We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good.....”
Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #57 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 5 September 2013

its very close to train station and the rooms are good overall the location is very good...must stay...and the price is very good also. hotel is around 50 euro from airport by taxi. food is also good they made samosa and some Indian food also.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but try if you get upgraded room in low charge its possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jigarthanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Perfect location across the street from the main Train Station, this hotel has great service, wonderful free buffet breakfast and a clientele ranging from backpacked students to formal businessmen. You are likely to find many ethnic groups represented in the lobby from moslems in full dress to Hindus to Japanese and Chinese students, families and businessmen. We also witnessed people in African tribal outfits as well as American tourists. A great place for people watching! Not only is the Hotel across the street from the central Railroad station where you can catch a train to anywhere in Europe but it is only three short stops one the S-Line from Frankfurt Airport. You will find many interesting restaurants in the area and if you feel like walking, it is only a 20-25 minute walk to the ol city an the Main river. There were a few drawbacks; there is no air conditioning although fans are provided in each room. When one of our group opened their mini-bar, she found alll of the drinks already half empty and my room had a broken shower head so, when it was turned on, it sprayed the walls, ceiling, floors and all of the towels in the bath. When these problems were brought to the hotel management, they were immediately fixed. A major problem, especially for senior citizens or the handicapped , is that the bathtubs are extremely high. It is necessary to really raise your leg high to enter the tub. The good far outweighs the high and I therefore, with certain provisions recommend the Monopol Hotel

Room Tip: Front rooms can be very noisy as face the main Train station. Not handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJMAYNARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We could not have lucked onto a better location for our trip here, right across the street from the main train station made being a tourist a great place to be. I do agree the breakfast was the same items each day but there were so many different items you could have something different each day. Good value for the location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: See if you can get away on the opposite side away from the train station, street noisy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yuki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It is an old hotel with old Europe charm. It may need some renovations, but I really enjoy high ceilings and large windows, double doors and large bathroom. Location is the best. All transportation-2 min walk. Staff friendly. Breakfast real, not continental.. Price reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmgal_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hotel in excellent location near the main station which will ease your transportation. The hotel is near the main river 5 minutes by walk. Food is boring, same breakfast everyday. No airconditions in the rooms so it is not recommended in the summer. Mini bar for free with refill daily.Price are good for economic stay.

Room Tip: Not recommended in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamernaggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here in May for one night. The hotel staff were helpful, the location was fabulous for us as we were leaving on a train the next day. Free mini bar, free wifi, delicious breakfast. What more could you ask for. The room we had was large and the bathroom was newly renovated and spotless. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a close location to station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren-Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here and I must have remembered the free mini bar to make me book again. I haven't been to prison but the first room I was allocated gave me a glimpse of the experience. I spent almost three decades in the navy and I have had cabins on a ship larger than the room. The gentleman at reception was very helpful and friendly and did give me a slightly larger room but did remind me a few times that this was a standard business room. I tried to use my best German to tell him it didnt suit my business but it didn't seem to work so I resorted to the words of the famous Kevin Clinton and said "it's bloody shithouse" which seemed to break the language barrier. This hotel can't be beaten for location and old world charm and the free mini bar is something other hotels should consider adopting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasboot_871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Excelsior
#67 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,580 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#15 of 269 in Frankfurt
815 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#39 of 269 in Frankfurt
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#7 of 269 in Frankfurt
783 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#17 of 269 in Frankfurt
785 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 269 in Frankfurt
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Address: Mannheimer Str. 11-13 | Frankfurt am Main, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#36 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#39 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £51 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monopol 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frankfurt Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing