We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shockingly small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hamburger Hof
Ranked #17 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Shockingly small”
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

Well, I may have choosen a wrong room ( the cheapest single room) but when I entered the room, I was literally stunt for the smallness of the room. However, the deco is modern and room was very clean. After I got used to the size, I felt sort of comfortable. If you don't mind the size, the quality is good. Stuff were also all nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaohawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    312
    55
    10
    6
See reviews for
120
173
117
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fuchu, Japan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

<Location>
The hotel is just a few minutes walk from Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof, just north of the train terminal. The hotel is facing the train terminal and on Poststrasse, so it is easy to find it. The subway station is also within walking distance, a little difficult to find, but it is convenient to get to downtown.

<Check-In/Out>
We did not have any problems with checking in and out. The staff at the reception was nice and efficient. The front desk is very small, and there was only one staff at the desk, so I think it will take time to check in when it is busy.

<Room>
The room was modern, spacious and clean. There was extra space near the entrance, so it was nice to open my suitcase to repack it before leaving the hotel.

The bathroom was modern too, but there was no bathtub, just a shower. I found the bathroom a little dirty, but it was acceptable for the price of the room.

The room was quiet even though it was facing to the train station.

<Service>
I put the 'Do Not Disturb' tag on the door, but the house keeper opened the door and came into our room early in the morning. I have no idea why they could not see the sign on the door. It was very disappointing because everything else was excellent other than this incident.

<Overall>
With the price, quality and location, this is a very nice hotel. I recommend this hotel for those who traveling to/from Frankfurt by train.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masahisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my two night stay at the Hamburger Hof. The location is perfect, the room was clean and modern with great shower. The breakfast was also excellent and the staff friendly. There was also a computer in the lounge for Internet use.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryFrances1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed at the Hamburger Hof recently. It is across the road from the railway station and like most major railway stations the surrounding area is a bit sketchy. However, we had a excellent experience - decent room, good shower, comfortable bed, reasonable buffet breakfast. The thing that really made it stand out was the competence and friendliness of the staff who were a pleasure to deal with at all times. In terms of value for money, it was absolutely first class.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Assistant booked this for an overnight in Frankfurt. It was very cheap, modern and close to the train station which is what I wanted. But quite small and zero frills including Internet which didn't work. Would only recommend for business travelers for a short-term stay or if you plan on seeing the city alone and don't mind a small room to crash at. Front-deck service in the evening was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76Randy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Hotel Hamburger Hof is an excellent choice if you're looking for a place to stay in Frankfurt's Bahnhofs Viertel. Although it is just across the road form the main station, the hotel was quiet. All members of the staff with whom I dealt were exceptionally friendly and helpful. My single room was small, albeit attractively decorated. There was no spot to put my luggage. I had to stuff it in a corner and then haul it up onto the bed when I needed to open it up. This would be my one and only quibble about the hotel. I thought the breakfast buffet offered a better-than-average choice. I would recommend staying at the Hamburger Hof.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had a comfort room for 3 nights - good size - quiet - great bathroom - perfect location for train travelers - plus train to airport - professional friendly staff - highly recommend it - good breakfast

Room Tip: Go for the comfort room option
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#11 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#6 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Roomers
#14 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hamburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hamburger Hof

Property: Hotel Hamburger Hof
Address: Poststr. 10-12, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#17 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hamburger Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hamburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburger Hof Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing