We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel In Great Location”
Review of Alexander am Zoo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander am Zoo
Ranked #62 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Leicestershire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel In Great Location”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I was travelling solo on a business trip recently and chose this hotel primarily for its location. I'd heard some mixed reviews about hotels in the central area of Frankfurt near the main train station and decided that I would rather be in a less lively area of town. This hotel fitted perfectly - it is a 10-15 minute walk to the Zoo and about 30 minutes to walk into the main centre of town near the Zeil. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet (it's in a residential area, lots of apartment blocks around it) - granted it is not the trendiest place to be, but if that is what you're looking for head back to the area near to the train station. The breakfast was very good and included in the room. The 5 Euro charge for WIFI isn't ideal, however it is for a 24 hour period (and I've had to pay more in other places). The major downside is the cancellation policy as it isn't very flexible (be sure before you book), however this is very common for hotels in Frankfurt, mainly driven by the amount of trade fairs that are continually running throughout the year. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. There isn't a restaurant in the hotel, but there are a few nearby that are nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baglady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    140
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
65
86
17
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I booked this hotel through Booking.com mainly for its central location and access to the Frankfurt Zoo as we had our gorgeous Grandaughter with us for a change, She absolutely loved the place and wants to return again and again.
The staff made a fuss over her at breakfast, with her doll "Miss Dolly Brown" and they kept coming over during breakfast to smile at her proud parenting skills:-) She loved the little balcony window and the comfortable room with her own little divan (Provided Free).
The Zoo was a little disappointing as there was so much building work surrounding the outside, but still worth a visit. Giraffes, a Rhino, Camels & Seals etc, not animals you see every day.
I could not fault a thing we stayed twice once en-route to Bavaria and once returning. Really top drawer staff, nicely decorated rooms, good location you can walk into the city or use the subway. See you next time for sure.

Room Tip: The only thing I would mention is the underground parking has sloping parking spaces, if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel was built in the 90's and has stayed more or less the same, ever since.
The breakfast buffet is excellent and the rooms are spacious.

Paying 5 euros for internet access is not a plus.
Parking for 14 euros is too expensive.

I am surprised that this hotel has a 4 stars rating.
For German standards, I would expect 3 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the local zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giwrgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We arrived exhausted after a terrible long haul flight at 7am in the morning, and to our great delight they allowed us to check into our rooms with no fuss, or pre arrangement. The rooms were spotless, and the staff very pleasant. It is in a quiet neighbourhood, a few minutes walk from the Tube station or the tram, so very easy to get into the center of town. The breakfast was delicious. I would definitely go back there if I have to spend another night in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had the deluxe suite with a queen sized bed in the bedroom and 2 rollaway beds for the kids in the living room. It is like a small one bedroom apt with 2 balconies, a mini kitchen with a dining table for 2 and separate bath and toilet. The furnishings in the suite was a little outdated. Bathroom was spotless and had all the toiletries available. Beds were comfortable with soft pillows. We're able to leave the windows open at night and slept well. It is located in a residential area but the time we were there, the streets were pretty quiet. Breakfast was included in the room rate and they have a wonderful spread of cold cuts, breads, pastries, juices, cereals, coffee, milk, yogurt and etc.
Check in and check out service were efficient. The receptionist was manning the front desk and housekeeping by himself. He wasted no time in bringing the two rollaway beds to our room as soon as we're checked in. Very impressed by the efficiency. Parking was 14 euros a day. We parked our car at the hotel and walked to the riverbank which was about 25 minutes of leisurely walk each way. Overall, this hotel worked out for our one night stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I always check what people say about hotel I plan to stay.This time was the same and I was very happy of choice I made.The hotel has high standard,very nice and cosy rooms,good breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel after we read the good reviews about it. We were not disappointed.
The Alexander Suite is superb. Large, light and spacious. Two little niggles were that you could not close the curtains on the large windows in the room where the kids beds were, and that the bathroom had a shower head but no where on the wall to place it. The rest of the suite makes up for this though. Large, spotless and very well appointed.
Location is right next to the zoo. It is a ten minute taxi ride to the centre but you can also get the bus from the end of the street. The neighbourhood is clean and quiet given you are in a city, and the staff were never less than very pleasant and helpful. Note that there is not a bar or restaraunt in teh hotel (other than for a very nice breakfast) but there are some nice ones a short walk away.
All in all the Alexander offers tremendous value for money, particularly if you are travelling with children.

Room Tip: The ALexander Suite is well worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolveyGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Am Zoo Hotel
Am Zoo Hotel
#203 of 269 in Frankfurt
116 reviews
Innside Frankfurt Ostend
#51 of 269 in Frankfurt
82 reviews
25hours Hotel The Goldman
#21 of 269 in Frankfurt
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#6 of 269 in Frankfurt
737 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#39 of 269 in Frankfurt
469 reviews
Altstadt
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#70 of 269 in Frankfurt
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander am Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander am Zoo

Property: Alexander am Zoo
Address: Waldschmidtstr. 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#39 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#47 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander am Zoo 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star rated Hotel Alexander am Zoo features 66 air conditioned guest rooms and suites - some with kitchenette for extended stays. 2 Meeting rooms o the top floor with a roof terrace as well as an underground car park. The location near the Frankfurt Zoo in a quiet side street - the U-bahn U7 Habsburgerallee is 2 Minutes away. Many Restaurants are in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander am Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Am Zoo Frankfurt
Alexander Am Zoo Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing