We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel to celebrate the holidays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Ranked #19 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof oozes character every day of the year but during the hoiiday season it truly shines. You couldn't help but smile when viewing the Christmas trees, wreaths, ornaments and other decorations. There was even a small log chalet, similar to a Swiss Stuva, set up outside the entrance serving traditional German fare and hot toddies. The food was not exceptional but held a fun atmosphere.

Our junior suite was in the newly renovated section of the hotel and was absolutely amazing. I would have been happy to stay in the room during our entire visit because of its opulence. Plush fabrics, comfy bed, gorgeous bar area with a Nespresso machine, chaise lounge for relaxing, walk in closet and a vast marble bathroom with separate tub, large jetted shower, separate toilet room, large vanity area with 2 sinks and flat screen television. The hotel even provided a doggy bed and bowl for our small pooch, who always travels with us. A surcharge is added for bringing your pet but is well worth the cost.

We enjoyed cocktails, with snacks, in the lobby bar each evening and the staff were always attentive. The location for business or pleasure is perfect as the hotel is in the heart of the old town and financial district. I'm becoming a huge fan of the Steigenberger chain having now stayed here, in Vienna and Zurich. The hotel is expensive and charging for internet is almost archaic but I"m looking forward to trying another Steigenberger location soon!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear theWanderingPetal,

thank you very much for taking the time and writing such excellent feedback. Please allow me to refer to our free WiFi which we offer since January 1st this year. Our concierge will be delighted to give you an introduction during your next stay. We are glad that you liked our christmas decorations - as a matter of our own standards we try to improve this every year. Our log chalet will be open again this year. Please be informed that by now all our rooms are newly renovated. Your compliments regarding our staff will be passed on. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We liked everything. We stayed in Superior Room. Everything was perfect - the room, the service and the price was not expensive. Hotel staff was very polite and nice. Very helpful. Breakfasts are rather expensive - 34 euro per person. We didn't take it. But I suppose for this price it should be really great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YuliaZ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear YuliaZ1982,

thank you very much for taking the time and writing such cordially feedback. We are delighted to read that you did enjoy your stay. Indeed, our breakfast does get excellent feedback - maybe you might try it during another visit to Frankfurt. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof on business. It was superb. I was clearly in the newly renovated part of the hotel, as the room was modern and spacious with an excellent bathroom. Staff service was first rate (and all seemed to speak fluent English). I did not visit the restaurants, but the breakfast buffer had everything you could ask for (including eggs cooked to order). My only gripe was having to pay for Wifi, particularly per device. But that does not detract in a major way from what is otherwise a great hotel.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear 007Sydney,

thank you very much for giving us such very good feedback. Please be informed that by now all our rooms are renovated and satisfy the highest standards. Our staff continously receives training in a broad range of fields in order to make your stay an outstanding experience. Please allow me to refer to our free WiFi which we offer since January 1st this year. Our concierge will be delighted to give you an introduction during your next stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is really cosy and very good central location. I was there in December, so it was really Christmas feeling, even near one of entrances there was full of fir- trees and inside a big Christmas tress and decorations. Hotel staff was very polite and despite lack of personell in their conference centre, all probles was solved easily. Why I am not rating it 5 is because of the Internet! This was real mess for the conference. One thing that it costs 19.90 EUR PER DEVICE, but it also is not easily possible to get pre-paid, because when you get it for the conference member, you need to get those vouchers from the Guest relations office, which opens at 8.30, so if you need them earlier... BUT they promise to be it solved in 2014 when Internet will be complimentary or included in the room price. Because otherwise it is not accpetable for such level hotel. All the rest was good, breakfast is amazing, having champagne available for free!! The lunch offer was also very tasty and very well served.
If you like to feel a bit of previous century spirit and good service (except Internet), be sure you'll like it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristineDakstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear KristineDakstine,

thank you very much for taking the time and giving us such very good feedback. Our guest´s satisfaction is of utmost importance for us. Please allow me to refer to our free WiFi which we offer since January 1st this year. Our concierge will be delighted to give you an introduction during your next stay. We are glad that you liked our christmas decorations - as a matter of our own standards we try to improve this every year. Our log chalet will be open again this year. We will be glad to pass on your compliments regarding our staff. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Beautiful classic hotel in perfect location for all sights in Frankfurt. Appreciated the upgrade in celebration of our anniversary. Newly renovated room was very nice, although the view was not the best. But, who cared because we were there to see the city and enjoy the apfelwein! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouixC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear SouixC,

thank you very much for giving us such very good feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is a renowned hotel, rich with history and is surely a beautiful property. For that, I've given a "Very Good" rating. However, while this is one hotel, it can actually offer two very different experiences. IF you book a suite, or top caliber room, and, are in the NEW section, you'll enjoy your accommodations, which are lovely and most comfortable, while you should be prepared to pay for it (this is a luxury hotel and charges luxury hotel prices). And that is where the problem comes in. As if you book a regular room, you'll likely be given VERY subpar if not unacceptable accommodations, in the old section of the hotel, which will leave you disappointed if not far more than disappointed (maybe shocked). Expect spartan furnishings, and what I would call three star quality accommodations and not at all what you expect when booking a room at a luxury hotel of this caliber. Also, if you happen to stay over a Saturday night, you might also be quite upset to come down from breakfast in the morning, to see throngs of people waiting for tables, and be told you can either wait (30-45 minutes or more) or sit in what amounts to a lobby type area, where you will hardly receive service and will have to beg for coffee, juice and/or utensils. This is because the hotel takes non-guests and shoves them in for breakfast at a fee, while barely able to manage service for the guests (when the hotel is even close to full). So, you MUST make a reservation a day or two before, or you will be waiting forever. This is genuinely shameful and the hotel really needs to do something about as it is an affront to its guests. Overall, if you work the system, and are willing to pay, you can have a nice stay and again, it is a lovely hotel. If you don't have a game plan here however, you might walk out angry and/or downright disgusted at check-out!

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the new section only. If they will not guarantee this, book elsewhere unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topshelfplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear topshelfplease,

thank you very much for taking the time and for giving us such detailed feedback. Our guest´s satisfaction is of utmost importance for us. Please be informed that by now all our rooms are renovated and satisfy the highest standards. We asure that we understand your comments as an opportunity to improve on our very high standards. We will start a separate investigation regarding the breakfast situation mentioned. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon in order to convince you with a fully satisfying experience.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for a two days business/leisure trip to Frankfurt. Could not find a fault in product and service!
Had a very nice renovated room that did not leave anything to be desired. Housekeeping service was excellent and requests handled very fast and efficient.
Food at restaurant Oscar (did not try the other) very authentic and of exceptional quality. Perfect, friendly and confident service. Breakfast is as in all Grand Hotels with all items available and quick.
Bar Tender very knowledgeable at "Authors Bar".
Will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms. They are more expensive but worth the additional Euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thirteen_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear z_tromi,

thank you very much for taking the time and for giving us such detailed and very good feedback. Please be assured that your compliments will be passed on to our personel in the respective departments. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#5 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,327 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof - Hotel Frankfurt
Roomers
#15 of 269 in Frankfurt
971 reviews
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#38 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Address: Am Kaiserplatz, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £152 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof is located in the heart of the city in middle of the historic, financial district, near the cathedral where the emperor's coronation once took place. Our hotel attracts global travellers who are as unique as our 303 luxurious rooms. Choose from traditional or modern decor; the extravagant and timeless elegance of the interior fulfils even the most sophisticated desires of our guests. In the morning we welcome you to one of the best breakfasts in the city, with exquisite delicacies served in our "Hofgarten" restaurant. The "Autorenbar" invites you to join us for a royal afternoon tea, before it becomes an evening hotspot in the Main-metropolis serving a choice of select spirits. Spoil your senses by choosing to dine at our Michelin starred restaurant Francais or our iconic restaurant OSCAR*S. Experience the largest SPA in Frankfurt where effortless luxury, creativity, and the art of well-being are combined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Frankfurt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing