We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving hotel, still out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel
Ranked #91 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Improving hotel, still out of the way”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have stayed here several times when passing through Frankfurt. It is a convenient "airport hotel", about 10 minutes away from Frankfurt Flughafen, in a business park. Nothing at all in walking distance other than a few sad-looking restaurants. A taxi into Frankfurt center costs around €18-20. You can get the S-Bahn about a ten minute walk away, or take one of the infrequent street cars in front of the hotel to the S-Bahn station.

The hotel seems to cater to tour busses, military families, and business travelers, a slightly odd mix. The restaurant at breakfast feels like a busy train station, not much relaxation. The lobby can feel the same. Over the years, the rooms have been gradually improved. Wifi starts to become available, after years where they were the last hotel in Germany still on ISDN and eventually added hard-wire Internet to the rooms. The facilities have overall been given a face lift and the rooms are now pretty comfortable.

On my last stay, I got upgraded to a business suite of sorts, with a meeting table and desk in one room and the bed with another desk in the other. I never even set foot in the business room, but it was a nice perk, along with the usual SPG Gold benefits. The year I was SPG Platinum, this hotel gave me like six different benefits. Nice.

If it weren't for the out-of-the-way location, this would be my absolute go-to in the Frankfurt area. With a car, it is not so bad as a way station to other parts of Germany, and taxis are on-site otherwise.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms are pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erb162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebakre, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear Erb,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments regarding your stay at our Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and that our hotel is one of you favorites here in Frankfurt. Your kind comments were passed on to our whole team.

Regarding the location, our hotel is located between the airport, the city center and the fair ground. In front of the hotel you can directly catch a train in all directions. So you can reach all facilities in 10-15 minutes.

Dear Erb, again many thanks and we hope to welcome you again soon.

All the best,

Your Hotel Management Team
Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    243
    136
    29
    18
See reviews for
43
75
69
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip, review is as follows:-

Location:-
Roughly a 20 euro taxi ride from the airport the hotel is set in a business area just outside of the city. another 20 euro cab ride will get you to the heart of the cities shopping areas.. There is little in the immediate vicinity of the hotel that is of any interest.

Check In:-
Quick and efficient, there was no que. when I checked in to my room.

Bar:-
OK and functional, really just an open part of the large lobby area. Bar staff while friendly seemed to 'go missing' from time to time leaving you wondering where they were.

Restaurant:-
Food is good, and service is fine, but the prices are very expensive. 15 euros for a burger!

Room:-
This is where things really go wrong...
I had an 'executive' room on the 11th floor. The room was small and generally tired. Very dated decoration. Door seal was hanging off the door when I opened the door. Bathroom ok, quite clean but a faint smell of drains. Room was mostly clean with the exception of the base of the table which was very dirty. Old fashioned TV which surprisingly had no BBC news 24.. Layout of the room was strange, and it was near impossible to sit at the desk and see the TV at the same time. Blackout curtains don't really fit the windows. Balcony was nice with a view out over the extensive forest. You can also hear almost every plane take off from the airport.

In short the rooms badly need to be updated. currently they are not up to standard.

Summary:- Hotel is ok, but rooms let it down.
Would I stay again:- Perhaps, but I would look round for a hotel with better rooms first.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebakre, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear Markcu,

Thank you very much for choosing the Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Unfortunately you were not fully satisfied with the interior your room, but we hope that we have shown you that our friendliness and helpfullness of all our employees make the difference.

We hope you provide us with the possibility to welcome you again and we secure it already today our largest attention too.

Again thank you for your time and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Your Hotel Management Team
Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Very good hotel with friendly staff. Attractive prices for Frankfort. Quiet rooms. Breakfast was not included with our deal. Restaurant is expensive, though, and there are no other restaurants nearby. Free internet service in lobby, computers and wifi, but you pay for internet in your room. The hotel is in an outlying area of the city with no tourist sites nearby. The tram to center city is right out front. You get off at the first stop to connect to the train to the airport. This is probably our fault, but we thought they had an airport shuttle—they don’t. Being unfamiliar with German public transportation at the time, and not knowing how to get to the hotel (we got confusing directions over the phone), the trip to the hotel from the airport with all our luggage was a nightmare (a few days later, with the experience we had gained, it would have been a piece of cake—we got back to the airport, luggage and all, with no problem).

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EugeneVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebakre, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear Eugene,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

You are right, unfortuantely we do not offer any shuttle to the airport. During fair periods we offer a shuttle bus to the fair ground.
With the train from the airport it is only 2 stopps (10 minutes) to our hotel. You can take the train S8 or S9 and leave it at Frankfurt Niederrad.

We do hope that your traveling plans bring you back to Frankfurt and the Sheraton Congress Hotel.

With kind regards,

Your Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I was almost scared when the staff told me that i would not get an extension on the days mentioned for stay. However that was no surprising as the hotel is a good option for stay in the city centre. It is relatively high priced, but then you get what you pay for. All normal Sheraton features and some German excellence to add to it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suranasunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebakre, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Dear Suranasunil,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay. For your next visit, hopefully we are able to offer you all your requested nights.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Your Hotel Management Team
Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Put up by airline due to snow delay. Comfortable quiet beds, small rooms bit tight but had everything, efficient bathrooms. Super- expensive internet --a revenue center obviously. Fairly good public spaces, restaurant good generous buffet. Part of restaurant looked out on trees and greenery in back (snowery in our season).
Served its function well a overnight, if wanted to visit and tourist probably would prefer hotel not in industrial park.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke8842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebakre, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Luke,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you have had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

In addition to our high speed internet in our guest rooms we offer free wireless and also computers with free HSIA in our lobby at our Link(at)Sheraton.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Your Hotel Management Team
Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, FR
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I stayed here for two nights before flying back to the states and was rather unimpressed by this hotel. My stay wasn’t bad, I just wouldn’t bother to stay here again.

Good:
- Free upgrade for being an SPG member, not sure what that got me besides two free bottles of water. Room is much the same.
- Clean, comfortable room.
- Room in minibar for a few personal items from a grocery store.

Bad: Most of these are minor, but they add up.
- Uncomfortable bathrobe.
- Strange smell and dirty tile in sauna.
- Pool is cold but that’s okay with me, however the pool area is a joke compared to other Frankfurt hotels.
- Sparse room service menu (no fruit plate, really?)
- Horrid, useless in-room wifi. Ethernet doesn’t even work and is 19eur/day if it does.
- AC in room doesn’t work, stuck on full-blast heat. It’s December and 15F outside but I have the window open.
- No door or curtain on shower.
- Funky eggs at breakfast.

I don’t count the location against the property as I knew exactly where it was before I booked. There’s a tram line right out front that takes you to the S-Bahn and from there it’s five minutes to the airport or downtown.

However, of the hotels I’ve stayed at in this city and surrounding area (Hyatt Mainz, Sheraton Airport, this Sheraton) this is the one I’m least likely to return to.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryantStrasbourg_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebakre, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2010
Dear valued Guest from Strasbourg,

We would like to thank you for posting your feedback on your stay at our hotel on this website.

Unfortunately you have not been very satisfied with your stay. We are sorry to see that some points during your stay did not meet your expectations but we hope that we have shown you that our dedication to service and attention to detail make all the difference.

We are glad about your constructive feedback. Only with your ideas and suggestions we can permanently improve our services.

We hope you provide us with the possibility to welcome you again at the Sheraton Congress Hotel and we secure it already today our largest attention too.

We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

With kind regards,

Your Hotel Management Team
Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Just 10 minutes from the Frankfurt Airport, the Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel is a convenient and very comfortable hotel at a reasonable price. We made same day reservations for an overnight stay and found the room large, with a large closet, a great bathroom and very comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly. The bar in the lobby has a nice ambience and the food in the restaurant is plentiful and excellent. If ordering the schnitzel, two adults can easily share a plate! All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Cynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebakre, Manager at Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2010
Dear Steve and Cynthia,

Thank you very much for choosing the Sheraton Congress Hotel Frankfurt for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are delighted to hear that you have had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Best regards,

Your Hotel Management Team
Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Niederrad
Innside by Melia Frankfurt Niederrad
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy
Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy
#112 of 269 in Frankfurt
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niederrad
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
767 reviews
Innenstadt
Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel

Property: Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel
Address: Lyoner Str. 44-48, 60528 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Niederrad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#56 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel is set in greenery and has 396 modern rooms, swimming pool, sauna, 2 restaurants, a bar and 14 conference rooms. The rooms and suites feature elegant furniture in warm colours and fine fabrics, thus creating a very pleasant atmosphere.Well-being at its best awaits you in our spacious spa landscape. Switch off during an intensive workout on modern equipment in our newly designed Sheraton Fitness. Swim some laps in our generously sized pool. Leave everything behind and simply relax - either in our Finnish sauna or in the steam bath. We will be glad to arrange a time for you. Discover the numerous jogging paths in the municipal forest right on the doorstep or play to your heart's content on an 18-hole golf course in the adjacent golf club. Pamper yourself with a nice massage at the end. Smokers can enjoy a drink in the elegant Davidoff Lounge. And during summer time it is "Biergarten"time in the Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel.Let us spoil you with international and Bavarian a la carte specialties in our 2 elegant restaurants. Afterwards you are directly whisked to the bar and lounge 44 where you can sip a drink or a cocktail in a cosy atmosphere.Our nice summer terrace and the 14 banquet rooms are perfect for conferences and can seat up to 500 people. Set right by the town forest in the Frankfurt district of Niederrad, the hotel has a very good access to the motorway, the town centre and the international airport.The specially designed communal lounge area features contemporary technology like multiple Internet-enabled workstations with WLAN and laptop connectivity plus printing services. Comfortable seating, a plasma television, refreshments, magazines and games create an welcoming ambience.This meeting point is a cosy place for busy travellers! Parking available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Frankfurt
Frankfurt Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing