We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 not 5 star hotel close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Ranked #25 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“3 not 5 star hotel close to the airport”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

While Steigenberger might be be 5 star on paper it is definitely not a 5 star hotel. I have stayed here a number of times, old wing, new wing, and all of the rooms are sub par.

The main draw of this hotel is that it is reasonably close to the airport, with frequent shuttle service.

The bad:
- Rooms, while clean, are equipped with low quality, and dated (in the old wing) furniture
- Service is not as expected from a 5 star hotel
- Internet service is spotty at best
- Elevators for higher floors are limited and can take a long time (10+ minutes)

Overall if there are other options available close to the airport they would likely make for a better option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atomic1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear atomic1111;
Thank you for spending a few minutes in rating our hotel.
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel in Frankfurt offers 4 room categories at the moment;
Standard, Superior, Deluxe and Tower rooms.
The standard rooms are the oldest ones. They are equipped functionally and sufficient for one overnight. A part of it has been renovated already since they are not up to date anymore.
The renovated result is our superior rooms.
Our deluxe rooms do offer a comfortable mattress and a rain shower in a classic-elegant style. You can find a queen size bed and coffee/tea set in the room.
If you want have an exclusive option you can reserve a room or suite in our executive tower. We are sure 31/45 square meter and your own wellness bathroom will convince you.
The executive tower has two own elevators, independent from the main building.
By the way; we are happy to announce the internet will be free of charge beginning from next month and that all rooms are being equipped with flat screen TV.
It would be our pleasure to have you here again.
With best regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    1,199
    434
    164
    109
See reviews for
501
621
354
1,480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Room was small and dated, with a bulky but small-screened cathode ray TV with a poor picture. Had to switch rooms as the first one was an unpleasant-smelling smoking room. Dinner overpriced. Breakfast great though. Would have been 3* but they ignored the "leave the towel on the rail if you want to save the environment" card and replaced it anyway - one of my pet hates!!

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_and_G2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
N_and_G2013;
First of all we would like to say thanks for spending some minutes in rating your stay in our hotel and letting us know about what you liked and the things that did not meet your requirements.
We regret you have not been satisfied with the first room. Luckily our employees have been able to offer you a solution that hopefully convinced you. We would like to inform you that all TV devices are being replaced by flat screen TVs at the moment.
Your hint regard the contempt of our own standards is very important to us and has been forwarded immediately to the executive housekeeper. She will take care and train the cleaning staff again about this issue to make sure we follow our guest´s wishes and do not pollute the environment in addition.
You found our prices too expensive. Please note that these are usual in the surrounding area and in our category. The hotel offers 3 restaurants with different meals and prices.
We would be glad if we could give our welcome to you again.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here during a short stay in Frankfurt, I must say I was quiet disappointed as I was expecting a real 5 star hotel. The service was ok, the hotel didn't have concierge so the reception people were responsible for that - and the information given was not good at all. They also gave us wrong directions and didn't know the opening times of certain tourist attractions like the Main Tower. The hotel has comfortable rooms but very 3 star quality with old carpeting. There is also no free wi-fi and they charge internet per device used. The breakfast was great but the food at the lounge is horrible. All in all, it is not of 5 star quality as claimed

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudlyNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear ProudlyNA;
Thanks for spending some minutes and rating your stay at our hotel.
Unfortunately you did not have a 100 % satisfied visit here.
Due to unforeseeable reasons like short noticed illness it might happen that a member of the team is missing. The hotel would like to assure you the best service under the given circumstances.
You mentioned also the staff has not been able to give you all requested information you asked for. We are sorry you have not been served to your satisfaction. Our employees are being trained daily about wide ranging information like your requests. Please do understand in case there is a new person on board who is not familiarized with every issue. We do hope you received the answer after checking the opening times on the internet e.g.
The hotel offers 4 room categories at the moment. Please do not hesitate to book one room in the Executive Tower next time. You will find only 10 rooms per floor. Every room has a large desk and a very comfortable bed. These rooms have been renovated in 2007 and are well-preserved. Furthermore our standard category is being also renovated. Besides of the carpet all other contents have been completely replaced.
We are happy to announce that the internet will be gratis beginning from January 2014.
Whenever your travel plans should lead you back to Frankfurt we are looking forward to welcome you here.
Best regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

A very montern and convenient hotel located close to the airport suitable for business trips. The breakfast is the most completed I have ever tasted with tastes from around the world. The slow service and the charge for the room service are disadvantages....

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaTsavou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear VictoriaTsavou;
Thank you for evaluating our hotel on tripadvisor.
We are glad to find out you enjoyed your stay in overall.
Our generous breakfast buffet includes 12 different kinds of breakfast sandwiches that are delivered daily fresh baked. In addition, there are a rich and high quality selection of hot and cold dishes, fish dishes, 18 different teas, organic jams, Nutella, Actimel, Kombucha, fresh fruit, exotic, quality dairy products, cereals, and muesli etc. available. Besides coffee, we offer during the breakfast buffet also coffee specialties such as espresso, cappuccino or latte.
Unfortunately you were not satisfied with the room service. We would like to apologize for the slow service. Please be informed that our staff is doing his best to serve the guests as soon as possible.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again whenever your travel plans should lead you back to Frankfurt.
With kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

On a business trip to Frankfurt, I had a very hard time finding a decent and affordable hotel in downtown Frankfurt. Because of the convenience of the hotel shuttle and the quick train service from the airport to the Frankfurt main train station, I decided to stay at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel for my two-day stay. It was a good choice. The shuttle service is frequent and quick, and while the room was compact, it was clean and extremely comfortable. The bedding was wonderful - fantastic pillows and feather bed - I slept great even on my first night in Europe. I'm glad I was staying in the room by myself as the shower stall is exposed to the room and completely encased with clear glass. Still, I was in a single so perhaps in doubles you are afforded more privacy. For me, the biggest drawbacks of the hotel are the cost of the breakfast (which I skipped, as I can't justify paying so much), and the fact that there is no free wifi and even using the computers in the business center to check in online requires that you pay. I used the cheapest option - 17 cents per minute - to check in online, but really, for an airport hotel I expect complimentary online checkin service, as I have found in many other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Kathy M.;
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.
We are happy that the hotel turned out to be a good choice even if you originally wanted to stay in the city.
Our shuttle bus(ses) are operating 24 hours every 15 minutes (at night every 20 minutes) and are reaching the terminals within 10 minutes.
From there you can take the train to the city center which is distant roughly 15 minutes. One hint: train tickets are available at our front desk.
The room you rented was one of our new renovated rooms, which was “standard” category before and is “superior” category now. Only the single rooms have the integrated shower with glass. In the double rooms of this category you will also find a particular bathroom design, but it allows more privacy.
Our breakfast buffet for 28 EUR (or 21 EUR with early booking discount) is very generous. Just like you, you can enjoy also a lighter a la carte breakfast served in our Bistro.
We are happy to announce the internet will be free of charge beginning from January 2014 for our guests.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
With best regards
Francesca Sambito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Check in and checkout were done by one emplyee whilst 5 othersstood about chatting whilst customers stood ina que for up to 15minutes. I asked for a feedback form and was aked whatI wanted it ofr? they then could not find one.I askedfor the Hotel managers email addresswhich they "could not hand out to clients".
Expensive room service which was cold when it arrived. Minibar locked. Generally surly service and staff who clearly could not be bothered. When I handed my coat and bag in for storage whilst attending a meeting after check out I was told to bring it round the back myself! When I picked it up I did not have to provide any evidence that I was the owner.

A tany price this hotel is a massive dissapointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear nick r.;
We would like to thank you for taking the time and let us know about your experience in our hotel. Guest’s feedbacks are important to us to find out in case we failed and make the appropriate adjustments immediately.
Do you know the phrase “when it rains, it pours”? This is what happened in your case.
We have forwarded your evaluation to the front office manager. The missteps will be discussed in their daily trainings for an improvement of the service. The same has been arranged regarding the room service.
We would be very glad if you will return to our hotel again by any occasion so that we can prove our usual service to you.
With best regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed in the executive tower - 9th floor - you could not hear the planes which was good for an airport hotel. However it is annoying when I had to pay 38 Euros for 3 days of Wifi access when the room was already around several hundred Euro's per night.

The breakfast was ok, but avoid the croissants...like rock....

Rooms were clean - No Baths though - only showers.

Staff friendly enough. Could be pretty much any generic hotel, anywhere in the world....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Chas S.;
Thank you for the rating of our hotel on tripadvisor.
We are glad to read you had an enjoyable stay in the executive tower. The hotel offers the highest soundproofing compared to others in the surrounding area. This is important to afford an undisturbed sleep and visit in overall.
We are happy to let you know that the internet will be free of charge beginning from January 2014.
Our breakfast is available daily from 6.30 to 10.00 a.m. It is our primary goal to offer a top quality in food and service. Therefore we have forwarded your hint to the food manager. He will take care about the issue and have a look in the future to assure a satisfying standard.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Address: Unterschweinstiege 16, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#5 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#17 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#20 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#32 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt! The conference and business hotel with 570 rooms and 40 conference rooms at the Frankfurt Airport is the first choice address when it comes to business events and offers everything to make meetings, conferences, banquets, congresses or events a success. Only four minutes from Frankfurt Airport and reachable every 20 minutes with the free 24 hours Express-Airport-Shuttle, an oasis full of friendliness, professionalism and cosiness with a beautiful view into nature is awaiting you. Here, recreation and relaxation have top priority: before or after the conference, in one of the 40 conference rooms with a total of 2000 square metres on level-access flooring, in our four restaurants, on the summer terraces, in the pool with a panoramic view or at the catering. WiFi with a bandwidth of up to 256 KB/s is free for guests in all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Frankfurt
Hotel Steigenberger Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing