We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Ranked #19 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A great hotel located near shopping, good restaurants, and sights. We stayed here for only one night after a long flight and were upgraded to a larger room. The room was clean and nicely decorated as well as being very large. It had a walk-in closet and a large bathroom. The main areas of the hotel are very charming and it is worthwhile spending some time walking around the hotel. We did not eat at the hotel but there is an outdoor dining area that looks very inviting. The concierge was extremely helpful as he assisted us in finding a rental car after our car reservation was given away (avoid Sixt).

A couple of negatives: they charge WIFI fee and breakfast is not included in the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Van-Coffeecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Van-Coffeecat, thank you for your feedback about our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked the room so much. The Concierge will be glad to hear your kind words. The mentioned internet problem is not solvable at the moment, but already in development. Our pricing is positioned to comparable hotels in the region. We are sorry, if we didn’t fulfill your expectations according to this point. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

A great Hotel in such a good location!
This hotel has it all; the old charm with the new technologies: A good coffee maker, an electric tea pot, a well design nice modern bath, the best shower I have ever had! I even took the name of the faucet!
Walking distance to the Romer at the river and also very close to the shopping areas.
Lots of good choices to eat in the surrounding area… including a very nice Japanese food restaurant in the Hotel. The concierge was always available and very helpful, although the night shift guy was always in a rush; so it was not so easy to get the advice.
I will definitely go back to this lovely city and Hotel.

Room Tip: My room was facing the street but I did not have any noise and enjoyed the view of the nice coffee s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mafaldita18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Mafaldita 18, thank you for your great feedback about our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had such a tremendous stay and liked the room so much. The Concierge will be happy to hear your kind words. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed in the hotel a number of times over the last few years while on business in Frankfurt. The hotel is located downtown, in the middle of the financial district. Classical building, efficient, consistent service, spacious rooms but overall a bit dull. Hotel restaurant with an outdoor patio makes for a pleasant dining experience, weather permitting. Easy walking distance to majority of points of interest. Not exactly a top choice worldwide but happy to stay there again if in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear LBR58, thank you for your evaluation of our hotel. We are glad to hear, that you had such pleasant stays with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel looks good in condition and location! I have had a business trip and stay 3 nights in this hotel in Frankfurt and 2 nights before in Luxembourg. I felt completely different between two hotel with "5 stars" rating! This hotel is not generous like usual 5 stars hotel! They limited you with amenities in bath room such as towel. They charged you extra with wifi or even drinking water in room! At the period of staying, it rained quite often, hotel just let you borrow the umbrella and always ask it back when the concierge saw you got back in again! It was quite unpracticed and embarrassed. For overall, I think one could find better services in the 5 stars hotels with this rate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oradac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear oradac, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you couldn’t completely enjoy your stay with us. If you would like to have an extra towel in your room during your next stay, please just let us know when booking or while your check-in and we’ll be happy to do so. The mentioned internet problem is already in development. We understand that the asking back for the umbrella surprised you, but the Concierge just did this out of courtesy so you don’t have umbrellas lying around in your room. We hope to welcome you again soon and totally convince you of our services then. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed in this Hotel several times. The rooms were old. I reserved deluxe room and when I get there they upgraded me to Superior new renovated room. The room was very good and everything was brand new. Check in and check out was very fast and easy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cihan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Cihan K, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great stay and liked the new rooms so much. We will be happy to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Absolutely loved staying at this property. Old-world charm, luxury, perfect location and excellent service. The hotel's location is unbeatable. Walking distance to just about everywhere. Extremely professional and friendly service. They aim to please and will try to help you where they can. We had three rooms, 2 superior and 1 deluxe. The superiors were a good size and the deluxe was just beautiful. The beds are incredibly comfortable. The breakfast was excellent but the omelette chef extremely unfriendly. He was actually the only unfriendly person we encountered during our stay. Fantastic café trottoir. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear atmcc, thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had such a tremendous stay and liked our rooms so much. The staff will be happy to hear your kind words. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived dishevelled and disoriented at Frankfurt International at 6am, after 25 hours' travel. We arranged for an airport pick-up from the hotel and were collected at the arrival gates by a chauffeur, then driven 15 minutes to the hotel where we were greeted warmly by all the staff we encountered.
We stayed in the Junior Suite which was beautifully appointed and worth every cent. The magic lay in the details—a television mounted above the electronically controlled bath, complete with waterproof controller. Spotless floors and leather trimming throughout. A walk-in robe with motion-sensing lighting. Fresh fruit with chocolate fondue in the evenings. A handbook to Frankfurt written specifically for the Frankfurter Hof guest.
In the rest of the hotel, facilities were first rate. There was a library, cigar lounge, enormous spa, and lots of nooks and lounges to escape to. The hotel was exceptionally busy while we were there yet it never felt crowded or impersonal. The author's bar is a must-do, and the pulled pork sandwich at Oscar's is divine.
We visited with our toddler, and staff made all of us feel at home—our toddler was greeted personally by staff and given lots of attention while dining and moving about the facilities, something we appreciated as this isn't always the case in establishments of this calibre, where in our experience very young children are sometimes frowned upon.
Wifi and working space was second to none—the hotel really understands the need to check up on work without losing a sense of being at leisure. The writing desk in the room was well-lit by the window, with comfortable chair and phone within reach, and all lounges on the ground floor offered a myriad of other options for a quiet place to work if tapping away at the laptop and making calls proved too intrusive for the rest of the family.
The Spa was disappointing—staff were too laidback and seemed to assume we would know where to go/what to do, which made us feel awkward. Having a male masseuse was a little disconcerting for the wife without any forewarning, and the lady doing the facial was friendly but a little abrupt when the session ended—we didn't realise she was done until she popped her head back in the room and whispered crossly that the spa would close in 10 minutes (we had a late appointment). It's a great service for guests not wishing to leave the hotel, but personally we'll be looking offsite next time for a more professional experience.
Room service was the best we'd ever had. Food was served hot on tables with a full dinner service, and it was incredibly good, but we wished the attendants kept their voices down in our private space and didn't knock so loud—especially with our toddler asleep.
The only real complaint we have is that housekeeping and laundry staff don't seem well-trained in dealing with guests over the phone—housekeeping were surly and unhelpful when we requested an iron and laundry staff were downright rude when we asked why our laundry still wasn't returned to us by Sunday night after it was handed in on Friday morning. Laundry isn't done on Saturdays and Sundays, but handing it on Friday morning should have meant it be returned Friday night. We had to phone back twice before the laundry was finally returned—still dirty—so that we could pack in time for us to move on to our next destination.
Overall, a five star hotel with four and a half star service. We will return!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was really special, and worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CNS1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

Dear CNS1118,

Thank you for your kind feedback and praise which is much appreciated. Nevertheless please do accepüt my apolofies for the lack of service experienced with our housekeeping. Please be assured that we understand your comments as an opportunity to improve on our very high standards.

We all here look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#5 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,276 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,386 reviews
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#3 of 271 in Frankfurt
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#13 of 271 in Frankfurt
929 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#10 of 271 in Frankfurt
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Address: Am Kaiserplatz, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £148 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof is located in the heart of the city in middle of the historic, financial district, near the cathedral where the emperor's coronation once took place. Our hotel attracts global travellers who are as unique as our 303 luxurious rooms. Choose from traditional or modern decor; the extravagant and timeless elegance of the interior fulfils even the most sophisticated desires of our guests. In the morning we welcome you to one of the best breakfasts in the city, with exquisite delicacies served in our "Hofgarten" restaurant. The "Autorenbar" invites you to join us for a royal afternoon tea, before it becomes an evening hotspot in the Main-metropolis serving a choice of select spirits. Spoil your senses by choosing to dine at our Michelin starred restaurant Francais or our iconic restaurant OSCAR*S. Experience the largest SPA in Frankfurt where effortless luxury, creativity, and the art of well-being are combined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Frankfurt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing