We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Westin Standard - but not 5* read my review for details why only avarage” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Grand Frankfurt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
Ranked #31 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
447 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
“Westin Standard - but not 5* read my review for details why only avarage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

I wonder if any Westin in the US is rated five stars? The Westin Grand in Frankfurt/Main is the old "Arabella Sheraton" and I can't help: you can still notice it!

The pool elevator has broken mirrors (inside the lift just used adhesives to keep it together) and many dents on lift-doors (at least our SPG floor). As this doesn't look like it happend yesterday it looks like the hotel management doesn't seem to care or take efforts to fix it (Starwood's policy?)

The room design is the well known standard Westin like around the world, the public areas (decor in the hotel bar, lamps etc.) seems still to be the Arabella decor from 1985 or so....

Service is efficent and fast (our toilett lid had a crack when we entered the room but they managed to repair it within minutes when we were at the pool), we got a room upgrade due to my gold SPG status even it was priceline win (a $90 bid won) and we got invited for cocktail in the bar (no tip needed).

No need to say that they still have a huge charge for Wifi (everywhere, not free in lobby as in US), however pool and Sauna is free of extra charge. Breakfast and Parking overpriced as usual in Hotel chains who rate themselves 5*...

The hotel is in a very good position for both shopping, public transportation and also for airport access with the S-Bahn (no train change needed, subway station is 1min walking).

However I was missing the real 5* feeling (as e.g. in Berlin Marriott), so my evaluation can't be more than average in this case (however recommended)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    430
    165
    49
    27
See reviews for
132
349
150
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

This hotel was booked using the Starwood website - staff were very helpful and the service excellent. Just 30m away you will find yourself in the high street with some of the best shopping available. The downside to this location was that it was bit too far from the train station and other attractions. Perfect hotel for the businessman. Anyone staying at this hotel must take advantage of the beautiful swimming pool area - it is the best place to relax. The breakfast was outstanding - extensive buffet for Euro31. Husband was not too happy with the combined bath/shower. Otherwise a very nice hotel, a bit pricey, enjoyed by all - children were very impressed by the vintage car exhibit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miribal, Management at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 12 January 2010
Dear Maliga,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Grand Frankfurt for your recent stay in Frankfurt and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay.

Our hotel is indeed at a very convenient location – and we do our best to make travelers as comfortable as possible during their stay at our hotel.

Our emotion spa and pool area is indeed the place to relax and to rejuvenate.

I do understand your concerns about our breakfast price but can confirm that we are aligned with our local competitors.

Dear Maliga, I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Westin Grand Frankfurt in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Warm regards

Miriam Siner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

I usually stay at the Hilton but the usual corporate rates were unavailable there so I opted to stay here. While the Hilton is slightly more centrally located (although not by much really, as the Zeil is right near the Westin entrance), I liked the Westin better. First, the room rates are cheaper, period. And if you get the all-in breakfast package, given how expensive things are in Frankfurt, you are getting a really good deal. The Hilton nickel and dimes you on everything, not a very pleasant atmosphere on that score. Second, the Westin gym is free while the Hilton makes you pay 25 EUR unless you are Hilton Honors (because the Hilton gym is technically part of Wave fitness; after erroneously allowing me to use the Hilton gym last time, they left a letter under my door saying I really should not have been allowed to use it because I wasn't Hilton Honors but they would allow me to continue using it a courtesy...give me a break). And while I didn't use the spa, it seemed quite nice. Third, if you are inclined to take a subway, it's extremely conveniently located. Fourth, while the room was roughly the same as the Hilton's, the Westin bathroom was bigger (although the two shower heads were a tad difficult to adjust, you can only turn them sideways). Last, the overall atmosphere was much more warm and friendly; it really feels comfortable Two minor criticisms: 1) reduce the room internet fee; and 2) keep your bar costs down.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEBizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miribal, Management at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 January 2010
Dear NEBizguy,
it has been a great pleasure to reading your kind words and we do honestly thank you for your constructive feedback about your experiences at the Westin Grand Frankfurt! Your opinion is what counts and we hope to welcoming you back soon! With warm regards from snowy Frankfurt

Miriam Siner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

Visiting Frankfurt for the Christmas Market, hotel location excellent for Christmas Market. Although did not eat in hotel as we had a drink at bar and found it very very expensive. 24 euros for one half of larger, a barcardi and coke and a pot of tea. Funny smell in reception area each time you walked into the hotel, like a stink bomb had gone off. Had a problem with the shower but sorted whilst we were out. Did not use the T.V. but on last morning tried the same and found out there were no batteries in the remote, so could not use anyway. Beds very comfortable. Great swimming pool, nice to relax around the pool after all the walking. Would defintely consider booking with this Group of Hotels in the future if they have a hotel located in the area we will be visiting.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evesham,uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

Thought I would write a quick review as I believe that I received excellent service whilst stopping here from the reception staff right through to the spa staff.
The room was lovely and well stocked with tea/coffee making supplies and the room was always cleaned to the highest standard. The reception staff were polite and also extremely helpful. The spa was lovely and we made use of the gym/pool and sauna.
One little negative, when we entered the lobby on 2 occasions (which was VERY imprssive) there was an awful smell of what smelt like drains and this ruined it slightly and not really what you expect from a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellieha1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miribal, Management at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 January 2010
Dear Mellieha1978,
we are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed the time spent with us and that especially our service level convinced you. Certainly we also took note about the one point you think we could still do better and we thank you for your honest words and for taking the time to share your experience! Hoping to see you back soon, be well

Miriam Siner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

The Westin Grand Hotel in Frankfurt has to be my favourite hotel. The moment I check in till the time I check out I can’t complain and I am a very fussy guest. In many hotels westins alike something has gone wrong or I may have switched rooms a dozen times but here in the westin Frankfurt it is just simply out standing. The 2nd stay left me speechless, I booked the grand deluxe room, when I checked in at 22:00 really tired yet hungry, I was greeted my really warm and friendly staff and I found out like upgraded me to a junior suite.
A porter took me to my room, and it was just simply perfect, with fresh flowers, Bose surround system, really modern, really fresh a two room suite. I ordered dinner to my room, 3 course meal which was really yummy and to say the best apple strudel that I have tasted in bed and I simply relaxed with a jumbo cocktail in their giant bath.

The best of Frankfurt is the stay at this hotel. The staff are really lovely, very friendly and attentive, room are modern, perfect and really clean. Food is simply delicious.

Hands down this is a great 5 star hotel!! Just outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euroboyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miribal, management at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 16 December 2009
Dear euroboy,

Many, many thanks for staying at our hotel again and writing such a delightful comment about your stay.
Our hotel is the right place for travelers who put great emphasis on service and attention to detail. We are always trying to go the extra mile for the benefit and well-being of our guests. I am glad that you appreciate our efforts and have become a regular guest of the Westin Grand Frankfurt.
We look forward to seeing you again and will do our very best to turn that stay also into a thoroughly enjoyable experience for you.

Merry Christmas to you and a happy new year.

Best wishes
Miriam Siner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Good location in the middle of Frankfurt. Walked to Christmas market and shops. Nice reception area and bar. Friendly efficient staff. Rooms pleasant although there was a little street noise. Clean and the bathroom was nicely decorated and spotless too. Only downside was that we were not able to adjust the heating and found the room stuffy and too warm for sleeping comfortably. May be our fault as we could have rung down to reception, I am sure they would have helped. Having said that, I would stay there again though.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishdancer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miribal, management at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 7 December 2009
Dear irishdancer65

Thank you for your recent stay at the Westin Grand Frankfurt.
We are very delighted to hear about the positive feedback you left on this website. Thank you very much for the time you invested in that. It is a great pleasure to see that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel and please do not hesitate to contact service express or myself during your stay for any kind of service issues.

Best wishes
Miriam Siner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#4 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#6 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#3 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Roomers
#11 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Frankfurt

Property: The Westin Grand Frankfurt
Address: Konrad-Adenauer-Str. 7, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#9 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#18 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#24 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star nonsmoking hotel The Westin Grand Frankfurt was carefully and elaborately renovated in 2007. It is blessed with an ideal location, just steps to the well-known Zeil shopping street and the exclusive Goethestrasse boulevard, within close proximity to all attractions in the city. The 371 newly designed rooms and suites are decorated in warm shades and tones and equipped with modern, comfy furniture and a flat screen television. The Heavenly Bed(R), a Westin innovation with special mattress, guarantees a good night's sleep. All rooms and suites have high speed internet, three telephones with integrated answering machines, as well as individually controlled air-conditioning. Furthermore, all rooms are equipped with an iron and ironing board, a safe and a Nespresso coffee machine. Access to the internet free of charge in lobby, restaurant and bar. Our 4 restaurants and bars offer new and familiar delights for your palate. You can choose between regional and traditional Japanese cuisine, a drink or a snack. The world is your oyster. The conference level offers 12 rooms, equipped with the latest conference technology, in various sizes: Events for up to 1,000 guests can be handled with ease; for festive banquets up to 320 guests can be accommodated. The new pool and fitness area is the ideal place to relax. Apart from a sauna, bio sauna and a swimming pool, we also offer you beneficial massages and personalised beauty treatments. Parking available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Grand Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt
Westin Grand Frankfurt
Westin Frankfurt
Frankfurt Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing