We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with Personality”
Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #54 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hotel with Personality”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A hotel with personality! After so many modern European hotels that looked alike, the room at the Monopol was cozy and comfortable. With free breakfast and afternoon snack, free minibar, and WiFi, who can complain? The room was clean and comfortable, quiet, and bathroom was well equipped. Being right across the street from the train station was perfect for travel around Frankfurt and to outlying destinations for day trips. The staff was friendly and I was so happy I had chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oogramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    265
    104
    36
    22
See reviews for
106
116
91
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sanaa, Yemen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Very nice hotel, located just opposite the Frankfurt main rail station, appropriate for exhibitors in Frankfurt. Friendly staff offering excellent services and good breakfast free Minibar and free internet connection. The main river is just 10 minutes walks. The shopping area like Zeil street is just 2 station away, it can be also reached by foots.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mohammedbaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed in this hotel during my last visit to Germany for a business trip.
I really like this hotel because of its location.
This hotel is very close to the cetral train station and the central shopping area called Zeil.
Although the rooms are not too big but are cleanly maintained to give the good feel.
The breakfast is good but is not excellent.
I can think of staying in this hotel twice owing to its proximity to the city center and train station.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jainnimish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
228 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Great breakfast, front of main train station, free minibar, free afternoon coffe and tea with cakes, quiet room sound proof,friendly staff.And good price.Everithing you need in a a hotel.,

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My fiance and me stayed at the hotel for a weekend visiting Frankfurt.
The location of the hotel has good and bad sides.
It´s perfect if you don`t want to be forced to travel through the whole city
just to reach your hotel, because it´s opposite the central station.
But as in the most bigger cities, the area around the trainstation is of course no holiday
domicile! You will see some drunken folks and tramps.
The red light quarter is not far away either.
If this is no problem for you, it will be a pleasure for you to be so close to all trams,
busses and trains, also the river main is close within 15 minutes of walking distance.
There are several pubs close to the hotel too.
The hotel looks a bit old and shabby from the outside, the inside tho is quite nice and
has the 1920s touch with big old leather sofas and big glass chandeliers.
The staff at the reception was very very nice and they did everything to make us feel
comfortable. We were a bit disappointed because we had asked while reservation if we
could get a room with an alcove bed, a special kind of bed what they described on their
website. Anyway, when we checked in nobody knew anything about the mail and so we
did get a normal bed.
We entered the room through an old style wooden double door and were impressed
how big the rooms actually were.
The bed was very soft, so maybe people with back aches could have
problems with them, and we ordered a double room, the bed was no double bed tho
but twos single beds pushed together, sadly not connected and so I fell into the gap
every night. So that was maybe one negative point.
On the bed we found lil presents, bathrobes and shoes to feel comfy.
The minibar was full with several drinks and snacks and everything was free, a plus.
Tv was available, also several tv radio channels which we used in the end cos only
german tv available, but that´s fine.
A big cupboard with a free little needle set was in the room too,
the room itself was dominated by big windows with long curtains,
the ceilings were really high.
The bathroom was clean, it included a bathtub
with the possibility to use it as shower too.
Sadly the nights were rather noisy, tho that is of course always different and it depends
what guests are living there at the same time like yourself.
Someone above us had an alarm clock beeping all night what was quite annoying,
and 2 nights anywhere in the hotel were noises as if someone had fun with a sheep.
Another negative point was that the cleaning staff was very loud in the morning
banging doors, and they also came very early so that we were still in bed,
they knocked but before we could say something the door was already opened
and my partner jumped under the blanket cos he was just on the way to the shower!
Was maybe our mistake too cos we didn´t use the "don`t come in" sign but anyway,
waiting more than 1 sec. after knocking on a door would be nice.
There was always cake and coffee available in the lobby, even at nights!
When we asked for a late check out we did get it for an additional payment (1/2 day).
All in all was it a nice stay, tho we were there only for 2 nights, so I don´t know if I had
liked the stay if we had had more noisy nights and slippy beds.
The friendly staff, the extras like the 24h lobby food and the mini bar made the stay
nice and so I could imagine to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sasana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

This is a great place to stay when you've come off a long plane flight or train journey! We stood outside the station, ready to pull our a map when we saw it! As it was snowing and we were tired and dirty - it was a relief to just walk across the street to our hotel. The service was top-notch and everyone was very friendly. There was a variety of tea and cakes out in the lobby (free) and a mini bar in our rooms with water/sodas (free). If you ask, the front desk will give you a wi-fi code (free). I enjoyed my 1 night stay, still the negatives were few: old, worn furniture and loud heaters that made various clinking and clanging noises throughout the night.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la310la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Good location near the main station. Stayed a couple of times there and it's just perfect to drop off your luggage and hit the streets to downtown area or Main riverside.
I had a single room: not too large, but OK. Old furniture & appliances; the room has two wooden entrance doors - one after another :)
Very good breakfast; it's the same every day, but you can have different mixtures.
I enjoyed the free minibar, refilled every day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanyC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Excelsior
#52 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#11 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#17 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#29 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Property: Hotel Monopol
Address: Mannheimer Str. 11-13 | Frankfurt am Main, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#36 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#37 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monopol 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frankfurt Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing