We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of better places to stay I'm sure”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #227 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Plenty of better places to stay I'm sure”
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights during tradeshow period. For price company paid I would not stay here again.
Staff were rather surly, wifi was extortionate, they charge 12€ but you can buy it online for 9€, but still very expensive. Breakfast was quite disappointing.

Room was old, lumpy bed, draughty door, very static nylon carpet and a lingering smell of cigarette smoke despite being in a non smoking room/floor!

Location is ideal for main station but a bit of a walk into town.

Frankfurt has so many hotels to choose from so one stay is enough for me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hed79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    22
    24
    10
    18
See reviews for
13
12
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We booked the President Hotel due to a combination of price and location. A very short walk, just a few blocks from Frankfurt's main train station, the President is easily accessible by foot, even with luggage in tow. And, in spite of what a couple of others on this thread have said about the area, its not at all dodgy or questionable, the immediate area is almost dead quiet at night but quite bustling during the day.

The hotel itself very much needs to renovate its rooms. The carpets are horribly stained, the caulking and some of the grout in the shower is discolored and needs to be redone. The bed linens and towels were spotlessly white. The mattress seemed rather old, thin and a bit too soft, but reasonably comfortable. The room had plenty of storage for our luggage, a small fridge and an old, rather contrary TV. The walls are thin, so hopefully your neighbors aren't too loud, bring earplugs. A simple continental breakfast is served in the morning, just enough to get us going.

The hotel requests an obscene amount of money per day to use their Wi-Fi, but they do offer one, lone computer in the lobby which has an internet connection. Hint: An easy way around this is from any local Starbucks. Several are located in central Frankfurt, including one in the nearby train station. Simply order a cup of coffee and easily connect to their free Wi-Fi service. There are also a number of bars, restaurants and cafes in the area offering free Wi-Fi to customers, you just have to ask for the password.

Our flight from Chicago arrived at just after 5 AM, too early to check in, but we tried anyway. The woman at reception could not have been any less friendly or helpful, and she was rather dismissive. As expected, there were no rooms available, so we would have to return later in the day. Again, it was expected, and certainly wasn't a problem, but her attitude was. We asked her to confirm our reservation to ensure there was no mixup, but she was unwilling to do so. We had to insist repeatedly that she look up our booking before she reluctantly sat down in a huff to check her computer for our name. We then left our luggage behind the front desk and set out to explore Frankfurt.

After several hours of walking around we were exhausted and decided to go back to the hotel to await checkin time. Upon our return, thinking we were still too early, our welcome by a different front desk clerk could not have been more friendly. She had a room available, if not the type we originally booked, but said we could have it as long as we didn't mind the change. Not a problem, as we desperately needed a nap. The difference in attitude was like night and day.

All things being equal, I wouldn't object to staying here again, but there are scores of budget accommodations in Frankfurt, so it might pay to shop around.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I have only good things to say about this hotel for the rate we paid. The staff catered to our late arrival (our flight was delayed due to bad December weather), spoke english, and the room was as should be expected of a hotel of this rating. The bathroom was new and the shower had good pressure and hotwater. It is a perfect place to stay for a cheap rate, a decent night sleep and to be close to the hauptbahnhof (central station). Would highly recommend for this purpose.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix_nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night as a stopover in frankfurt. I basically just wanted a cheap basic place to stay close to the centre.

Location- 5mins from the main train station and not to far a walk to the main shopping street.

Rooms- My room was a singe room with a shower. The tv has a wide variety of channels as well as some english. There is also a fridge and wardrobe. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. An iron is avliable from reception.

Internet is avliable in reception and wifi is 13euro. The hotel in my opinion is good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueboysontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

internet is the most important if you on travel. i booked this hotel from a website and there is written free wi-fi.when i came at hotel they said wi-fi internet is not free. they want 9 euro for 1hr in 24hr.that's ok we can pay for wi-fi but it is very expensive.the point is why it is written free wi-fi at the website?I choosed here because of free wi-fi.And when i arrive i couldn't do anything at the web.because there is just one slow computer at the lobby(this is the only free) allways was full.but the breakfast was very good if your priority is.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
286 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed there for two nights when visiting the CPhI fair October 2011. The location close to the Frankfurt Messehalle is perfect, if you don't want to subject yourself to the horrendous Frankfurt rush hour traffic.
The price during such events is pretty upbeat seen in the light of the hotel class, but compared to the major business hotel chains during same period, it's a real bargain.
The area surrounding the hotel can seem a bit dodgy (a large abandoned factory building just across the road), but having strolled back to the hotel two nights in a row - I can assure that it's completely safe.
The room I got was fairly large, with a nice, big bathroom and a smallish workspace. The wifi worked, but as in many European hotels it comes with a fee (not cheap).
The bed was excellent - I slept like a log after strolling the aisles of the fair a whole day.
Breakfast is thrown in, but as the hotel was very busy during the fair, the staff seemed overburdened and the buffet was not fully stocked all the time.
If you had the time, just relax, and everything would eventually arrive.
Main rail-road station is just 15 a minutes walk away - and the same is good restaurants, adult shops and other merry amenities of Frankfurt.
If you take the President Hotel for what it is and do not set your expectations too high, it can be a pleasant surprise for the price

Room Tip: Rooms in back are the most quiet - furthest away from the stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarsDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The room is pretty cheap and in a good location. The safe did not work. The room was not that great looking. The towels were rough feeling. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. We only stayed one night so we could be near the train station. It served our purposes.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank applecrisp178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Fair Hotel an der Messe
#225 of 269 in Frankfurt
45 reviews
Innenstadt
Columbus Hotel
Columbus Hotel
#173 of 269 in Frankfurt
48 reviews
Innenstadt
Topas Hotel
Topas Hotel
#81 of 269 in Frankfurt
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Frankfurt
Hotel Bliss
#79 of 269 in Frankfurt
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: Ludwigstr. 27, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — President Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing