We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“€500 euros a night and no iron, then attitude from the staff - get real”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Ranked #19 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Says it all above very expensive, I am a business traveller and expect an iron . Told no iron available with attitude , they need to get over themselves and provide basic services . I expect soooo much more for €500 a night . Also €30 for 3 shrimp and a handful of pasta - one frequent traveller that won't be frequenting this place

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Simon T,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to read of your unsatisfactory experience. Please rest assured that we have addressed the iron issue with the respective department in order to avoid any repetition. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Armin Schröcker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here in late September. The front desk service was horrible, and we were even refused free WIFI for 2 items, just one per room is allowed even though we paid for a double room with 2 occupants. Concierge service was uneven in quality. The hotel regrettably has a smoking lounge in the lobby which drifts up the stairs throughout the entire hotel, including our non-smoking 4th floor. The room was not made up in a timely manner (after 4 pm) and turn down service was never on time. There are only 2 elevators which is not adequate for such a large operation. Curtains in room did not close easily. The luggage area is not well secured. This is not a charming old world hotel. Only the facade is old. The breakfast was OK, but ingredients were not top notch. Overall it's far too expensive. You'd be foolish to spend the kind of money you have to spend to stay in a hotel with such poor facilities/service.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jere F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Jere F,
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to read of your unsatisfactory experience and we apologize for the belated housekeeping service. However, we want to point out that the luggage of our guests is stored in a locked luggage room with only staff access. We also do have 3 guest elevators actually. We enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.
Kind regards,
Armin Schröcker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed two nights in mid September. This is my first time to stay. My regular hotel in FF was Hilton. However I wanted to change this time and my decision was great. Hoptel location is great . Just a few minutes walk from metro station, Also shopping street and Romer square are in walking distance.
Most of all reatuarnatsm Francaise, Oscar and even Cigar bar are great, it's real presitige of European Gourmet and atmosphere. Upgraded spa and sauna, I used only sauna, is a bonus.
Two nights were too short to fully enjoy such nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DustineSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

Dear DustineSeoul,

Reading your review about the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof as your best hotel in Frankfurt makes us proud and we are very happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for this beautiful posting.

Looking forward to your return I remain.

With kind regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Fantastic experience, we were there for 4 nights in mid September 2013. Close to everything and not in seedy area I.e the main train station. Service is fantastic, we arrived at 7.30am and were given an early check in. Nothing was a problem.

Room Tip: We just had a standard double room and the room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 803cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Cathy R, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had a fantastic time staying at the Steigenberger property in Frankfurt! It is very traditional and classic. The rooms are great and we got upgraded to a deluxe room which really made a difference, it has a fantastic walk in closet and a huge bathroom! The breakfast was lovely and when requesting a late check out (due to a late night flight) they offered us the room until 6pm which made it even better for the weekend with a friend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Kayleigh H, thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel. We are happy that you had such a tremendous stay and liked our rooms so much. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

After a early arrival I got a large nice refurbished room on the top floor. A coffee machine with several capsules is always welcome. I had a dinner in the restaurant Oscar, nice traditional menu, I also had a fantastic breakfast buffet. Nice and friendly staff.
I will recommend this hotel, close to public communication and city center.

Room Tip: I can recommend room 555
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrondHanstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear TrondHanstad, thank you for your great feedback about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I want basically to repeat what I wrote at title of the review. Certainly this is a very centrally located hotel with old, nicely renovated, buldings and much character. And the rooms are fine, as you can expect from such an hotel and its prices, which are not exactly budget prices. But some "hospitality gestures", like complimentary fruits or a bottle of water would not ruined them; nor free internet, at least in the public spaces.... Moreover, why not have in the room some coffee making facilities ? Oh, and if your offered price mentions "free spa access" you would better inquire about the meaning...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Haris55, thank you for your feedback about our hotel. We are sorry, that you couldn’t fully enjoy your stay with us. Our prices are positioned to comparable hotels in the region. We are sorry, if we didn’t fulfill your expectations according to this point. The mentioned internet problem is already in development. If you would like to have the opportunity to make coffee or tea in your room you might want to book our newly renovated Grand Deluxe rooms during your next stay. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#5 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,277 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,388 reviews
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#3 of 271 in Frankfurt
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#13 of 271 in Frankfurt
930 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#11 of 271 in Frankfurt
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Address: Am Kaiserplatz, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £145 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof is located in the heart of the city in middle of the historic, financial district, near the cathedral where the emperor's coronation once took place. Our hotel attracts global travellers who are as unique as our 303 luxurious rooms. Choose from traditional or modern decor; the extravagant and timeless elegance of the interior fulfils even the most sophisticated desires of our guests. In the morning we welcome you to one of the best breakfasts in the city, with exquisite delicacies served in our "Hofgarten" restaurant. The "Autorenbar" invites you to join us for a royal afternoon tea, before it becomes an evening hotspot in the Main-metropolis serving a choice of select spirits. Spoil your senses by choosing to dine at our Michelin starred restaurant Francais or our iconic restaurant OSCAR*S. Experience the largest SPA in Frankfurt where effortless luxury, creativity, and the art of well-being are combined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Frankfurt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing