We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Average Airport Hotel with Nothing to Shout About”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Ranked #26 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“An Average Airport Hotel with Nothing to Shout About”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night with my family in 2 double rooms. Instead of giving us 2 connecting rooms, we were given 2 rooms that are 4 doors apart. I was surprised that the room connected to ours is left vacant for reason that I cannot comprehend. The hotel provides minimal amenities, no tooth brush, no shaver, no sandals, no shower cap, no cotton buds, no body lotion…. We did not possess a power adapter as it was not our scheduled stopover in Germany, the hotel charged us 11 Euro for a power adapter.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kool123934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Kool123934;
Thank you for your evaluation of our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to hear you have not been totally satisfied during your stay.
Next time please do not hesitate to contact our front desk to see if they can offer something different that meets better your requirements.
The hotel has four room categories at the moment. Depending on the category the amenities do vary. In case of any need our housekeeping is glad to assist and provide you the requested items.
We do understand your displeasedness about the charge of the power adapter. We have taken this into consideration and will speak to the related person as soon as possible and see if we can offer better conditions to the guests.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Greetings to Singapore
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    1,159
    424
    163
    108
See reviews for
481
589
344
1,444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, mi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stay near the Frankfurt airport almost every month before flying home. It had been a while since I chose the Steigenberger. I always liked the convenience, shuttle, and restaurant that is just outside the door. But I also experienced old rooms and did not like paying for the Internet. So after reading a few reviews talking about new rooms in the tower and replies to reviews from the Steigenberger stating "We are happy to let you know that the internet will be free of charge beginning from January 2014", I decided to give it a chance. I can report that the new rooms are very nice. Shuttle service is excellent, but I still had to pay for the Internet - 8 Euro a night. For the price of the room they should definitely offer free Internet. They did not convince me to return.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to a new tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Pete M.;
Thank you for your review.
Unfortunately you are still not 100 per cent satisfied with our facility and the service.
First of all we would like to clarify that the new rooms are not the ones in the tower, but the superior category in the main building. The rate is not much higher than the standard one. The rooms in our Executive Tower are our most high graded arrangement in which you enjoy exclusiveness like only 10 rooms per floor, queen size bed, larger room and bathroom including a wellness shower.
In regard of the internet issue we offer two options to our guests: the free internet is available up to a certain speed. If the guest requires the use of high speed internet it is available for a fee of 8 Euro.
We hope this helps to clarify the conditions in our hotel.
It would be our pleasure to have you here again at any occasion.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed on our holiday to europe and it was extremely convenient located near the airport and was always a quick place to go to.

We enjoyed the food and the room was quite pleasant. The staff were courteous and we were made comfortable. The airport shuttle was really a conevenience where one could pop over to the airport for a midnight snack also.

Room Tip: Choose the one along the airstrip so you can watch planes take off and land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeselvakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear joeselvakumar;
Thank you for taking yourself some time to feedback about your recent visit at our hotel.
It is our pleasure to read you had a comfortable stay.
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is located less than 10 minutes away from the airport, no matter if you are coming from Terminal 1 or Terminal 2. Our shuttle bus is running every 15 minutes during the day time.
Did you know that our lobby bar “Con.nex.ion” offers snacks round the clock? If you prefer to stay in the hotel you can enjoy your meals there.
We are looking forward to welcome you here again.
Greetings
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Jan 14 for one night. Unfortunately I was dissapointed from the room.
Bath was not functioning properly, window was open and I coudn't close it. We call front desk. Person incharge came and said that they knew that the window was broken.
They sold the room while they knew it was not ok.
But, German Restaurant that was in the garden of the hotel was excelent.
In total I was not so happy of my stay

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lak54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Lak54;
Thank you for your feedback on your stay this month.
We regret to find out you have been unhappy during your stay.
Please be assured we have taken measures to prevent this will happen again.
In line with a construction phase our windows are checked and fixed if necessary.
We hope our employees have been able to afford a remaining pleasant stay.
It would be our pleasure to have you here again at any occasion. Please do not hesitate to ask for an upgrade to a room of your choice which is available at a low extra charge.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cologne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Rooms in 1980s design have been mentioned by other travelers, i did not expect more.

I was told the shuttle would hit the airport every 15 minutes. it did, spot on time, appear after 15 minutes, but the driver did not even turn the head to look at the waiting point. he just drove on. Upon calling the hotel and asking to contact the driver, the solution was that they told me to wait for the next shuttle. Period. The next one was late, so, thanks to Steigenberger, I spent a total of 40 minutes in a run-down-dirty staging area for buses.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Iorie07;
Thank you for your rating on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience during your visit in Frankfurt.
At the same time we are glad you informed us about the happenings.
The issue is that some new drivers joined the shuttle service company. We assume their misstep is explained by the reason mentioned before.
Nevertheless we have forwarded your report to the manager of the company and have also spoken to him. We are sure they will be trained again on their job.
We are aware of the conditions regarding our standard rooms which are indeed not up to date. Because of that we have renovated a part of them already. The result is the superior category, available for a low additional fee. Furthermore we can offer the deluxe and executive category to our guests. Especially in the executive tower you can find modern rooms. So in total we do offer four room categories to our valuable guests. According to their own needs they make their choice.
It would be our pleasure to have you here again. Do not hesitate to try one of the other room categories.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & das Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California, US
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My UA flight to SF was canceled due to mechanical issues. United put all the passengers up at this hotel for the night. The check in staff was absolutely nice and patient dealing with busloads of guests from the canceled flight. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious. My room was nice and comfortable. We all took the shuttle bus back to the airport the following day.

My two small complaints were wifi and bathroom. My room, 521 is located at the end of the hallway and the wifi was practically non-existent. I called the operator who told me that was impossible. All rooms have wifi. The strongest wifi signal I got was one dot and in the bathroom. I either had to go downstairs or to the corridor in order to catch some wifi signal. Upon checking out, I brought up the wifi issue. The clerk questioned my device which is an iPhone. It would be nice if hotel people could give some credit to the guests' intelligence sometimes instead of denying their own hotel's shortcomings.

The shower doors have hinges and gaps that allow water to spill outside the shower. After taking the shower, part of the floor was flooded.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xiongxiong43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear xiongxiong43;
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to find out our front desk has been helpful and kind in handling the passengers. Sometimes this can be a challenge due to the unhappiness of the guests. The staff is regularly trained to manage this kind of situations.
We are sorry the internet did not work properly. Our IT manager is doing his best to solve the issue as soon as possible.
We want to let you know that we sincerely value you as our guest. Your concerns are taken seriously. We regret you might have got another impression.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you here again and prove our usual standard to you.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Hotel is very close to the airport. Parking is excellent in a parking garage across from the hotel with an exit literally across from the hotel entrance. Gas station right around the corner to fill up the rental car before returning. Shuttle bus to the airport about. Hotel has all conveniences such a 4 restaurants on site, pool, spa and fitness area.
We ate at the Untere Schweinstiege restaurant which was just perfect for my family for the last night before flying back home. Nice change from the standard international hotel menus. Rooms are what you expect in a hotel close to the airport, nothing special but also nothing amiss.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Dominic G;
We do thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor.
In fact, the hotel is located only a few minutes from the airport. With the free shuttle service you reach us within 10 minutes from both Terminals. Standing on the 9th floor of our hotel you can even have a view at the airport.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the restaurant “Unterschweinstiege”. It is certainly unique for an airport hotel. This is a more than 200-year-old forester's lodge with a large patio. Cosiness, warm service, and regional food quality at the highest level are paramount for our team.
It would be our pleasure if we can welcome you here again. Do not hesitate to have a look at the pictures of other room categories in our hotel which are displayed on a TV at the front desk and try another type from what you have had.
Greetings to Maryland
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#45 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Address: Unterschweinstiege 16, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#5 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#17 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#20 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#32 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt! The conference and business hotel with 570 rooms and 40 conference rooms at the Frankfurt Airport is the first choice address when it comes to business events and offers everything to make meetings, conferences, banquets, congresses or events a success. Only four minutes from Frankfurt Airport and reachable every 20 minutes with the free 24 hours Express-Airport-Shuttle, an oasis full of friendliness, professionalism and cosiness with a beautiful view into nature is awaiting you. Here, recreation and relaxation have top priority: before or after the conference, in one of the 40 conference rooms with a total of 2000 square metres on level-access flooring, in our four restaurants, on the summer terraces, in the pool with a panoramic view or at the catering. WiFi with a bandwidth of up to 256 KB/s is free for guests in all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Frankfurt
Hotel Steigenberger Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing