We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful - Stay at the Airport Hilton Instead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #33 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Sheraton Frankfurt Airport is one of the worst airport hotels we’ve stayed in. It’s hard to imagine so much going wrong in a mere 13 hours. The problems began with check-in. The lines were long, the front desk was understaffed and they did not honor my SPG Gold status for an upgrade (despite claiming they did). It was clear when we got to our quarters that we had a real “dog” of a room – our tiny accommodations were certainly not the superior room pictured on the hotel web site, plus ours was facing the interior just a few feet above the air conditioning duct work.

We figured that for a quick overnight it would be good enough and was not worth making an issue. But I had to draw the line at the broken bedside lamp, and by broken I don’t mean the light bulb was broken (that was the case with one of the lamps) – by broken I mean the other lamp was broken at the base so that when we moved it away from the wall where it was propped up, it just collapsed. We sure were not going to try turning it on and risking an electrical fire. My attempts to call guest services were to no avail since the line just rang busy. I was forced to go downstairs to talk to the front desk but instead of helping me, the woman who had checked us in waved another person over and ignored me. At that point, I insisted on talking to the front office manager, who appeared to take serous note of the problems. He offered us access to the Executive Club after dinner while Engineering replaced the one lamp and light bulb of the other lamp. Unfortunately, the Club is locked, our room key did not open the glass door and when we rang the bell the Club attendant just ignored us.

Feeling like we were caught trying to crash, we just retreated to our room. The lamps had been fixed and then we discovered that the toilet did not flush. We resolved to just get through the next several hours until flight time but then we did not anticipate that we would also be provided with old pillows that were so threadbare and flat that it was like sleeping without a pillow. So, we did not get much sleep on top of everything else.

At check-out, I recounted our problems and the startled (but concerned) gentleman called over the Guest Services Manager to hear the details of our problems. He took copious notes and shook his head at the lengthening list of problems over so short a period of time. Yet, surprisingly, instead of saying “Let us pick up your dinner from last night” or “Let us make an adjustment to your room rate considering the problems”, he offered nothing. So we paid for our overpriced room and left. I guess the Manager thought the better of it after the fact because when I got home there was an email apologizing and offering some bonus points in my SPG account. While I appreciate that even a belated effort was made to apologize, it was too little, too late and the wrong gesture.

We will never stay here again, especially not with the much newer Hilton also connected to the train station/Terminal 1. And as an SPG elite member, that’s saying a lot.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any good rooms here. However, if you go out the front door of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fantasticv0yage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrTinoL, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear fantasticv0yage,

There is only one thing to say: Sorry!
I sincerely regret that we turned your stay into such a negative experience. Yours is an unheard-of-case of inattention at our hotel and I can only emphasize that your experiences do not represent our usually very high standards. I understand that another stay at our hotel does not rank foremost in your traveling plans for the moment. Yet, I hope that you will one day stop over here again. Please let me know beforehand so that I can personally take care of making arrangements for you so that you will have a fully enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,060 - 2,066 of 4,145 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel is located between Terminal 1 and the train station of Frankfurt International Airport. The walk to Terminal 1 takes only 2 minutes.
I had a Club Room that looked like refurbished not long ago. The room was clean and well equipped with Flat-TV, coffee- /tea-maker, ironing board, minibar, working desk, air condition, hairdryer, bath tub and more. The room is very well insulated against noise from the airport.
Since take-offs and landings are forbidden in night time at FRA airport, jet noise is not a disturbing factor anyway.
The Club Lounge on 9th floor offered food and drinks throughout the day. Nice. The hotel has a well equipped gym as well as a spa with steam bath, finnish sauna and relaxation area.
There are also some dining options like a buffet restaurant and a cuban bar for a drink in the evening with both smoking and non-smoking area.
Conclusion: For an overnight stay before or after a flight the Sheraton can be recommended, a club room is worth the higher rate.

Room Tip: A club room or tower room is worth the additional price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zf34bu8q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrTinoL, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Guten Tag zf34bu8q,

I appreciate that you took the time to summarize your recent stay. Thank you for the good score! Our Club floor services offer everything that distinguished travelers need. I am happy that you felt at home and had a nice time. Please come back soon – we would be delighted to see you soon again.

Thanks and best regards,

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A really good hotel, having all the facilities right into the hotel or in the near neighborhood (into the airport, a small city by itself). Great breakfast experience. Good fitness facility, free. The rooms are big enough (you'll appreciate this if you, previously, visited the hotels in London...). No internet into the room, 9 more EUR per day if you want it. The internet in the lobby is free for the hotel guests, but stops to be free immediately after check-out! Cleaning staff is too intrusive (at least mine was so), but the rooms are kept really clean. Pay attention at the minibar, they will always charge you. Ask them to check again.
It is quite a big hotel, you might need time to get comfortable into the maze.
Great hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrTinoL, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear D P,

It seems that you are a regular guest at our hotel. Thank you very much for your loyalty and of course also for the positive review that you posted. Our breakfast buffet is the largest in town and offers everything you need for a good start into the day. And Sheraton Fitness is our pride and joy because it really is a wonderful place to work out or relax. Internet is free for all guests in the lobby area where our exclusive Link@Sheraton work lounge is situated. There are various Internet packages at different prices available for use in the other areas of the hotel. I am sorry that the housekeeping staff disrupted you. We will shape up and improve that area of service. The minibars at our hotel have an electronic sensor that adds removed items automatically to the room bill.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!
Kind regards,

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is another of those efficient Airport Sheratons
But the room is so basic that it has nothing - empty mini bar, no coffee etc
And it can be a 1km walk to your room
If you land late in the night, it is not what you want but that comes with large hotels I guess - what can be fixed easily is to make the room and what it is stocked with more useful

Great at check in and check out - what we come to expect from Airport Sheratons

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVivekanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrTinoL, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear RVivekanand,

We were very happy to welcome you. Since our hotel is huge (one of the largest in Europe), it is not always possible to get a room close to the elevators. I hope you will excuse that. Your description leads me to the conclusion that you had a room with a fridge instead of a minibar. Our guest rooms feature different equipment, tailored to our guests’ requirements. Just let us know what your personal preferences are when you make your next booking and we will gladly provide you with a room that has all the items you need for a relaxing stay.

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Kind regards,

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Location is about the only thing this Sheraton has to offer. It is right outside of Terminal 1 at the Frankfurt airport. If you land in Terminal 2 (or leave from Terminal 2) take the shuttle bus to Terminal 1 and actually the bus stops right in front of the hotel. The public rooms are big but that's about it. There is no warmth or charm to welcome you. Same with the guest rooms. The lamps on our nightstands did not work, one needed a bulb the other had a short in it. You practically needed a hammer to make the toilet flush, needless to say there is little supervision of the rooms. There is a restaurant which has acceptable food but is far too expensive for what you get. There is a Hilton in the same location and you can be sure we will be there next time we need to stay at the Frankfurt Airport.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lasa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrTinoL, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Good day Lasa88,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel and posting your review on TripAdvisor. You were not entirely convinced of our service standards and we find that truly regrettable. I am sorry for the defective lamp in your room. That should have been repaired prior to your arrival. Please note that there are two restaurants at our hotel that offer a wide variety of meals at also very reasonable prices. And the food quality at both eateries is outstanding. We would be happy to welcome you again to our hotel and take care of creating a memorable stay for you next time.

Best regards,

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed on the club floor. The club is nice. The food and drink were good. The room and property itself are mediocre. The room is very, very antiseptic. The bathroom is outdated. The staff was not very knowledgeable about the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ualsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrTinoL, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello Ualsu,

Thank you for your review! I am glad that you enjoyed our Club floor and had a nice time in the Club lounge. The bathrooms in the Club rooms have actually been renovated two years ago. I guess it was just the design that did not find your approval. Will you soon stay with us again? We sincerely hope so.

Best regards,

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Apart from looking forward to a good night's sleep, I have never been excited about my stopovers at the Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel.In my previous stays there I have always found this gigantic hotel and it's guest rooms to be cold, impersonal lacking in warmth and colour. This last overnight stay on 3 December 2013 with my husband not only re-enforced my previous convictions but unfortunately with an addition of displeasure for what we got in relation to what we had paid for .We stayed in room 7002 which was very basic. Let me start with the decor which was monotone beige and very plain . The curtains, also in about the same colour as the walls looked as though they were ready for a change. The end of the right curtain near the wall was hanging off some hooks. In the bathroom the amenities provided looked cheap suitable for a 3 star hotel. As for soap, only 1 tiny piece was provided. Drainage for the wash basin was not good. This is apparent when the basin is filled full with water .I can only conclude that it must have been ages since the drainage pipe has been cleaned.The toilet bowl looked disgusting with unsightly brown stains in the far end of the bowl. Last but most inexcuseable was there was no facial tissue left in the box for use the next morning when it was urgently needed. I had to use toilet paper as a subsitute......how's that for the reputation of a 5 star hotel? A complaint was lodged with your house-keeping department before we checked out in the morning, for which the response was an offer of a free drink. Really!!!!
To the management of Sheraton I have this to say. That you have a captive market offering just good beds does not mean your Hotel can be complacent, arrogant and careless to the other needs of your guests . 5 star hotels have a high reputation to maintain.I can name you several hotels that are truly 5 star and I'd like to say that Sheraton Airport Hotel does not even come close to their standards.

Room Tip: Check to see if you have enough facial tissue in the box for use the next day for early departure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lotus_kun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrTinoL, Geschäftsführer at Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear lotus_kun,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel again. I am really sorry that you had to put up with some inconveniences during your stay. Please accept my apologies for the unpleasant moments we unfortunately created for you. I have already instructed our housekeeping staff to pay more attention to cleaning the bathrooms. That is of course one of the most important requirements for a pleasant stay. I am sure my staff meant well when they offered you a free drink by way of an apology. Regrettably, you had the impression that our hotel does not offer the high standard of service to be expected from a first-class hotel. I hope that you will give us soon another chance to show you that our hotel is indeed a place worthwhile staying at.

Yours faithfully,

Tino Linder
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.9 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#43 of 270 in Frankfurt
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
5.6 mi away
InterContinental Frankfurt
InterContinental Frankfurt
#35 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center

Address: Hugo-Eckener-Ring 15 | Rhein Main Airport, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#23 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#24 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#43 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £78 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center 5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, upscale hotel at the top location of Frankfurt International Airport This well-established first class hotel has a perfect location: right at Frankfurt International Airport with connection to the freeways A3 and A5, long-distance and regional railway stations as well as suburban train station. The hotel in Frankfurt offers 1008 comfortable rooms and suites, the exclusive Sheraton Club Lounge, two restaurants, one cafe, two bars, two fitness centers and business center. Meetings, conferences, conventions or galas find the ideal framework and the best possible service at the Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center. 60 Banquet and meeting rooms are available for meetings of all types and sizes. Events from two to 1200 persons are organized with style and innovation to turn every occasion into a special event. The event center SkyLoft impresses with its refined concept of space on two floors, with avant-garde interior design and innovative conference technology. It has never been easier to meet with colleagues, friends and family. The restaurants Flavors and Taverne provide lavish comfort. Specialties from around the world but also regional delicacies are offered on the menus. At the bars Lemons & Limes or Davidoff Lounge, guests can let the evening fade away in a relaxed atmosphere. And in the cafe The Glass House, one can enjoy snacks and drinks during the day while watching the hustle and bustle of the lively lobby. Here is the central meeting point of the hotel - a place of global encounters. Sports buffs will feel at home at the Sheraton Fitness gym. In this modern fitness area (400 m²), equipped with the latest cardio equipment, training is fun and adds variety to the everyday life. Sauna, steam bath, massage facilities and a hairdresser top off the hotel's wellness facilities. Parking available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Frankfurt Hotel
Frankfurt Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing