We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice room, fantastic location, no "red light district" issues whatsoever”
Review of Hotel Concorde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Concorde
Ranked #7 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I flew from Denver to Frankfurt and wanted to spend the night because our next destination was Paris and all the high-speed direct trains leave in the morning and we didn't arrive until the afternoon. After looking at reviews, we chose Hotel Concorde for an overnight, and were very glad we did. We booked a junior suite, so there was no issue with the room size. Yes, it's smaller than a typical American hotel room--or rather, the junior suite is the size of a typical American hotel room, but hey, you're not in America, are you? Anyway, it was spacious and had a nice little sectional sofa in addition to the bed and desk area you'd expect. The room was contemporary with lots of lighting options (different configurations and colors) and the bed was very comfortable. It was clean and had decent linens and plenty of towels. It's only a five minute walk from the station (go underground on the escalators and use the exit by the Hub convenience store to get back to the hotel (it's a bright green store, so you can't miss it). We actually took a taxi from the airport because we have more luggage than usual, so it was just a 15 minute ride, but we walked to the train station the next day. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel because we came down before they set it up so just decided to walk across to the train station which has tons of breakfast options (delicious sandwiches of all types, croissants,pastries, loads of options, including a Starbucks for your mocha latte vente). We only went from the hotel to the train station, and also about a block east to a Thai restaurant (I think it was called Rainbow Gardens--it was great!) and saw no red light type activities whatsoever, so don't know what all the fuss is about. We liked the hotel so much that we booked another night for the final evening of our vacation so we're near the airport for a stress free transition (rather than travelling in from a town 2 hours away). The people we dealt with at the front desk were friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Frankfurt, especially if being close to the main train station is a priority. It's a nice, friendly, clean, comfortable place to spend a night or two! If you want to stay longer, they advertise some vacation apartments that looked nice. If you get the same friendly service as at the Hotel Concorde, they would be a great option.

Room Tip: If space is a priority, book a junior suite. We got one for around 110 euros per night and thought...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSpringsDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Concorde
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

As i arrived at the Frankfurt Main Station ( Hauptbahnhof ) , i was dreading the trudge to the Hotel . I had been out since 630 am and just arrived at FFT HBF at 9pm ....... But as soon as i crossed the road to the other side , i spotted my Hotel !!!!!!!!!! Perfect !! Great location .

Quick and easy check in , friendly front desk staff .

I was alone , so to save costs i took the Single room that they have . Saves you a few Euros. The room was very compact , and more than that it was very dimly lit.

In the end it did not hurt me much since on both days that i stayed there , i came in at 930pm and went out for business at 0630am ..... i was too tired to worry aboutthe room size and lighting , but surely next time i will go for the larger room .

The room was very well equipped

I have seen some reviews of this Hotel and people talking about the Red Light District .Let me say this ....... for people who want to be away from it , this Hotel is shielded from it by one / two blocks and there is no real spillover WHILE those who want to go there .... its just a short walk !!!

The free WIFI worked well

I was out of the Hotel early and i did not have the chance to take breakfast .... so no comment

For those who may not know , the Main Station of Frankfurt is only a 10 to 15 min train journey from the airport .

Room Tip: The Single Room was too compact .
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SingaporeNRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Pretty much anything within half a mile east of the train station is in Frankfurt's red light district. If this bothers anyone, don't stay in ANY hotel in what is called Bahnhofsviertal, because it could be the Ritz inside, but you'll still see the ugly on the outside. If you don't mind a bit of city's grit, then this hotel is ideally situated just a 5 minute walk from the station, plus it actually is a quiet street (but yes, there are porn shops just a block over). The hotel is quite modern, art-deco decor so it's quite trendy inside. I paid 81 euro for one night in a triple room (room 45) - absolute great deal). Breakfast wasn't included, but it is 12 euro per adult. Yes, by itself that cost is high, but I spent 105 euro all-together, and that is still an awesome deal, so think of it that way when you book a place (for example, Moevenpick was 111 euro a night with breakfast included). Oh, and the internet is free (and fast) here - another bargain in a city where most folks travel on an expense account. So the room is trendy as well, complete with fancy soaps, etc. TV is small and not a flat-screen, but there are plenty of free channels and some pay-per-view channels if you desire. Beds are a bit soft for my taste, and the pillows are the typical German flat ones. No tub, but the bathroom is modern (and trendy) and puts out a nice steady flow of hot water. The breakfast room is small, but there wasn't many people when we ate at 0900. Plenty of food, one of the better spreads you'll find with fresh fruit salad (a good indicator of a good breakfast-most places are too lazy to cut a bunch of different fruit for guests). Fresh vegetables, standard meats, breads, and yogurts as well. The lobby and front desk clerks were professional and spoke English well. Oh, the trendy rooms fancy themselves with orange, blue, or white softlights to add to the ambience (actually pretty neat). There's an elevator too. There is no reason not to book this place, but again, if you want to avoid the red-light district at all costs, then don't book anything in this area. Awesome place IMO, and did I forget to mention I was with my wife and two children, ages 4 and 3.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DaytonJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I reserved a hotel room through theTripadvisor with discount coupon. Included free breakfast and wifi.

The location is very convenient, just few steps from the main station and walking distance to Red line. There are convenient stores nearby for your daily needs.

Very cute building. The room is comfortable for one person. The bathroom clean.

Amazing breakfast buffet, The breakfast was great and service. A lot of food. I love it.

Staff are helpful and courteous.

I was very satisfied with the service so I will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imagesetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

On a trip with a scheduled flight layover in Frankfurt, we chose the Hotel Concorde as an alternative to staying out near the airport. It worked great for that purpose. Using Frankfurt's efficient train connection, we were checking in to the Concorde within an hour of landing. While the hotel is within a block of Frankfurt's red light district, the hotel area itself appeared very safe. There is a quick direct exit from Frankfurt's Hauptbahnhof, labeled "Karlstrasse", directly onto the Concorde's street block. While services appeared minimal, all areas of the hotel were clean, and our room itself was spacious and very well furnished. The best part, for me, was the opportunity for a nostalgic morning walk up through the city before heading back to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnscasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Clean and tidy, very small room. Location is fantastic and in true Germanic organisation from landing at Frankfurt the next time i saw the sky was when i surfaced 200metres from the hotel! very close to transport links. Breakfast was fine would stay again but price would need to be cheaper for the size of room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I visit Frankfurt 3 or 4 times a year and like trying different hotels. This one has very helpful and friendly staff. The room was very, very small but well looked after and clean, with everything you need. Safe boxes are in reception and the system appears good but you have limited privacy. Good location for walking around Frankfurt. Small niggles though with interesting but fussy and totally inadequate lighting, especially if you drop something on the floor or want to see detail at night away from the singular lighting panel which was in front of the window. TV signal strength was borderline, even just for the news. NO wifi but a cabled LAN system! The lift only takes one person with a large case so if you are on the 5th. floor you just have to wait to grab your space. It isn't cheap to stay anywhere in Frankfurt during the winter exhibition season and I would normally pay 35% less at other times of the year. This 5 nights trip cost me 625 euros for the room. Next time I will shop around earlier and make sure breakfast is included which is a 12 Euro extra at Concorde - a bit over the top and should be included. Taking the cost and plus & minuses I can only see it as average overall.

Room Tip: You can ask for a quiet room and get it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#10 of 270 in Frankfurt
736 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Frankfurt Messe
NH Frankfurt Messe
#8 of 270 in Frankfurt
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#9 of 270 in Frankfurt
771 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#18 of 270 in Frankfurt
718 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concorde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concorde

Address: Karlstr. 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#13 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#21 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#33 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £64 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concorde 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Concorde Hotel in the heart of Frankfurt is an ideal location for all business and pleasure trips just opposite the main train station. Whether your appointments are in the banking center, the Alte Oper, the fairgrounds or the museumsufer, all your destinations are within easy walking distance. Relax in our tranquil and friendly atmosphere distinguished by our attentive staff. Enjoy your stay in our lovingly restored Art deco hotel. 45 comfortably rooms decorated in contemporary style, fully airconditioned are at your service, as well as conference rooms, a fully equipped business center with wireless-LAN, a cozy bistro bar and a sumptuous breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Concorde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing