We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Alexander am Zoo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander am Zoo
Ranked #53 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The BIG plus for the room which was ready at 10 a.m. even though we informed the hotel about our early arrival 11 hours before we arrived.

The hotel is located in a quiet area with 2 minutes walk to the tram stop and 4 minutes walk to the nearest underground station.

Lady at the reception desk on the arrival and departure days was very nice and friendly, though we experienced very strange attitude of one of the receptionist who was surprised and very critical that we want to order a taxi and go out on Saturday night at 1 a.m.

The hotel has sauna and steam room ready to use in the evenings, it's small but clean and accurate for 2 people.

Unfortunately breakfast was the weakest point of our stay, mostly because of a very odd look of scrambled eggs and bacon which were the only warm food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicehrabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and next time I am in Frankfurt, I will stay again.
Excellent hotel on the eastern edge of the city centre, right next to the city zoo.
10 minutes walk to the main shopping street 'Ziel'.
Great value for money compared to the hotels right in the city centre.
Don't worry about staying here. You will have very little to complain about. Although, in this day and age, charging extra for internet use in the rooms, is not on in my book.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavemScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Very satisfied by our stay. Room was spacious, bed was very comfortable. Room was very clean. Breakfast was best of all, amazing!! Location was very central, close to main sites by subway, in a nice quiet residential area. You can also borrow DVDs from the lobby and they give you a DVD player, for those rainy days if you wanna stay in. Excellent choice overall.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_asia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Lovely neighbourhood. Next to the zoo. Sauna in the basement. Friendly staff, helping us with plotting on the map, the things we were looking for. Breakfast buffet with fresh fruit. Windows of the room can be opened. Very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngridD431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My wife and I had an overnight stay in Frankfurt and thought were might be taking a bit of a chance with the Alexander am Zoo. After making our way from Frankfurt Airport by subway to the main station and then changing subway routes to the suburbs, it was only a short walk to the hotel. While we were a bit concerned at being in what appeard to be average suburb, the hotel turned out to be a real surprise. Excellent service on arrival and an outstanding room with all the usual appointments. Also, a great breakfast option folded into the cost. Overall, a very good (+) hotel. Only issue is that some may be a little challegned getting to it if you can't easily navigate the various subway connections, as it is a little way out from the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prado123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Great breakfast, great location, walking distance to old town. Staff were wonderful and helpful. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. After a long flight it was exactly what we needed. Our room was ready so we were allowed to checkin allowing for a quick catch up snnoze before sightseeing. This was so much appreciated. Checkin and checkout, quick and efficient. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezzalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I was travelling solo on a business trip recently and chose this hotel primarily for its location. I'd heard some mixed reviews about hotels in the central area of Frankfurt near the main train station and decided that I would rather be in a less lively area of town. This hotel fitted perfectly - it is a 10-15 minute walk to the Zoo and about 30 minutes to walk into the main centre of town near the Zeil. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet (it's in a residential area, lots of apartment blocks around it) - granted it is not the trendiest place to be, but if that is what you're looking for head back to the area near to the train station. The breakfast was very good and included in the room. The 5 Euro charge for WIFI isn't ideal, however it is for a 24 hour period (and I've had to pay more in other places). The major downside is the cancellation policy as it isn't very flexible (be sure before you book), however this is very common for hotels in Frankfurt, mainly driven by the amount of trade fairs that are continually running throughout the year. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. There isn't a restaurant in the hotel, but there are a few nearby that are nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baglady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
INNSIDE by Melia Frankfurt Ostend
25hours Hotel The Goldman
#20 of 271 in Frankfurt
664 reviews
Innenstadt
Am Zoo Hotel
Am Zoo Hotel
#204 of 271 in Frankfurt
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Villa Orange
Villa Orange
#81 of 271 in Frankfurt
131 reviews
Hotel Cult
#70 of 271 in Frankfurt
412 reviews
Arena am Zoo
#157 of 271 in Frankfurt
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander am Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander am Zoo

Address: Waldschmidtstr. 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#36 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#46 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £75 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander am Zoo 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star rated Hotel Alexander am Zoo features 66 air conditioned guest rooms and suites - some with kitchenette for extended stays. 2 Meeting rooms o the top floor with a roof terrace as well as an underground car park. The location near the Frankfurt Zoo in a quiet side street - the U-bahn U7 Habsburgerallee is 2 Minutes away. Many Restaurants are in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander am Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Am Zoo Frankfurt
Alexander Am Zoo Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing