We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe
Ranked #88 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed only 1 night evening meal with breakfast. The evening meal was quite small but tasted ok. Main gripe was the that one of the waiters thought to be a comedian because when I asked what it was that he put in front of me to eat he replied "Food", I suggested that being of German origin I had no sense of humour and did not appreciate an answer like that. My German is reasonably fluent.. The breakfast was very good.
Room was clean and tidy good views. It's a little bit in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfredENewman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Team, Manager at H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear AlfredENewman40,

Thank you very much for visiting the RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt Messe.
I´ll also thank you for your time to set a comment about your recent stay here at Tripadvisor.

We apologize for the inconvinience caused during your restaurant visit.
Not an excuse, but trust for that it is not our ambition that you´ve left us not satisfied.
Please do accept our excuse and we are hoping to welcome you at another time again.

Best regards to GB,

Henning Kiebach, General Manager in the name of the entire crew of the RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

We recently stayed one night at the Ramada Frankfurt Messe while connecting to a flight to the US. The hotel is a short 10 minute shuttle ride from Frankfurt Airport. Upon arriving at the airport, we called on one of the courtesy shuttle phones outside of the terminal and the driver arrived promptly thereafter.
The hotel itself is in a quiet residential area. The rooms are a nice size and have small balconies. The room we had (on the 8th floor) was clean but rather basic. There was no mini-bar, no coffee maker, and a small stall shower. There is a very nice heated pool on the roof. Internet access was provided at no charge and was easy to connect to and fast.
The big problem here is that the hotel assumes it knows what is best for its guests comfort-wise in that they turn off the a/c-heat at their discretion. It had rained on our arrival day and the room has warm and humid, however, a sign posted by the climate control panel informed us that the hotel had decided it was time to turn off the a/c- and turn on the heat. Apparently, A/C is not available between October 1 and April 30. You couldn't even turn on the fan to circulate the air without turning on the heat too! That left us with leaving the window open and listening to the road noise or roasting.
Also, there is no option for breakfast nearby other than the hotel restaurant which capitalizes on this fact by charging 16 euro for a deluxe continental breakfast. There is no al a carte menu available either. Coffee is an additional 1.80 euro. The charges continue with an airport shuttle that is not free- even for an airport hotel!
There are several other hotels at Frankfurt Airport- several even on site adjacent to the terminals, these would seem to be better options given the fact that the Ramada charges for all additional services.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solperros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Team, Manager at H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Solperros,

thank you for your stay with us here at the Ramada Hotel Frankfurt Messe and thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our property on tripadvisor.
We are grateful for your positive review with regards to our general facilities but we are sorry to learn that we could not live up to your expectations in a few points.

A common feature in the Ramada Hotels is our RAMADA Mini Market in the lobby which substitutes for the former mini bar service and offers a rich choice of snacks and drinks 24hrs, including fresh fruits, sandwiches and a tea and coffee making facility all priced very competetively and well below most 4*Hotel Minibar Rates. We do indeed provide one complimentary half liter bottle of mineral water per room , however only our business studios include a complimentary tea and coffee making facility in the room. We will most certainly though provide kettles upon request to all guest rooms.

With regards to the airconditioning system and the experience decribed we would like to offer a genuine apology for the inconvenience caused. We are aware that particularly in the transition periods between summers and winters the personal temperature preference of our guests naturally differs and we therefore hold a sufficiant supply of portable fans as well as radiators and heaters in store to provide them upon request.

Our Breakfast buffet is currently priced 16 EUR per Person and day, however if booked along with the room in advance, the rate difference is usually just as little as 10 EUR.
For the early birds rising ahead of breakfast time and continuing on until 9am every moning, we provide complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby which all guests are invited to use.

Due to our unique locating adjacent to the recreational Nied Forrest there is unfortunatelly only limited shopping oportunities within walking distance, however a little supermarket can be reached on foot within about 8 minutes and during summertime the gardening estate close to the hotel boasts a restaurant with beer garden, a hidden gem and very popular amoung our regular guests.

Dear Solperros, we would be delighted to have you back staying with us here in Frankfurt again one day.

With best regards on behalf of the entire team,

Henning Kiebach, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This hotel was our choice for the duration of the Trade fair. I found it bizarre that there is no coffee in the rooms and that one has to purchase coffee and tea from the reception at 1.8 euro. Surely this should be complimentary for the residents.

The rooms were comfortable but the complimentary bottle of water was not replenished on more than one occasion and reception had to be contacted to rectify this. On one occasion I had to contact that reception 3 times to have the water brought up.

The shuttle bus had to be booked despite having being told the previous evening that the bus would be available for transport to the show during the next morning. Needless to say the when we wanted to board the bus the next morning the obnoxious driver refused us entry to the bus because we did not book, when we told the reception the we were not informed of the booking the previous evening when we inquired, the receptionist lifted her eyes upward in a irritated gesture and grudgingly put our names on the booking list and informed us that the charge would be 3 euro per person. Needles to say that the driver was totally irritated with this and mumbled about silly people not knowing the procedures. He is probably the most unfriendly person that we had met in our total 10 day stay in Germany and clearly should not be in contact with customers. We paid the 12 euro and did not use the shuttle bus again for he duration.Clearly the staff need training in customer relations as on many occasions we witnessed heated exchanges between the reception staff and residents.

Breakfasts were good and the staff were friendly but the tables were not cleaned regularly and due to the hotel being so busy this created a situation that we had to sit at a table,on more than one occasion, which had not been reset, despite being showed there by the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Team, Manager at H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Lesslie M.

thank you very much for staying at the RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt Messe. Thank you also for setting your comment here at Tripadvisor. We regret that your stay did not match your expectations in all points of view especially regarding the shuttle.

The tea & coffee making facilities are available in every studio type of room. On request there´s either the coffee&tea making facility or a nespresso machine available on a complimentary base. In all of our rooms we provide a free bottle of water on arrival.

We apologize for the inconvinience caused regarding the shuttle reservation and your experience with the Shuttledriver. Not an excuse, but trust for that it is not our ambition that you´ve left us not satisfied. Please do accept our excuse and we are hoping to welcome you at another time again.

Best regards to South Africa,

Henning Kiebach, General Manager in the name of the entire crew of the RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed while attending a conference at the Messe congress. During the conference, Hotels in Frankfurt have high room rate.
The reason why I selected this hotel was relatively inexpensive compared with other hotel.
It was a welcomed breath of fresh air to have a room I could stretch out in. Very comfortable,
spacious room with Samsung TV.
The buffet breakfast in the mornings offered a lot of choices. Good sauna and great indoor swimming pool and Free WIFI. The staff is very friendly and accomodating The location is far away from about 4K from Frankfurt Messe. That is the only flaw, but this hotel has a great price
I traveled several days to other EU countries.I was satisfied with this hotel I've ever stayed
I strongly recommend this hotel. I had a wonderful stay and will be back again

Vielen Dank für Ihren Aufenthalt. Guter Service wird weiter zu fragen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMattew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Team, Manager at H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear AlexMattew,

first of all I like to thank you in the name of the entire Team that you have stayed with us.
It is wonderful to read about your commendation and excellent rating of the RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt Messe. Thank you very much for this great score.

It would be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome and treat you again, as soon you are back in Frankfurt.

Best regards to Seoul,

Henning Kiebach, General Manager in the name of the entire crew of the RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt Messe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We came across 2 competent and friendly staff throughout our whole visit. The man at the bar and the woman at the breakfast buffet. Internet was fast and reliable.

1) Check in at 5:20pm despite a 3pm supposed check-in time. No compensation of any kind for this.
2) Complimentary water was only in the rooms on the FIRST day of the 8 day stay and replenished only once in one of the two rooms I booked. In the second room, it was never replenished.
3) The air conditioner in the gym did not work and the gym was humid
4) The location is poor, you need to get around by taxi and it's about 15EUR to the city center 5) The "free shuttle" as advertised is actually 5EUR per person per one direction and not free.
6) The shuttle was not available one day because the hotel has ONE shuttle and it was shuttling people to a trade fair instead.
7) The hotel advertises being able to purchase postage stamps at the hotel but the hotel front desk had no idea how to do this. Lady tried to be helpful but was still incompetent at the end of the day.
8) There is no refrigerator in the rooms
9) There was no table or chair in the room as photographed in booking.com. When we informed the staff twice, we were told housekeeping would bring the table and chairs but they never did.
10) The air conditioning is based on season. Only heater is available in winter, only a/c is available in summer. So if you happen to be there during a cold summer night, too bad.
11) The bathroom is small with a tiny shower cubicle. The shower head in my room was actually broken and left unfixed during my stay.
12) There is 1 English channel on TV, CNN. And half an English channel (BBC) which turns into a German channel at times.
13) Hotel front desk staff were generally rude and incompetent throughout the booking process.
14) Man driving the shuttle to the airport was exceptionally rude, rushing me to hurry up despite the fact I had actually been stuck at the front desk, sorting out the undecipherable bill for 15 minutes. Then he decided to drive like a maniac to the airport, cussing and road-raging. Had I known that this would be the case, I would have gladly taken a cab instead.

Overall, I don't recommend staying here during an exhibition. If you want service like the Ramada, you could easily find one much cheaper elsewhere. A hotel that is part of the "Ramada" chain, selling rooms at over 300EUR/night should have better, more professional service and processes. Excuses just don't cut it.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere. like the Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jetsetta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Team, Manager at H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Daer Jetsetta 100,

thank you very much for staying at the RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt Messe. Thank you also for setting your comment here at Tripadvisor. We regret that your stay did not match your expectations in all points of view. We apologize for the inconvinience caused during your stay. Not an excuse, but trust for that it is not our ambition that you´ve left us not satisfied. Please do accept our excuse and we are hoping to welcome you at another time again.

Best regards to Barcelona,

Henning Kiebach, General Manager in the name of the entire crew of the
RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt Messe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

It is an excellent value for money option. Though little far from city, however just few meters away from bus stop with 15 min bus service for connectivity to city, Frankfurt Station and Subway and Tram. Surrounded by jungle with some excellent nature views including lake. Hotel provides bycycles on rent which is an excellent option to explore the surrounding areas. Groccersy store is near by. Very good options to relax using in-house sauna, Spa and indoor swimming pool. I loved the Sumptuous breakfast every morning. TV screens were small, however these were also being replaced with new ones. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It will be always my first option to stay whenever travel again to Frankfurt.

Room Tip: My experience with Top floor room was not good as it used to get very hot during day. However room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AarKay_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Team, Manager at H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Aar_Kay 2010,

first of all I like to thank you in the name of the entire Team that you have stayed with us.
It is wonderful to read about your commendation and excellent rating of the RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt Messe. Thank you very much for this great score.

It would be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome and treat you again, as soon you are back in Frankfurt.

Best regards to India,

Henning Kiebach, General Manager in the name of the entire crew of the RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt Messe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Starting point for our trip to Germany, didn’t know the local hotels so I decided to start with a known name before starting to use the local hotels. Overall a very good room, clean, nice flat screen TV with good channel lineup, good restaurant, close to the city, a good choice to stay – not necessarily the cheapest but it is comfortable and has all the amenities. No free parking (expensive 15 euro to use the hotel parking lot), but you can park on the street right in front of the hotel - but it gets full, especially at night (plus there are taxis parked there too), so you might need to park a bit far or in the side streets at the back of the hotel – we did find parking every night and didn’t have any problems like dings or break ins, safe place. This hotel is always very busy; tour buses full of tourists come in and out every day be ready for a lot of people in the lobby and restaurant areas. Good location, 10 to 15 minutes from downtown Frankfurt, close to the freeway/autobahn and up the street there is a gas station and small supermarket. The lobby has snacks and drinks available all the time + the room includes a free bottle of water every day (nice). The breakfast buffet is very good, full service with lots of choices; just get there early to avoid the crowds. There is also a big park right in front of if you want to go jogging or for a walk. The AC is very low and doesn’t cool the room quickly, and the shower is EXTREMELY small – be careful of the shower hot water faucet – it gets very hot and can burn you, but this seems to be the norm with all German hotels and motels, it’s the way they construct bathrooms there. Also, a "double" bed room doesn't always mean two beds but they interprete as a King sized bed, confirm with the reception how many actual beds there are in the room. This is a good choice if you want stay as close to an “American” type hotel as you can find over there.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the back to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickee_Ricardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA-Team, Manager at H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Rickee_Ricardo,

in the name of my entire Team I´ll like to thank you for staying with us.
Thank you also for the good recommendation here on Tripadvisor and the time it took.

It is a great compliment for us. Thank you very much for this great score.

It would be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome and treat you again, as soon you are back in Frankfurt. We are looking forward to that.

Best regards to California,

Henning Kiebach, General Manager in the name of the entire crew of the RAMADA Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Niederrad
INNSIDE by Melia Frankfurt Niederrad
Niederrad
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
#29 of 270 in Frankfurt
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bockenheim
Welcome Hotel Frankfurt
Welcome Hotel Frankfurt
#57 of 270 in Frankfurt
280 reviews
Innenstadt
TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt
TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt
#61 of 270 in Frankfurt
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe

Address: Oeserstr. 180, 65933 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Ramada Frankfurt Messe)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £52 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is in a peaceful location in the middle of a wooded area. Due to the convenient location and direct motorway connection, the airport, the Frankfurt city centre, as well as the nearby cities of Niederrad and Eschborn are within easy reach.The Frankfurt Exhibition Centre is at a distance of only 2 km. The railway station is only 6 km away, and the next bus stop is at a mere 200-metre distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Frankfurt Messe
Frankfurt Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing