We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel with decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fair Hotel an der Messe
Ranked #225 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Budget hotel with decor”
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Fair Hotel's located fairly close to Frankfurt's main train station. It appears to have been renovated recently and my room had a nice decor for the price. WiFi worked without a hitch. The only drawback is the noise. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desousa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
3
10
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2006

Stayed here during the world cup in June, and was surprised upon arrival to see that the entrance is not at all like the one in all the photos.

We had booked a double room, but had been given a twin room, which was abolutely tiny, and the beds were round the corner from one another. I went and spoke to reception about this and they put us in a much bigger and better double room, although they were far from cheerful about this. The room itself was fine, clean and tidy. Do not, however, think that you will get a room as big as the one in the photographs with a sofa in it. The bathroom was clean, but very old, tired and small- similar to a caravan bathroom.

There were none of the extras promised eg newspaper, hairdryer, fridge etc. I suggest if you do want these to confirm them on arrival.

The room was 3 floors above the street, but was still very noisy at night, and not air conditioned.

Hotel Consul was functional, clean, close to the station, and mostly pleasant staff. If however, you are wanting to see a lot of the old town I think this hotel is too far away. The street it is on is not very nice, and I wouldn't want to walk down it or neighbouring streets by myself at night.

A good place to stay if you don't want to spend much, or won't spend much time there, but it is not luxury by any means. Fine for a night or two, but don't expect much.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank mjma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

liverpool, merseyside
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

the hotel is close to the main train station with some cool restaurants nearby on the road parallel closer to the train station.
If you stay in the rooms next to the road prepare for alot of noise from traffic, drunkards, sirens etc..The room is of a good size with a fridge, TV and decent shower. The breakfast was reasonable.
The down side is, if it's hot outside the room is even hotter inside with only a fan to help. The maid only provided tea and cooffee on the first day and did not replenish stocks.

Helpful?
1 Thank oovavoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

Stayed at this hotel during the World Cup and booked it directly through FIFA. My first impressions were disappointing as the hotel looked a lot more tired than the photos I'd seen on the internet. The descriptions of the hotel also stated that rooms had the following: desk, internet connection, hairdryer and that complimentary newspapers were available over coffee or breakfast. All I can say is that they must have hidden all these well!

On the plus side, the hotel is less than 10 minutes to the railway station and there was a really lovely Italian restaurant just around the corner, where several Italian journalists & tv presenters who were there for the World Cup went to. The hotel was basic but clean, although the bathroom was a little dingy and had no natural light.

Breakfast was decent with a selection of cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, yoghurts etc and you could help yourself to whatever you wanted. The hotel has no bar but sells cans of beer, which you can keep in the very efficient fridge in your room.

When we arrived we were given a choice of 2 rooms. The first was at the back and rather small and the second was at the front and extremely spacious. We chose the larger room but that turned out to be a mistake. It was very noisy so we had to keep the windows closed at night, which meant we baked, even though we had a portable fan. There was also police/ambulance sirens that kept us awake during the night too. I think the room at the back, away from the main road, would have been much quieter and perhaps a little cooler.

All in all, the hotel was alright. It was functional and served a purpose. I can't say it was value for money as we went during the World Cup when nothing was cheap. However, a similar break at this hotel at any other time costs about a third of what we paid so would probably normally be good value.

Hotel Consul is described as a 3* but in my opinion it is most definitely only a 2*. I wouldn't choose to stay here again because I usually prefer 4* hotels, but for a 2* I'd rate it as being quite decent.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ailie-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 August 2004

Very nice place. This was my first stay in Frankfurt and the people working in the hotel really helped me a lot. GREAT STAY!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Columbus Hotel
Columbus Hotel
#173 of 269 in Frankfurt
48 reviews
Innenstadt
Topas Hotel
Topas Hotel
#81 of 269 in Frankfurt
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Excelsior
#55 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,480 reviews
Hotel Bliss
#79 of 269 in Frankfurt
157 reviews
Innenstadt
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#99 of 269 in Frankfurt
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Hotel an der Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Hotel an der Messe

Property: Fair Hotel an der Messe
Address: Mainzer Landstrasse 118, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fair Hotel an der Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fair Hotel an der Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Consul Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing