We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Ranked #20 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersGold level
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“First class.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived dishevelled and disoriented at Frankfurt International at 6am, after 25 hours' travel. We arranged for an airport pick-up from the hotel and were collected at the arrival gates by a chauffeur, then driven 15 minutes to the hotel where we were greeted warmly by all the staff we encountered.
We stayed in the Junior Suite which was beautifully appointed and worth every cent. The magic lay in the details—a television mounted above the electronically controlled bath, complete with waterproof controller. Spotless floors and leather trimming throughout. A walk-in robe with motion-sensing lighting. Fresh fruit with chocolate fondue in the evenings. A handbook to Frankfurt written specifically for the Frankfurter Hof guest.
In the rest of the hotel, facilities were first rate. There was a library, cigar lounge, enormous spa, and lots of nooks and lounges to escape to. The hotel was exceptionally busy while we were there yet it never felt crowded or impersonal. The author's bar is a must-do, and the pulled pork sandwich at Oscar's is divine.
We visited with our toddler, and staff made all of us feel at home—our toddler was greeted personally by staff and given lots of attention while dining and moving about the facilities, something we appreciated as this isn't always the case in establishments of this calibre, where in our experience very young children are sometimes frowned upon.
Wifi and working space was second to none—the hotel really understands the need to check up on work without losing a sense of being at leisure. The writing desk in the room was well-lit by the window, with comfortable chair and phone within reach, and all lounges on the ground floor offered a myriad of other options for a quiet place to work if tapping away at the laptop and making calls proved too intrusive for the rest of the family.
The Spa was disappointing—staff were too laidback and seemed to assume we would know where to go/what to do, which made us feel awkward. Having a male masseuse was a little disconcerting for the wife without any forewarning, and the lady doing the facial was friendly but a little abrupt when the session ended—we didn't realise she was done until she popped her head back in the room and whispered crossly that the spa would close in 10 minutes (we had a late appointment). It's a great service for guests not wishing to leave the hotel, but personally we'll be looking offsite next time for a more professional experience.
Room service was the best we'd ever had. Food was served hot on tables with a full dinner service, and it was incredibly good, but we wished the attendants kept their voices down in our private space and didn't knock so loud—especially with our toddler asleep.
The only real complaint we have is that housekeeping and laundry staff don't seem well-trained in dealing with guests over the phone—housekeeping were surly and unhelpful when we requested an iron and laundry staff were downright rude when we asked why our laundry still wasn't returned to us by Sunday night after it was handed in on Friday morning. Laundry isn't done on Saturdays and Sundays, but handing it on Friday morning should have meant it be returned Friday night. We had to phone back twice before the laundry was finally returned—still dirty—so that we could pack in time for us to move on to our next destination.
Overall, a five star hotel with four and a half star service. We will return!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was really special, and worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CNS1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
Dear CNS1118,

Thank you for your kind feedback and praise which is much appreciated. Nevertheless please do accepüt my apolofies for the lack of service experienced with our housekeeping. Please be assured that we understand your comments as an opportunity to improve on our very high standards.

We all here look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    459
    195
    70
    43
See reviews for
248
576
120
671
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt Am Main
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

our first stay in a five star hotel and the wow factor got us straight away the outside looks every inch five star, inside is just stunning too marble floors , walls ,polished brass ,polished dark woods, crystal lighting. The staff were very smart and very and polite too always willing to help . up in the bedroom it was just as fine . a good large room bright and clean with a queen size bed, mini bar , safe ,everything you need for a great stay just to much to mention , the bath/shower room was again bright and all marble with nice extras like his&hers towels and dressing gowns with slippers ,the only downside is its to expensive to eat in here but you will find with a few minutes walk to numerous cafes the food they serve is as good as 5 star in my book, if you plan to stay in Frankfurt try this place we loved it :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Robert W, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant stay. The staff will be happy to hear your kind words. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We've stayed in a suite just a night before an intercontinental flight from Frankfurt. Though there was a lot of room, there was just no really warm feeling to it. The bathroom was clean and everything but nothing modern or special, just functional (and probably once expensive). in other hotels of this category you will often feel at home rather than in a hotel, here you clearly feel in a hotel. The staff at the front desk isn't very friendly, though concierge and bell service make this up. The elevators are small and slow and without air conditioning. The restaurant Oscar's is just great and above all, the hotel has probably the best location in all Frankfurt, you are only a 5 min foot walk away from the walking zone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sju86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear sju86, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry, that we couldn’t fulfill your expectations according to our room accommodation. The Concierge and bell service staff will be happy to hear your kind words. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawalli, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay, until my cross bag with my wallet was stolen while I was sitting at the hotel's side walk cafe.
it seems the thief knew that there wasn't any security cameras on the side walk.

i hope the management would fit security cameras on the side walk to protect their guests.

Room Tip: choose the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear izz01, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad to hear, that you had a pleasant stay. And we are very sorry, that your wallet was stolen while sitting in the Oscar’s. Since security is very important to us, we will discuss your mentioned point with the cameras internally. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I love this hotel. it was centrally located, exceptionally clean with the friendliest staff. We emAiled them to see if we could check in early and they swiftly replied saying that they would try their best. Once we arrived at hotel, they informed us that our room was ready. The room was bright, spacious with an extra large bed.

This hotel was the location of my engagement to my gorgeous boyfriend Mike. They delivered a cake to the room with no extra cost.

I would advise anyone to stay here. It s a little pricey but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for possible upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Ann M, congratulations on your engagement. Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we are happy that you had such a tremendous stay with us. We hope to welcome you and your husband again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Wonderful experience. Old world charm, great room service, lovely staff. Close to wonderful shops, safe for a woman traveling alone and easy access via a taxi to the airport. Although it was a short stay ... Dinner and breakfast were lovely. Top notch experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Megan1965, thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Also the staff will be happy to hear your kind words. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We loved everything about the hotel. It is a very classy, centrally located hotel with an excellent spread for breakfast. However, we could not understand how they could charge nearly 20 euro per day per device when the room rate was not cheap and didn't include breakfast. Therefore, if a couple were travelling with a smartphone each and one iPad, they could be up for an extra 60 euro per day for Internet access. The English version of the log in acceptance had the terms and conditions in German.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronicamustang2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear HappyTravelerl, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay. The mentioned internet problem is not solvable at the moment, but already in development. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#4 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Roomers
#12 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#3 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Property: Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Address: Am Kaiserplatz 1 - 7, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof is located in the heart of the city in middle of the historic, financial district, near the cathedral where the emperor's coronation once took place. Our hotel attracts global travellers who are as unique as our 303 luxurious rooms. Choose from traditional or modern decor; the extravagant and timeless elegance of the interior fulfils even the most sophisticated desires of our guests. In the morning we welcome you to one of the best breakfasts in the city, with exquisite delicacies served in our "Hofgarten" restaurant. The "Autorenbar" invites you to join us for a royal afternoon tea, before it becomes an evening hotspot in the Main-metropolis serving a choice of select spirits. Spoil your senses by choosing to dine at our Michelin starred restaurant Francais or our iconic restaurant OSCAR*S. Experience the largest SPA in Frankfurt where effortless luxury, creativity, and the art of well-being are combined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Steigenberger AG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Frankfurt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing