We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just returned from Frankfurt”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #49 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Just returned from Frankfurt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week and only returned a couple of days ago. The hotel was adequate but really not worth the money that we paid for it. On the plus side it was clean and the breakfast was good. However it had no atmophere, the staff were not friendly and when asked a question always directed you to the tourist information in the main hauptbanhof (railway station) which was only a few minutes walk away. As an overnight stay or for a business trip this would be ok but do not stay here if you want a friendly holiday hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    713
    309
    87
    44
See reviews for
271
378
252
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
160 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

The effects of the Volcanic ash and air cancellations led me to take trains from Vienna to London. I stayed overnight here in Frankfurt, a few metres fromt he station. The hotel is very welcoming and well managed. Check in is swift and they try to offer evrything you need. Free internet, an array of their own PCs and printer, tea or coffee available free of charge in the lobby. Rooms are a bit basic, and bathrooms very tiny, but this is a tourist class hotel not four star. I asked for a bath and was given a room with a tiny hip bath with the taps fixed to shower only. But for an overnight does it matter. Breakfast was more than adequate and when i checked out I was asked if I wanted to take a coffee or anything from the buffet with me! I did not do so but it was a nice gesture knowing I faced a long train journey in diffiuclt circumstances.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

i chose hotel excelsior after reading the other reviews. its location is right next door to train station so very easy to find. helpfull receptionist. the lock on the door is a bit confusing i do agree with other post. but only takes a minute to work out!. in the room i opened the fridge to check if there was free beer. and yes its true there were a couple of ice cold becks which i drunk straight away. there was 2 bottles of fresh orange juice, pepsi, still and fizzy water all complimentrey.
also they evan thought to leave to free chocalates on the pillows to eat which i thought was a nice touch. the room was clean and bathroom had a big bath/shower. the view was of what looked like an office block but i just closed the curtains.
the brekfast had everything you could want from sausages bacon to cake and fruit or salami and cheese to cornflakes whatever you normally have for breakfast it was there.
there were free computers to use in a room next to the reception. so to sum it up i paid less then 50 euros and bear in mind im a tightwad this is the best hotel ive stayed in for all the above reasons. my only mistake was staying for one night but i had an appoitment in nuremburg. frankfurt is a vile place its like a 1960s experiment gone mad but thats got nothing to do with the hotel....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivkeShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

This is a budget hotel located right near the train station. Don’t expect anything fancy – it’s a place to spend a night waiting for the flight or train.

Room was quite spacious, bath and shower were ok. Thin walls mean that you’d hear your neighbors showering and watching TV. View from our window (second floor) was a wall of another hotel! They use some obscure door locking system that we couldn’t comprehend at first, but got it with some help from the manager. Otherwise, no complaints.

Breakfast is cheap and with lot of choice. Staff very friendly, rooms clean. No cigarette smoke stench.

They also offer a lot of things for free: minibar with drinks (including beer! replenished daily), phone calls all around Germany (except mobiles), Wi-Fi in the rooms, although not fast, Skype wasn’t working at all. These may save you a few euros extra.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vyacheslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

This would have to be one of the worst hotels I have ever seen. The room stank of cigarette smoke even though we specified non smoking rooms when it was booked, the door would not lock properly, there were wire hanging from the ceiling outside the room, and the smoke detector was covered in masking tape.
No one should ever use this hotel - it is a serious health hazard!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

The hotel was quite alright.
There was some serious problems with opening the door, I don't know why they don't change the whole system...
Rooms quite tidy, although you can hear everything through the walls.
Toilet so-so...
The hotel is just accross the main train station, just 10 minutes from the airport, 15 minutes walk to the city centre, 15 minutes walk to the Messe.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAdvisorNo.1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

The most outstanding attribute of this hotel is the friendliness of its staff especially at reception. The room was clean and comfortable and the mini bar had an assortment of beverages free and was re-stocked each morning. The included breakfast had a very wide variety of food and beverages and I would challenge anyone to say otherwise.
There were a few minor annoyances such as a slow lift regularly insisting on stopping on floors without any patrons and no exhaust fan in the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterFixITAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#52 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#35 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#13 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#42 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#18 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing