We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is nothing colourful about this hotel.”
Review of Colour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colour Hotel
Ranked #228 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed in t is hotel for two nights, one day to see around the city and the next day to catch a flight.

Location: The hotel is very near to the Frankfurt central railway station. Just cross two roads and you are in front of the hotel.

Staff: I didn't observe anything particularly friendly or unfriendly about them. I guess they speak English

Rooms: The rooms are very small and spacious enough for a double bed. It was damp and smelly when we entered into the room. At night it was very hot inside the room and very noisy outside the room. It was a weekend and really noisy outside and we decided to shut the windows and put up with the hot room. The wash room was clean but very cramped. I guess a tall or ample bodied guy will find it difficult to use the toilet and shower.

Facility: We didn't have breakfast from the hotel and I am not sure about the internet facility. After the breakfast the dining room serves as the luggage room and you can leave your luggages there after check out.

In short, the only positive point about Colour (less!) Hotel is the location. Choose this hotel if you really want to stay very near to the Bahnhof (may be to catch the airport train) overnight.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good room then avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DANZ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel last week. We made reservations for one night since we were flying out of Frankfurt the next day. The room was not clean, i.e., hair on the beds, bathroom dirty. There is a lot of noise throughout the night, i.e., slamming doors.

The one positive thing from the hotel was the staff who checked us in. He was very helpful in telling us where to go for dinner and helping us figure out how to take the underground to the airport.

This place is really a hostel trying to be hotel. However, I have stayed in a lot cleaner hostels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Very expensive (90eur) since its near the Central railroad station; small rooms, two bathrooms for 45 rooms. typical downtown hotel w/ high price. Noisy if in the front; area is ok but stay alert... Stay one or two days if you can endure it! Parking near by but @ 2-3eur per hr.
Great Indian restaurant next door!

Room Tip: look for other hotels !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidHAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I am very sensitive to infestation; if it's there, I'll experience it. The staff is rude - or is it German way? - or maybe that's what you get in (mostly) cheap place, even if it is 100 euro extra during some convention. When I finally crashed in the early evening hours after an overnight flight, it was not to be - just an hour later got few stinging bites on feet and one on the arm. The reaction of the receptionist was peculiar: although overall hostile and denying a problem (without much conviction), he wouldn't look at the bulging bites and gave me another room. Same story, but this time he insisted I imagine things - it was too late to do anything anyway, so he got me cornered.
I spent the night sitting in the bed and watching the sheets. In the morning a girl in the reception ignores me for about 15 minutes with payment, although the man swiped the credit card a day before 'just in case', and although the online booking included a one night payment guarantee. Overall, a somewhat surreal experience, falling for me in the category of the definitely less preferred; everything was wrong here and started with what they thought of me as a customer - not much.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HoustonMontrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I stayed one night. I did not enjoy it at all, the shower room was old and ugly. The sink in the hotel room did not work, nor did the bed light.
The bed sheets seemed clean. The internet did not work at all, so I walked to Starbucks 5 minutes away.
I got a double room without toilet and shower, and paid 150 Euro! They put the price up because there were some exhibition in the city at the time.
I guess I paid 130 Euro too much....

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Ideal location, really close to train station!! Stayed in 4 person room on top floor....perfect, plenty of space, room was clean and comfortable! For the money we paid we couldnt have asked for more!!

Room Tip: Top floor seemed more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daytripper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I booked this hotel online thinking that i would be staying in a reasonable priced and clean hotel for my 4 night stay. Unfortunately my stay got cut down to 5 hrs, i then packed my bags and left for another hotel.

The story:
As i went to lay down on my bed i tucked in the sheets to only notice a used CONDOM & UNDERWEAR laying on the side of my bed floor which was situated up against the wall.

I then got upgraded to a complete new room, double room from which i said to myself lets check under the bed - To my surprise the same thing again , a used CONDOM & WRAPPER with heaps of other junk which i cant describe.

I packed my belongings and left right away. This hotel seems clean when u walk in but take a closer look as im sure u will find a few surprises awaiting.

I dont recommend this to anyone looking for a hotel, i think its cleaner to stay in a hostel.

The location is great, close to the hotel, the staff are friendly but with all this comes a dirty, unhygienic, pathetic excuse of a hotel..

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Niederrader Hof
#176 of 269 in Frankfurt
94 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Memphis Hotel
Memphis Hotel
#130 of 269 in Frankfurt
240 reviews
Lloyed Hotel
#170 of 269 in Frankfurt
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
easyHotel Frankfurt
#142 of 269 in Frankfurt
251 reviews
Savoy Hotel Frankfurt
#218 of 269 in Frankfurt
764 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Novum Hotel City Stay Frankfurt
Novum Hotel City Stay Frankfurt
#232 of 269 in Frankfurt
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colour Hotel

Address: Baseler Str. 52, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £25 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Colour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colour Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing