We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and well positioned”
Review of Topas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Topas Hotel
Ranked #81 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean and well positioned”
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Topas Hotel is located only a block from the Frankfurt Hauptbanhof, making it very convenient in terms of arrival and departure by train or plane.
Our very large double room was on the ground floor facing the street, meaning we didn't have to drag our heavy bags far - a bonus after a month of travel! We could hear some voices on the street outside, but not traffic noise. I've come to accept that completely silent hotel rooms in Europe are not the norm!
It was snowing heavily during our visit, and the temp was -8 degrees. Although there were heaters under the window and in the bathroom, I noticed that the window didn't seal tight and thus there was cold air creeping in around the window. It wouldn't have been an issue in less freezing weather.
Breakfast was quite good, with a reasonable selection.
We made use of the free Wifi to check our departing flight status.
Beds were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was larger than most in Europe and had shower over the bath.
The neighbourhood was not seedy at all despite its proximity to the rail station and we felt comfortable making the 20 minute walk into the Altstadt after dark. All in all we have no complaints, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAOSabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    97
    52
    9
    2
See reviews for
10
63
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for just one night when we were flying out of Frankfurt after spending a few weeks in Germany. The location - near the main train station - is super convenient and the hotel is easy to find.

The staff was professional and friendly, the breakfast (included) was great and they even had free wifi which was a plus. The room was quite large and while as noted by others there is no AC they did have a fan in the room and the windows open. The bathroom was also quite big with a tub/shower that is big enough for a soak (not for big guys of course), had hair dryer and plenty of towels.

There is lots in the neighborhood and it's central enough to walk to Romerburg Square or just hop the train and you are there in 2 stops.

The price was great (I think we paid $58 Euro) and it was better than others we stayed at for twice the price. Yes - it's a little loud on the street at night but hey, you are in a city and that's to be expected.

I'd definitely stay there again if I was in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dellalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We spent a weekend in this hotel with friends and we were really satisfied. The location is very central and safe, the city center is within walking distance.
We had rooms on the streetside and they were a bit loud despite the double-glased windows. But it was okay. As people already mentioned before, the rooms don't have air-conditioning, which can be disturbing during a hot summer day but in the autumn it doesn't matter.
The breakfast was fine but not extraordinary. It was good enough to start the day well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fehne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reutlingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The hotel is located two blocks away in a street parallel to the main railway station. This means it is ideal for catching an early flight/train or when arriving in Frankfurt late. It therefore has excellent connections to the airport and also to the trade fair area and the town centre. The hotel is obviously well-established, possibly a bit tired-looking compared to other hotels, however it is very clean and well-looked after. The hotel does not have air-conditioning, although the room I was in did have a fan. My room was to the front and this road was fairly noisy in the morning from about 7 o'clock. Breakfast in the hotel was simple but perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheddie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

My teenaged son and I stayed here en route to Cologne to participate in a junior squash tournament. The hotel is located within a very easy 5 minute walk to the Frankfurt Central Rail Station. This is a small hotel with small guest rooms, typical of what one finds while in Europe. It is very well managed and the staff/owners are very knowledgeable on what to do and see in the area. The hotel is spotlessly clean, bright, cheery, and modern. There is a nice breakfast room off the lobby and the buffet breakfast included boiled eggs, cheese, salami, juice, coffee, fruit, yoghurt, bread, rolls, etc. We walked to the cathedral, the river, the reconstructed old town, and the main shopping boulevard, so the Hotel Topas enjoys an excellent location. There were lots of small inexpensive restaurants and bars near the hotel. The hotel itself is very quiet, but we were there during a heat wave and found that there was a bit of traffic noise with the windows open. We closed the windows and used the room's fan so that was not too bad. I guess the question we all ask at the end of any hotel stay is "would we stay here again or recommend this hotel to a friend?" - definite yes for Hotel Topas. Also, my teenage son really appreciated the free wifi, so with the price of wifi in Europe - that is a huge plus! We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel, approx E25, but one could easily take the train.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wet_Coast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I've stayed at Hotel Topas in various occasions while visiting Frankfurt. In my opinion, for a very reasonable price, they offer a great accomodation: a few metres from the main train station (if you use the side exit is really 50 metres), clean rooms, kind staff, very quite in the night, reasonable breakfast. I've been in a single room and it's not huge but more than enough (there's also a desk if you need it), and the bathroom was great, with a very nice and large shower. I would definitely recommend it (also if you are travelling for business).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canziano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2009

The location of the hotel was very convenient, just minutes from the train station. The room was very clean and quite. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. For the price the room should have included free internet access. Internet access was available but costly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_and_M_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#86 of 269 in Frankfurt
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Frankfurt Centrum
0.0 mi away
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
#49 of 269 in Frankfurt
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#25 of 269 in Frankfurt
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bliss
Hotel Bliss
#76 of 269 in Frankfurt
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hamburger Hof
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#13 of 269 in Frankfurt
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topas Hotel

Property: Topas Hotel
Address: Niddastr. 88, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Topas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Topas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topas Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing