We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THIS HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Ranked #20 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS HOTEL!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I felt like ripped off. Just expensive in my experience. I had to call each time for iron, iron board, ice bucket etc but the grumpy staff showed some attitude. It's SUCH OUTDATED and need SERIOUS renovation; shutting down for a few years to get this thing done all over again. Felt like I was in kindergarten in 70s. Very old noisy CRT TV and very dysfunctional shower. All the restaurants I got referred from concierge was very much not my cup of tea either. I felt like discriminated from the receptionist as she literally threw back the credit card. The most impressive thing in this hotel is the toilet downstairs. Flawlessly clean and all marble decorated. Please feel free to come and enjoy this public toilet downstairs. Oh the location is the best in Frankfurt along with Jumeirah Frankfurt Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear B J
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to read of your unsatisfactory experience; even more as we have done an extensive renovation program of all rooms in the last two years. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Frankfurter Hof.
Kind regards,
Armin Schröcker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    473
    201
    72
    46
See reviews for
252
597
121
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harvard, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A final stage in celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary included a stay at the Frankfurter Hof. We were warmly greeted by the Concierge Herr Jergen Carl who recognized us although our last time in Frankfurt was12 years ago!

As usual, the service was impeccable and always 'top drawer'. We had several special needs since we had been travelling for three weeks including a river cruise up the Elbe River. The staff was able to accommodate us on everything and two days later, we were 'back on the road' on our final leg of our journey home in Boston.

Thank you all at that wonderful place in Frankfurt, the Frankfurter Hof.

Mr. and Mrs. Joseph R. Theriault, Harvard, Massachusetts, USA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRTTheriault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
Dear JRTTheriault,

Thank you for your beautiful posting on this site. The whole team and I are very happy that you fully enjoyed your stay in celebration of your 50th Wedding Anniversary.

We alle here look forward to welcoming your wife and you back soon.

Until then I remain with kind regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have been to this hotel 10 times over the past year. This was my worst experience as I was in the older wing, looking over an atrium roof, which does not compare at all with the new rooms. This was the first time I have been in the older wing since the new section opened. It is like two hotel categories in the same building.

Room Tip: As for the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Al M,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We are, on the one hand, very sorry to read that your room did not meet your expectations this time, and on the other hand, we are happy to hear that you like our newly renovated Grand Deluxe room category. For your next stay, please contact us directly and ask for a Grand Deluxe room. Looking forward to welcoming you back at your favorite hotel very soon again we remain,
with kind regards,
Armin Schröcker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It was my first stay at this hotel .. but i guess it will not be my last .. a great operation with lots to offer .. The food program was amazing .. the Turkish hammam is a must visit .. and the Barber is a unique touch

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1KJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
Dear 1KJ2013,

Thank you for your kind feedback. The whole team and I are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof and I will gladly pass on your compliments to our Barber.

Looking forward to your return I remain.

With kind regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Says it all above very expensive, I am a business traveller and expect an iron . Told no iron available with attitude , they need to get over themselves and provide basic services . I expect soooo much more for €500 a night . Also €30 for 3 shrimp and a handful of pasta - one frequent traveller that won't be frequenting this place

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Simon T,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to read of your unsatisfactory experience. Please rest assured that we have addressed the iron issue with the respective department in order to avoid any repetition. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Armin Schröcker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here in late September. The front desk service was horrible, and we were even refused free WIFI for 2 items, just one per room is allowed even though we paid for a double room with 2 occupants. Concierge service was uneven in quality. The hotel regrettably has a smoking lounge in the lobby which drifts up the stairs throughout the entire hotel, including our non-smoking 4th floor. The room was not made up in a timely manner (after 4 pm) and turn down service was never on time. There are only 2 elevators which is not adequate for such a large operation. Curtains in room did not close easily. The luggage area is not well secured. This is not a charming old world hotel. Only the facade is old. The breakfast was OK, but ingredients were not top notch. Overall it's far too expensive. You'd be foolish to spend the kind of money you have to spend to stay in a hotel with such poor facilities/service.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jere F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Jere F,
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to read of your unsatisfactory experience and we apologize for the belated housekeeping service. However, we want to point out that the luggage of our guests is stored in a locked luggage room with only staff access. We also do have 3 guest elevators actually. We enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.
Kind regards,
Armin Schröcker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed two nights in mid September. This is my first time to stay. My regular hotel in FF was Hilton. However I wanted to change this time and my decision was great. Hoptel location is great . Just a few minutes walk from metro station, Also shopping street and Romer square are in walking distance.
Most of all reatuarnatsm Francaise, Oscar and even Cigar bar are great, it's real presitige of European Gourmet and atmosphere. Upgraded spa and sauna, I used only sauna, is a bonus.
Two nights were too short to fully enjoy such nice place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustineSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
Dear DustineSeoul,

Reading your review about the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof as your best hotel in Frankfurt makes us proud and we are very happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for this beautiful posting.

Looking forward to your return I remain.

With kind regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,314 reviews
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#3 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#4 of 269 in Frankfurt
537 reviews
Roomers
#13 of 269 in Frankfurt
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Property: Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Address: Am Kaiserplatz 1 - 7, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof is located in the heart of the city in middle of the historic, financial district, near the cathedral where the emperor's coronation once took place. Our hotel attracts global travellers who are as unique as our 303 luxurious rooms. Choose from traditional or modern decor; the extravagant and timeless elegance of the interior fulfils even the most sophisticated desires of our guests. In the morning we welcome you to one of the best breakfasts in the city, with exquisite delicacies served in our "Hofgarten" restaurant. The "Autorenbar" invites you to join us for a royal afternoon tea, before it becomes an evening hotspot in the Main-metropolis serving a choice of select spirits. Spoil your senses by choosing to dine at our Michelin starred restaurant Francais or our iconic restaurant OSCAR*S. Experience the largest SPA in Frankfurt where effortless luxury, creativity, and the art of well-being are combined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Frankfurt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing