We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #50 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Booked one night on stop off to Prague. Place is rather drab and gloomy. But only staying one night, so will make do. Get to room, which is far too warm. No air conditioning. Never mind, will open windows. No breeze from there. And with 2, yes 2 fridges in the room, there is heat coming from them, making the room too warm for comfort. Also says free wifi in rooms. But that clearly wasn't the case. Problem with internet. Which happens regularly. Can't stay here, it's depressing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NetRam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    261
    102
    34
    22
See reviews for
104
113
90
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed one night before flying out of Frankfurt the next day. The location was excellent, right across the street from the train station. It was about a 20 minute walk to the historic area, Goethe's House, and the Main Tower (observation deck). The hotel was gorgeous on the inside, staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast included in price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneStartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Maybe the title is quite harsh for my general impression but probably is the best advice I could give. Monopol is opposite the main station Haupthanoff and that's good because you can be at the airport in 11 minutes. Furthermore is about 10 mins walking from European Central Bank.

However the hotel seems lacking from managing capabilities. The first night I went there, the internet was not working and although they said would fix it in an hour that didn't happened until next morning. I have chosen that hotel because I had an interview next days and I needed the internet and the business center mentioned in their website.

There was no business center in Monopol but we could use the business center from hotel Excelsior which was next door and obviously of the same chain. However the worst part was that while I getting ready for interview and the water of the shower was dirty and brown and there was no cold water. Amazing, and they said they would fix it again soon.

All the problems in 2 and a half days. Look for something else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDemeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a very excellent hotel for a city break or stopover. We were given an upgrade and the room was huge. Large comfortable beds ensured a good night’s sleep. Nice fluffy bathrobes and towels. Fast internet connection is a big bonus, hotels can be variable. Breakfast was also very good – a selection of cold meats and salami but also very nice smoked salmon. The Monopol has a rather old fashioned feel and this was pleasurable. A late drink in the hotel bar was very cosy. The service was very accommodating and if you want anything just ask. It’s just across from the railway station and most attractions are only a few metro stops away. We were extremely happy there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowtheWabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binbrook
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just stayed one night to catch a morning trans-Atlantic flight. I was upgraded from a single to a double that was located in the front. At first I thought it would be noisy;however, the windows sealed out all of the hustle & bustle and I slept very well. The room included a complimentary minibar stocked with beer, water, soft drinks all at no charge.
Staff were very friendly and breakfast was substantial. I will stay here again, the room rate was very good compared to the big chains.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked to stay in this hotel for a few days while we attended the Documenta show at Kasle,2012.As we lived far away we were unaware that it would be more advisable to stay at Kasle instead.We arrived at the HOtel and attempted to change our booking.We were advised by the hotel that there were to be no changes after booking but we remained hopeful that they might be willing to negotiate in some way - perhaps let us swap nights until later with a small additional charge.The behaviour of the staff was stunning in their complete intransigence to help us in any way whatsoever.We walked out,vowing we would never ever, go there again.Furthermore it turned us off Frankfurt - we would never go to another Monopole Hotel anywhere ever again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VIRGINIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Monopol Hotel in Frankfurt many times over the past years because of the location. It is good budget hotel that is easy to reach from the airport, only three stops to the main rail terminal. The rooms are basic but clean and I've always found the service to be great. The breakfast buffet has a good variety

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Excelsior
#49 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#35 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#9 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Hotel
#37 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#39 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#18 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Property: Hotel Monopol
Address: Mannheimer Str. 11-13 | Frankfurt am Main, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#35 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#37 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monopol 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frankfurt Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing