We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Break”
Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #54 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We went to the Monopol Hotel as it was central and authentic. We were not disappointed.

Check in was quick, efficient and friendly. Once shown to our room we were well pleased by the size and the storage space we had. Our room had little view at the back of the hotel but it was quiet and gave you a good night's sleep. It was cosy and the bathroom was clean and had everything you needed. The beds were comfortable and spotless. There was a free mini bar in the room with beer, soft drinks and water and was replenished daily. In the reception area from morning until 6pm you cold have free tea, coffee, juice, cakes and fruit. Lovely quiet area and you just helped yourself to what you wanted. Nice after a long day in the town to sit and have a drink in such nice surroundings.

The breakfast bar was excellent. Catered for everyone and was clean and very well run. Everything was replenished in a quick and efficient manner and the staff were more than helpful and always had a smile for you. The hot food was good.

The location was good for the Old Town or the main Shopping Centre with only a 15 minutes walk away which was great going through the Euro Zone. The Main Railway Station was right across the road if you wanted to travel or just watch the world go by.

Would I recommend this hotel, yes I certainly would Would I go back again, Yes, I certainly would. My only one gripe was going into City Centre and old Town before the Euro Zone was you had to walk down a street which was 'Little Turkey'. Full of Turks and not so clean or so nice but hey that is Turks for you. Excellent holiday, hotel and location. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: Maybe no view but back rooms quiet which was great for a good nighs sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very convenient for main railway station this friendly hotel looks like a popular stop over. Breakfast was very good with plenty of friendly staff along with receptionists. Room condition lets rating down and whole place needs some modernisation.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank rs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I traveled alone to Germany last summer, and spent 4 of my 12 days in Frankfurt. After extensive hotel searches, I chose Monopol mainly because it is located right next to the train station. It's also Kaiserstrasse, the street with all the restaurants and night life! The staff was super accommodating, spoke great English, and helped me so much with directions and train schedules. Would recommend this hotel for a busy schedule, my room would not be worked for a couple. The breakfast was fantastic! Everything I expected from a German spread!! Next trip to Deutschland I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corricatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Used this hotel while visiting exhibition in Frankfurt Messe. This hotel is in a great location just across " Hautebanhof" and about 15 min walk to Frankfurt Messe. Service was great especially at the front desk. Breakfast was very, very good. You could go to Hotel Excelsior ( sister hotel ) which is next door to have breakfast which was very nice as we had colleague staying there. Breakfast was the same at both hotels. It is a shame that the rooms are so dull. I have never stayed in a hotel room that are in so much need of a update or at least a little bit of color in the rooms and even a bedspread with a little color. If the rooms would be updated I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJADAMS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I do lots of travelling for business and pleasure.
I don't mind paying, especially for luxury, comfort and a good room.
This was VERY costly due to the CPHi fair. Inflated rates due to "prime time" is one thing but then you expect something in return.
VERY old Hotel, but the age is seen in the decor, rooms & bathrooms. The age is shown in the carpets (dirty and spots that will not come out) and also smelly.
For this rate I stay at the best rooms all over the world.
Service isnt helping the case. No room service, no help with luggage.
Very central which doesnt help if you you need a good rest - Its next to the busiest spot in Frankfurt!
Myself or our company will not use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: We went to 3 rooms and settled on the one that looked the cleanest and had a bit of a view to ensure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FanieHendriksz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Location is near from Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof, next to the Excelsior Hotel.
The drink in the refrigerator is free including beer.
There was each drink for the number of people.
I think that 85 Euro per night for two people with breakfast included was reasonable.
The breakfast venue, and proceed according to the signs, it is the same location as the Excelsior.
If you say why I know, it is because I stayed at Excelsior two days before.
Looks like a sister hotel.
Furniture is different.
Monopole is classic.
The elevator was better operations.
Not have only one or two people at the reception, guests for check-in considerably wait when crowded.
Storage for luggage was small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1100PlumGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The room was a good size and clean, but everything was very old. We travel quite a bit, but still could not figure out the antiquated shower until the front desk came up for a demo. The location was nice and very convenient. We did a lot of travel from Frankfurt to other cities, so main train station near-by was a definite plus. Overall, while the staff is friendly and helpful, I would hope that the hotel has some upgrades in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swimgirl320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Excelsior
#64 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,538 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#29 of 271 in Frankfurt
264 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#7 of 271 in Frankfurt
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#9 of 271 in Frankfurt
744 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#33 of 271 in Frankfurt
292 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#16 of 271 in Frankfurt
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Address: Mannheimer Str. 11-13 | Frankfurt am Main, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#36 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#38 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £58 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monopol 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frankfurt Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing