We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Ranked #26 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel because we missed our connecting flight. We were very impressed by the customer service and the quality of the rooms. Breakfast was also very good. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was a bit expensive but good quality.

The hotel was paid directly by our airline so I don't know how expensive this place actually is.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whoismikejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear whoismikejones;
Thank you very much for your kind words referring to your stay at our hotel.
It is our first goal to offer a comfortable stay to our valuable guests. We are glad if we achieve our intention especially in unhappy cases like yours. A missed flight puts a person in an unpleasant situation. If our staff has been able to afford a comfortable stay in spite of the given circumstances we have been successfully.
We do hope to welcome you again someday at any other opportunity.
Best regards to London
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,330 - 1,336 of 3,474 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt am Main, Germany in August 2012. We arrived around 11 am to this very clean modern hotel. Took their shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel. You could take a taxi or maybe even walk over to the hotel from the airport. The hotel clerk spoke excellent English and was able to get us into our room quickly so that we could take a quick nap to help us get over our jet-lag prior to walking around the hotel grounds which are adjacent to a forest area with walking paths. We elected to stay in their superior room (a bit more expensive) but was told it was their newest room style and were very happy we did so. Clean, non-smoking and very quiet room with beautiful bathroom! Had an excellent hot buffet breakfast with a very good selection of breakfast items included in the room price.
We decided to eat dinner at their nearby Restaurant Unterschweinstiege. A 230 old Forester home with excellent food. We selected their buffet. You can eat inside or outside.

Room Tip: Request their superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaniebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear joaniebell;
Thank you very much for your rating and compliments on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to find out you had a good stay during the summertime over here.
Apart from the restaurant “Unterschweinstiege” you can find our fine dining restaurant “Faces” which serves exceptional food creations, and our lobby bar “Con.nex.ion” where you can have snacks like pizza or salad for example. All of them do offer a terrace during the summertime with relaxing seats so that you can enjoy warm evenings outside.
In case you should travel to us during a cold period the alternative solution to the forest is our nice pool-, wellness- and sport area located on the 9th floor of the main building. You can choose between a work out or a relaxing visit in the sauna and following massage.
We are curious if you will try maybe one of our deluxe or executive rooms next time.
In any way it would be our pleasure to have you here again.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I was in Steigenberger only one night, but I think it's very nice hotel. Professional staff, any problem to talk english with everybody, what in my experiance is not often in german hotels.
Clean and quiet room, very nice restaurants in lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TypJens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear TypJens;
We would like to thank you for spending a few minutes in the rating of our hotel and sharing your experiences with other travellers.
It is great to see you had an enjoyable stay. Your compliments are highly appreciated and do motivate our staff to go always for their best to satisfy our valuable guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you here again. If you are available next time please try our Restaurant “Unterschweinstiege”. The traditional forester's lodge is a synonym for cozy atmosphere and friendly service, serving traditional-regional dishes. We are sure you will like it.
Greetings to Poland
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel is a short shuttle bus ride from the terminals. I believe you can even walk there if you know the route. The shuttle runs about every 20 mins and is a big not mini bus, which means you wont be left standing at peak periods waiting for another minibus or having to get a taxi.

The hotel is really two hotels I one - the older and the newer rooms. I stayed in an older room this time and they are looking a bit dated though have everything you need and are perfectly acceptable - hence the average rating. The new rooms are much nicer the showers are mazing bits of German engineering - everything works really smoothly and the changing lighting is cool as well. It my view they are worth paying the extra for if you are going to in your room for a while.

the hotel has two really good restaurants - virtually unheard of in airport hotels. One modern European and the other a more traditional german - both are completely separate. Food in both is good to excellent. Wine lists good and at high but reasonable prices. I had room service one night which was reasonable. breakfast is very good with wide selection and reasonable quality.

Small pool at the top of the building. Bar area on ground floor large and comfortable place. Staff friendly and helpful.

Cheaper than some other options and very close to terminal with good shuttle service. All in all it gets a good rating - but trip adviser only has average or very good so opted for average on basis of older rooms but if opt for new ones would go up to very good.

Room Tip: Go for the newer rooms - cost more but much nicer but if need to budget the standard ones are quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear stephen405;
we hope you have had a good trip back home. Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travelers on tripadvisor.
We are glad to see you did enjoy your stay in overall and would like to let you have more details.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to Terminal 1 and 2. Every terminal is served by his own shuttle bus, running every 15 minutes at daytime and every 20 minutes at night.
We are surprised, but happy at the same time, you do know all of our 4 restaurants.
The first one is our breakfast restaurant “Five Continents” which serves an extensive buffet with everything you do desire in the morning for a bracing breakfast.
In our lobby you can find the bar “Con.nex.ion” which is available day and night and serves also food during every time.
Our fine dining restaurant “Faces” pampers you with ordinary food creations. Both, eyes and mouth, will have an unforgettable experience.
The last one is the “Unterschweinstiege”. Did you know it is actually an over 230 years old building which was a forester’s lodge before?
Every restaurant, except the breakfast one, has a terrace you can enjoy during the summer period.
The older rooms you mentioned have been partially renovated. The remaining rooms will be reworked very soon so that the standard category will not be available any longer in the future.
On the 9th floor of the hotel you can find in additional to the 15 meter heated pool the fitness area plus sauna, steam bath and other features supporting your well-being. Apart from this, the amazing overview of the airport and Frankfurt city forest is also gratis.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at any new occasion.
Kind regards and a happy new year
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked this hotel mostly because it was cheaper than the competing airport hotels and prices were generally high because the Frankfurt book fair.

However, I wished I had stayed in one of the slightly more expensive hotels.

This Steigenberger is very much outdated and is being run as a "cash cow" based on its location and the fact that most guests are kind of passing through and therefore probably not generating return business and therefore there is no point making a great investment.

The first problem is the lift - this is a very big hotel and the lift took about 5 minutes to come, in the end it didn't work. I mostly resorted to the stairs to get to my second floor room.

Secondly, I had a problem with the key card. I tried swiping it and it never worked. In the end, front desk staff had to come up. That was also another story: I tried calling them through the internal phone near the lift as I was asked to do by them - that phone did not work properly as well, I could not hear them although they could hear me.

So, suprisingly the lady came up while I was trying to go down because I couldn't hear her.

In the end she opened to room with my swipe card, the reason for the problem was that I was swiping to fast. This should not be happening.

Rooms were ok but a bit old looking. From memory Internet was not free.

On the upside, the shuttle bus to the airport worked without problems.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Evans1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear John_Evans1951;
Thank you for the review of your stay in our hotel.
Unfortunately some issues did not work out to your satisfaction.
We are sorry for the circumstances with the elevator. In total we do have five elevators; 2 in the executive tower and 3 in the main building. As you mentioned your stay was during one of the high demanded fairs in Frankfurt. The hotel was fully booked. We do understand your anger. At the same time we would like to ask also for your understanding that due to the situation you had to wait very long. During normal periods it is very unusual the guests have to wait for so long.
To improve our missteps we depend on our valuable guests. Thanks to your hint our technical department has been able to replace the broken telephone on the mentioned floor.
Please be informed that the internet will be free of charge beginning from next year.
We do hope you visit our hotel at any occasion again so that we can prove our usual standard and the opposite of your experience made during your last visit to you.
With best regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Good location if you want to be around airport. Staff especially front desk were very knowledgeable and helpful. Rom was comfortable but little bit small for two people. The problem was the air-condition. Room was very cold and house-keeping could not do anything about it. Finally after so many calls they brought us a portable heater that solve the issue and we could sleep. Anyway you cannot call it 5 star hotel really.

Room Tip: We have had room at 7th floor with forest view which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RezaN861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear RezaN861;
We would like to thank you for spending some minutes on a review.
Thank you for your compliments to our staff. It is our goal to afford a very comfortable stay to our valuable guests. Positive and also negative feedbacks let us know what our performance is like and if there is something that needs to be improved.
We are sorry you had to suffer coldness and our employees have not been able to serve you earlier. Please be assured that your information of the not working air conditioner has been forwarded to our technical department to fix the failure during your stay.
We would be glad to welcome you again if you decide to stay here by any other occasion.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very pleasant airport hotel. Have stayed here several times this year and have kept coming back (apart from my last trip to the Shearton , big mistake).

Some of the standard rooms are in need of updating, they are a bit like a prison cell, but other standards are modern and new - very cool for a one night trip.

Also have been upgraded a couple of times, to a superior room and to a room in the executive tower, which has one of the best showers I have ever used!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get one of the old rooms which are in need of a refresh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-Windsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Paul-Windsor;
We would like to thank you for your nice feedback regarding your visits in our hotel.
It is our pleasure to hear you enjoy your stays in general.
Our standard rooms are in fact not up to date. But we are happy to announce that the renovation was started already. The result is our superior room in which you stayed too. We hope you like the new design with fresh colors, completely new furniture, an own Nespresso coffee machine and the integrated shower in the single rooms.
Besides we would like to thank you also for the compliments for the shower in the executive rooms. As you have found out the hotel offers four categories at the moment from which anybody can chose the one he prefers, adapted to his needs of comfort.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon.
Have a merry Christmas.
Besides; did you know that the internet will be free of charge beginning from next month?
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#40 of 271 in Frankfurt
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt

Address: Unterschweinstiege 16, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#20 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#31 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £69 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt! The conference and business hotel with 570 rooms and 40 conference rooms at the Frankfurt Airport is the first choice address when it comes to a stay near Frankfurt`s international hub. Only four minutes from Frankfurt Airport and reachable every 20 minutes with the free 24 hours Express-Airport-Shuttle from Terminal 1 and 2 (2 busses), an oasis full of friendliness, professionalism and cosiness with a beautiful view into nature is awaiting you. Here, recreation and relaxation have top priority: before or after a meeting, in one of the 40 conference rooms with 2000 square metres, in our four restaurants, on one of our 3 summer terraces, in the pool or at our modern gym with a panoramic view at our OpenSky Wellness & Fitness area. WiFi with a bandwidth of up to 1Mbit/s as well as one bottle of water upon arrival in the room (0,5l) is free for guests our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Frankfurt
Hotel Steigenberger Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing