We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can do better”
Review of Am Zoo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Am Zoo Hotel
Ranked #200 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can do better”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a family owned restaurant with a nice B&B feel to it. Excellent breakfast. The rooms are nice and airy. It has an excellent location just outside a U-bahn station. These are the positives. On the negative side, there are a number of small irritants which undermine the experience. After a 14 hour flight I was jet lagged and thirsty. There was no drinking water in the room so I had to buy a bottle of water for 5 Euros in the lobby. Yes, there is a convenience store 200 metres away where I can buy a much bigger bottle for just 2 euros but it is not convenient. After I purchased wifi connectivity by paying close to 10 euros I discovered that the wifi worked only on one device. I have a smartphone, laptop and ipad. Should I spend 30 Euros on wifi?? OR will I use all 3 devices simultaneously? This type of stone age mentality does not work anywhere in the world. If the management is seriously interested in improvement a lot can be done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saunternut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    40
    42
    15
    11
See reviews for
11
20
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights.

What we love in this hotel:
(1) Room superbly beautiful for its superbly reasonable room
rate. We booked a double room with private toilet and bath. The room was very clean, very neat and spacious. The toilet and bath was okay and functional.

(2) the breakfast was just awesome! It was served buffet type. I loved their generous serving of breads, pastries, butter, soft cheese, hot choco, coffee, cereals, juices, cold cuts, milk and yogurts. We had to pay an extra 7 Euro per person for the breakfast but it was not a big deal since the breakfast was just very good! I honestly miss their breakfast everyday!

(3) very nice front desk staff. I appreciate their warm smiles and their good wishes to us. They were very respectful and very helpful. And they spoke english so we did not experience any difficulty in talking to them.

(4) the hotel is located very close to the train station and local shops and restaurants. It was a bit of a walk though to Frankfurt's main shopping center, Zeil, as well as the Romerberg, but it was not really that far but also not very close.

(5) the rate was very reasonable.

What we did NOT like in this hotel:

(1) The hotel did NOT provide free wi-fi service. We had to pay an extra fee of 7 Euro for wi-fi connection which worked only in ONE computer or gadget. If you have several gadgets, computers or phones, you will be required to pay 7Euros for each gadget, computer or phone. This, we felt, was a little off for a hotel. We felt that it counted every centavo of their service to its guests when wi-fi service should have been provided for free in the first place.

(2) the vending machine in the front desk sold only drinks. We all know that shops in Europe close very early hence if you fail to eat or buy food before the stores close, you'll have to endure the entire night hungry since no food is sold in the hotel at night.

Will I return to this hotel? Well probably. Will I recommend this hotel to other travelers? Yes, definitely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCaroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room was small but nice. Major problem was no air conditioning other than a window that didn't open properly and a bathroom that didn't smell too good. Reception was helpful and generous and the breakfast was good. It was just the night sleep a hot smelly room was not good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamarafrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

CAIRO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very close to every thing you need in Frankfurt yu can reach also very easy from the airport by public transport

the rooms are very good the bathroom need renovation but still not so bad the internet with charge but so good and high spped

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

It's not luxury but quiet and clean, bathroom are very poor and needs to be revamped . The staff is really nice, Breakfast is basic but good value for v the money (7 euro) conveniently located nearby train station from where is easy to reach any part of the city.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pillola_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
404 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The location is very convenient with the U-Bahn very close by with its uber-efficient links across Frankfurt. My room was adequately equipped with comfortable bed & flat screen TV. The bathroom & furnishings were basic in the extreme though - OK for a lone traveller attending the Messe. The staff were helpful & friendly but let down by the rather run-down nature of the place. Has to be better options for Frankfurt

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Good location, budget price, helpful staff, nice room with a balcony, wonderful breakfast that costs only 7euro. Just opposite Frankfurt Zoo and Zoo Metro Station. 10 minutes walk to the very center of the city. Perfect choice to spend 3 nights in Frankfurt during Chrismas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Alexander am Zoo
#59 of 269 in Frankfurt
276 reviews
Innenstadt
Admiral Hotel
Admiral Hotel
#233 of 269 in Frankfurt
174 reviews
Arena am Zoo
#190 of 269 in Frankfurt
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Zeil
Hotel Zeil
#140 of 269 in Frankfurt
121 reviews
Innside Frankfurt Ostend
#54 of 269 in Frankfurt
64 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Novum Hotel Primus Frankfurt Sachsenhausen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Zoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Zoo Hotel

Property: Am Zoo Hotel
Address: Alfred-Brehm-Platz 6, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt , Ostend - Osthafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Am Zoo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Am Zoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing