We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel yet not five-starrish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
Ranked #38 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Location
------------------
+ centrally located
+ walking distance to shopping alley (Zeil), mall..everything
+ subway within 5minutes walk
+ supermarket (Aldi) at the backside of the hotel
- location does not look posh/modern. The "trendy" sites are located west from the westin

Parking
---------------
+ underground parking available
- bit pricey (23euro/24hrs), could be cheaper for hotel guests

Room
------------
+ good size, heavenly bed, nespresso machine, complimentary water bottle, good shower, love the westin scent, calm floor
- - no free wifi!!! Seriously westin?! If i pay such a rate i should get free wifi. Or at least for a bargain price.
- nespresso machine needs to be cleaned!
- tv seems to be older and the sound is not optimal nor dolby surround
- hair dryer needs to be renewed, seemed bit old
- overall the furniture seemed to be not too modern nor new.


---> I felt comfy at the Westin and would choose it at a deal price. You cant do anything wrong choosing this hotel however it doesnt have the x-factor...the wow-effect. Refurbishment recommended :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank traveleer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWestin F, General Manager at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Traveller,
I would like to thank you for your valuable and constructive feedback and of course for having taken the time to share your opinion with us and Tripadvisor. We appreciate that a lot, as it is the perfect chance to really listen to our guests' needs and to constantly improve our services.

We also thank you for your personal and motivating words.

I hope that we see you back at the Westin Grand Frankfurt.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 x nights at this lovely hotel, which is situated right in the middle of Frankfurt. You are literally a stones throw from all the shops/restaurants and bars.
We stayed in a Grand deluxe room which was large an spacious and you could open the window to let fresh air in (always a bonus). This room type also allows access to the Executive lounge, which, in my humble opinion, is the best I have ever been to. It was large and always staffed, with a good breakfast selection (hot and cold buffet), lunch snack and dinner options too, as well as salad/cheese board and desserts! I couldn't believe how well stocked it was.....
The bed was very comfy and you had one medium/hard pillow and one soft, which I appreciated having the option of whatever was my preference.
We also made good use of the pool/spa and was very impressed with it.
I really recommend this hotel for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Try and stay in a room that allows access to the Executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWestin F, General Manager at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Randy19,
We are delighted to read your evaluation and thank you very much for your recommendation.

It's a great motivation for the entire team - we are pleased that you enjoyed especially our Executive Lounge with a good breakfast selection and various snack and meal options.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again at The Westin Grand Frankfurt.

With best regards,
Sandro Bohrmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The location is ideal, at Konstablewache metro stop in center of town but in a bit nicer area than the central train station (though only 5 minutes away). This hotel is easily accessible to the airport and all public transportation.

Personnel seem genuinely friendly and eager to help. Wait times for checking in, asking questions of the concierge, etc. were non-existent. The lobby is well-decorated, spacious, intriguing. The room was also quite spacious, comfortable, and bathroom quite updated with a truly excellent shower and tub and lots of space. Towels could have been a little nicer, but no major complaints. Maid service was prompt and every aspect of the hotel that I observed was very clean and attractive.

The best amenity was the single-shot espresso maker. Internet worked well and though it was complimentary for me, the normal rates were a bit excessive (16 euro per day).

I checked out the pool and spa, though didn't actually use them. The facilities seemed better than in most hotels of comparable quality.

When I contacted the hotel after my return home about a minor billing issue, I received a prompt reply (less than 24 hours later) completely rectifying the issue. That was great service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWestin F, General Manager at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear bkcarolina,

it givs me great pleasure reading your positive feedback. The complete team of the Westin Grand Frankfurt would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your impressions with both us and Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your special compliments on a great service, a spacious lobby and our Westin Heavenly Shower.

We really would be glad to welcome you back soon and pamper you with a relaxing and enjoyable service.

with best regards,
Sandro Bohrmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Westin Grand is a pleasant place for your stay in Frankfurt. Rooms are spacious, the heavenly beds and baths are what you will expect from a Westin, and staff is competent, friendly, and very helpful. Over the weekend rates can be very competitive, sometimes better than those at the other SPG member hotel in Frankfurt, the Méridien (which is also a very good hotel indeed where I like to stay, but not as refined as the Westin). There is a spa, a gym, and a nice pool on the 6th floor. We neither visited the Japanese nor the Chinese restaurant, but judging from the fact that they were packed with (mostly Asian) guests they must be good. Conventional western food is served both in the bar and the lobby, which is spacious and nicely decorated but a bit dark despite its large glass ceiling. As SPG platinum guests we were upgraded to a nice room on the 6th floor with access to the Westin Executive Club lounge (on the 1st floor, stairs up from the lobby) serving breakfast in the morning and drinks plus snacks during the rest of the day. Perhaps the best thing about the Westin is its location right in the city center just a block from Frankfurt’s main shopping street “Zeil” which might be compared to London’s Oxford street, with large department stores but, fortunately, no traffic. Only a short walk away are the posh designer shops on Goethestrasse. The old city center with Frankfurt’s cathedral and Goethe-house (home of the poet’s parents, now a museum) and other museums on the bank of the river Main are only a 10-15 minutes’ walk away.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms facing the inner court are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dionysios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWestin F, General Manager at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Dionysios,
Whta an absolute delight reading your lovely description of your stay. Thank you for making us smile and of course for having taken the time to give this evaulation.
It is our highest aim to make our guests's life easier while staying at the Westin Grand Frankfurt and we try to be our best in creating the perfect Westin feel, which is supposed to be personal, instinctive and of course relaxing.
It will be our pleasure to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime, we wish you an inspiring time.
All the best,
Sandro Bohrmann
General Manager
The Westin Grand Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The location ist great, its just a walking distance to almost everything you need! The lobby is amazing - everything is kept in gold/brown tones. The staff at the reception was okay, the bellboys were friendly and the spanish girl in the executive club was very helpful.
The doors to the hallway are very thin, so you can hear almost everything that is happen outside if youre in your room.
It's a nice place but there are better places in Frankfurt to stay (for the same price).

Room Tip: A room to the Backside and not to close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWestin F, General Manager at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Sara M,
Thank you for having taken a moment to summarize your Westin impression and for sharing it with us and the Tripadvisor.
Your compliments for Ana in the Westin Executive Lounge as well as for the bellobys is a great motivation for all of us. Hoping to welcoming you again at The Westin Grand Frankfurt,
with best regards,
Sandro Bohrmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here on business and found the staff to be attentive and friendly. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the old town area and shopping is also available nearby. We dined at the Chinese restaurant on site which was good and convenient. The best surprise was the Westin Executive Lounge. If you are a SPG platinum guest you get free access and it has a very nice selection of appetizers and drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWestin F, General Manager at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear David K,
Thank you for your lovely comment about your stay. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the Chinese Restaurant SanSan which is on our premises and of course our Executive Club.
Looking very much forward to welcome you soon again.
With best regards,
Sandro Bohrmann
General Manager
The Westin Grand Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The location was very good indeed: close to Zeil and train/metro station.
Public areas were clean and fresh.
The room was rather standard in terms of decor and facilities. A rather tired and slightly grubby Nespresso machine did not impress, nor the (very well used) hairdryer (not wired in but plonked in a wardrobe) - I question the official (?) 5 star rating - BUT the bed??? Supremely comfortable...I'm even considering buying one from the Westin store...
Did not have breakfast - as other reviewers have said, 33 euros is rather steep and there is so much available in the area!

Room Tip: As high a floor as possible: busy central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWestin F, General Manager at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear sheena099,

Let met hank you for your valuable feedback and and therewith giving us the possibility to further improve.
I am sorry to read that some equipment was not up-to-date which we will check immediately.
Regarding breakfast buffet - we also recommend our à la carte Restaurant GrandSeven in Lobby to have continental breakfast or individual breakfast items at your choice.

We are most grateful for your compliments on the "Westin Heavenly Bed".
Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Westin Grand Frankfurt.
With best regards,
Sandro Bohrmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#5 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,357 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#56 of 269 in Frankfurt
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Frankfurt
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,722 reviews
Innenstadt
Scandic Frankfurt Museumsufer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Frankfurt

Address: Konrad-Adenauer-Str. 7, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#9 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#17 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#29 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £109 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star nonsmoking hotel The Westin Grand Frankfurt was carefully and elaborately renovated in 2007. It is blessed with an ideal location, just steps to the well-known Zeil shopping street and the exclusive Goethestrasse boulevard, within close proximity to all attractions in the city. The 371 newly designed rooms and suites are decorated in warm shades and tones and equipped with modern, comfy furniture and a flat screen television. The Heavenly Bed(R), a Westin innovation with special mattress, guarantees a good night's sleep. All rooms and suites have high speed internet, three telephones with integrated answering machines, as well as individually controlled air-conditioning. Furthermore, all rooms are equipped with an iron and ironing board, a safe and a Nespresso coffee machine. Access to the internet free of charge in lobby, restaurant and bar. Our 4 restaurants and bars offer new and familiar delights for your palate. You can choose between regional and traditional Japanese cuisine, a drink or a snack. The world is your oyster. The conference level offers 12 rooms, equipped with the latest conference technology, in various sizes: Events for up to 1,000 guests can be handled with ease; for festive banquets up to 320 guests can be accommodated. The new pool and fitness area is the ideal place to relax. Apart from a sauna, bio sauna and a swimming pool, we also offer you beneficial massages and personalised beauty treatments. Parking available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Grand Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt
Westin Grand Frankfurt
Westin Frankfurt
Frankfurt Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing