I stop booking at the Excelsior is that it's a big hotel with just one elevator which is a problem if you have luggage. The breakfast is good and a good variety.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor and ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    737
    325
    97
    49
See reviews for
284
395
261
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister during our time in Frankfurt, we were not happy, lucky we were only booked for 2 nights. The exterior of the building was very hideous and unimpressive compared to the lovely buildings around. The staff were ok, not overly friendly. The room was terrible, the bed was hard as a rock, I could forgive the outdated interior if the bed was comfortable but it wasn't so we weren't very pleased with the room. In the room there was no air conditioning, only a fan and the room was quite hot so it was very unpleasant. The hotel interior was very outdated and used, it definitely needs a refurbishment. The hotel did have some good inclusions like free WiFi and a free mini bar but we were promised a free daily newspaper which we didn't see and the breakfast was very poor. Overall we did not have a good experience. I believe the hotel is over rated, it is not a 3 star hotel in my opinion. We definitely won't be staying here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NickieAslanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed1 night at this hotel after arriving by train from Amsterdam . It is located just outside the station. Whilst it is not the most luxurious it is certainly the best value hotel we stayed at in Europe. Very helpful staff, great customer focus, excellent breakfast included in tariff, ironing room, free snacks and mini bar and a very reasonable tariff. Highly recommend for anyone travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Just ask the friendly staff, rooms at rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verdo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Excelsior for 3 days during our recent visit. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel is next to the main train station, so it is very convenient. They have a free minibar in the room that is great and the breakfast was also great!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

+
Stayed 1 day, Location, Fan, Sky TV, welcome Cake, B'fast, Sound proof and Value for money.

-
Heat (no AC), Wi-Fi, noisy if u open the window as near to main station, Slow Lift (5minutes) to get down, congested bath and toilet

Room Tip: Get a room that is not facing main train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavKrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a single jet lagged evening in June 14. The hotel is getting a little old, but it is made up for in price and service.
Right next to the station, we found the accessibility, staff, breakfast and cleanliness balanced out the age factor.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuzzyfot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed 7 nights on business in June 2014 - during a heatwave.

Booked a standard room at a knock-down price for a central location, literally across the road from the main railway station (the Hauptbahnhof) and with a tram stop right outside.

Note that the standard rooms do not have air-conditioning; in 35C heat, this was a serious issue. Luckily the staff gave out electric fans to anyone who asked - which at least made life bearable. The "free" minibar helped also! The small fridge contained cola, water, fruit juice and beer - a lifeline in the heat.

The room faced the rear of the hotel, looking over an internal courtyard; I can only imagine the side facing the railway station would have been noisier. The room was small but comfortable, with a flat screen TV featuring hundreds of channels from all over the globe - including a few premium sports channels. The bathroom was small, and as others have noted, the shower cubicle was tiny with the shower head producing something of a dribble - but it did the job, to be fair.

Breakfast, included in the price also, was excellent. The hot options included scrambled egg, sausages, ham and noodles/noodle soup! Samosas were even in evidence. The remainder was standard continental fare, cold meats and cheese, many different breads (recommend the darker rye varieties) and fruit/yoghurt/cereal etc. Coffee was occasionally (randomly?) put out on tables in huge flasks, but there was also a coffee machine for espresso etc. The breakfast room was large and never seemed crowded, even when busy.

Another boon was the coffee/tea/cake/fruit available in the lobby during the day - again all included in the price. The wi-fi was included too (so many "extras" here!) but was variable - at times it was almost unusable.

The surroundings have been criticised - but I felt safe walking through the station to the hotel late at night. The station is open until late, with food offerings open too (convenient!) and so there are always people around.

There is a Rewe supermarket in front of the railway station, with a better selection than the nearer convenience stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan if you have a standard room and it's hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BulbousSquidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#55 of 269 in Frankfurt
576 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
255 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#48 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#17 of 269 in Frankfurt
698 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#13 of 269 in Frankfurt
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing