We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Ranked #26 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After staying in Ibis hotels, which we enjoyed very much, for a number of days, it was wonderful to walk into the room at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel to the beauty and luxury of the room! Large beds, excellent linens, a large bathroom, dark wood furniture, large window overlooking a garden, and excellent lighting. Amazing shower with both a spray arm and a rain forest shower head with an oval sliding door. Excellent and large flat screen TV. Nice carpeting. Quiet halls. Several elevators. Two restaurants, one 24-hours, with very good food. Large lobby with lots of staff to manage busy periods. Security guard outside from some other business pretty grouchy to those parking on the side street while waiting to check in and get parking instructions. Gas station right around the corner for those dropping off a car at the airport with gas as cheap as farther away from the airport. Limo that takes people to the airport every 15 minutes for free, although early morning driver was pretty impatient. Clearly a favorite with frequent fliers as airline crews were visible everywhere. Shoe polish machines on every floor available for free with the push of a button. Excellent stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileendoylecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Meeting at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear eileendoylecrane;
First of all we would like to thank you for spending your time in rating our hotel and share your experiences with other travelers.
We are very glad to read you had a pleasant stay in overall.
The room in which you stayed is one of our executive arrangements. Located in the Executive Tower with its own elevators and only 10 rooms per floor it is our best available category.
You obviously missed one of our restaurants, since the hotel offers even 3 restaurants.
In our lobby you can find the bar “Con.nex.ion” which is available day and night and serves also food during every time.
Our fine dining restaurant “Faces” pampers you with ordinary food creations. Both, eyes and mouth, will have an unforgettable experience.
The last one is the “Unterschweinstiege”. Did you know it is actually an over 230 years old building which was a forester’s lodge before? You can enjoy regional meals there.
Every restaurant has a terrace you can enjoy during the summer period.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again. We do hope you are going to have the same pleasant visit then as you have had already.
Kind regards to Utah,
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    1,159
    424
    163
    108
See reviews for
481
588
344
1,443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Two colleagues and myself stayed for 2 days, booked through expedia. Originally we had booked for one day, but extended our stay by an extra day for a total of 2 days. The 2 day stay was charged to my credit card 3 days after we booked, this was roughly 10 days prior to arriving. Yet 3 days after we stayed and left, I was charged for the original first day of booking - again!!. So I paid for 3 nights although only stayed 2 nights. I called the Steigenberger to get my money back, they blame expedia and expedia blames the Steigenberger, so I am stuck. I see this as a Steigenberger issue although they will not deal with it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoserdoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Hoserdoser;
We regret to find out that something went wrong with your reservation and payment during your stay at our hotel.
Due to the lack of information we cannot start any investigation to clear the issue. Please let us have details in a separate Email to the hotel (addressed to my personal attention) to see what happened and credit back extra paid money to you.
We are sure to solve the matter soon with your help and do hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Place, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived at the Airport Train Station and boarded the hotel shuttle. It was very convenient once we navigated our way through the airport maze and found the pickup location. Checkin process at the hotel was uneventful. Staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was comfortable and well appointed. Dissappointed at the offerings and prices at the restaurant - found it to be on the very high side.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Caroline B;
Thank you for evaluating your stay at our hotel.
In general you were satisfied with the facility and the service.
We are sorry about your disappointment in regard of the offer and the prices of our restaurant. Did you know our hotel has three restaurants? One is our lobby bar that serves snacks. The meals at the “Unterschweinstiege” are regionally based. “Faces” is our Fine Dining restaurant that surprises you with extraordinary creations. The prices in our restaurants are in accordance with a five star category and the competitor hotels in Frankfurt.
We would be glad to welcome you again whenever you should travel back to Germany.
By the way: at Terminal 1 you need to follow the signs “Hotelbus” to get to our shuttle bus. There are two stops on the arrival level, area A and C.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed one night with our three kids ahead of our morning flight to the US. This is a large hotel close to the airport terminals with a convenient shuttles. I was able to use the shuttle the night before to drop-off our car rental to avoid the hassle in the morning. Room wasn't large, a little dated but clean. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spyridon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Spyridon;
We would like to thank you for spending a few minutes in the rating of our hotel.
It is nice to read you have been satisfied in overall.
We assume you stayed in one of our family studios with your children. At the moment we are considering a renovation of these apartments too. As you mentioned the hotel is large with totally 563 rooms and additional convention rooms. At the moment the main focus is on our standard single and double rooms which are being renovated from time to time.
We are glad the free shuttle busses which are operation 24 hours every 15 minutes (or 20 minutes at night) afforded a comfortable handling during your leaving process to US.
Whenever you should be travelling back and staying with us, it will be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Greetings to New Jersey
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Spa is nice and quite well equipped. But hot room was very dated.....looks like from the 80's. Bed was small and uncomfortable. All forgiveable if the internet was decent. It's not. Brutally ...painfully slow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter-harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear globetrotter-harries;
Thank you for spending your time in rating our hotel.
We are sorry you have been disappointed regarding our free internet service. This free service is a new amenity we would like to offer to our guests. Unfortunately sometimes it is not working as requested. Under high pressure we are trying to resolve this issue as soon as possible. Our guests who are in urgent need of the internet can buy a high-speed access.
Furthermore we regret to read your bed was uncomfortable. Due to less information we cannot tell in which you stayed definitely but we assume it is one of our standard rooms. Please be informed that these rooms are being completely renovated and the furnishings are replaced too. Our (new renovated) superior and upper class rooms do provide comfy mattresses for which we often receive a good feedback.
We hope to welcome you again and that you give us a second chance to prove a better service to you.
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here one night prior to departing FRA. Chose the property specifically for the location and the shuttle, which were both excellent.

It seems there is a significant difference in room quality between the categories. As I read the reviews before booking, it seems like many people are disappointed with the Standard rooms. From the pictures and description, I would be too, which is why I booked an Executive Room. It was spacious, clean, quiet, and nicely appointed. The bed was large and comfortable, and I slept well. At this property in particular, "you get what you pay for" seems to ring true, at least for room categories.

Dining in the hotel is a bit on the expensive side. EUR 28/person/night for breakfast, though it is a decent buffet. I'm more of a light breakfast person so skipping the buffet and getting something in the terminal was more to my liking (and to my wallet's). A light dinner for two in the lobby bistro, sans alcohol, ran over EUR 50.

I'd firmly disagree with classifying this a 5-star property. That highest classification is to be reserved for the most luxurious, elite hotels, which the Steigenberger is not. It is, however, more than adequate, especially for the price, which is decidedly not that of a 5-star hotel either. I would stay again next time I need a Frankfurt airport hotel.

Room Tip: Consider buying an upgraded room category, as this seems to make a big difference in guest satisfact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg3305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear greg3305;
Firstly we would like to thank you for the detailed review and for sharing your experiences and opinion with other travelers.
It is our pleasure to hear that in general you have been satisfied and you will come back by any occasion to our hotel.
Speaking of the rooms we would like to let our clients know that our standard rooms are not up to date. We are aware of this fact. Since the hotel has had around 300 of these rooms we started the first stage of construction 2 years ago. This summer we will continue renovating some more of the standard rooms.
The results of this work are our superior rooms in the correspondent category with a new fresh design, flat screen TV, Nespresso coffee machine and other amenities.
Our guests have also the choice to book a deluxe room, an option between superior and executive category.
The main complaints we receive are not about the rich breakfast buffet itself, but the price. We would like to inform you that we move in the middle price level with our price performance ratio in every aspect. Compared to some other hotels at the Frankfurt airport we offer lower rates. Please consider that our prices are according our five stars.
Nevertheless we offer alternatives: guests who have booked rates excluding breakfast have the possibility to add the breakfast buffet at a special lower rate during check in. Furthermore we offer also breakfast a la carte like the French breakfast containing a coffee, a croissant with butter and jam and a class of juice at a lower (but similar to the airport) price.
We would be glad to welcome you again in Frankfurt.
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is an airport hotel, a place to sleep between flights or for a conference event that's easy to get to if people need to travel from other parts of the world. The bus service from the airport was pretty efficient (every 15mins) and is just a few minutes away. The rooms are small but functional, the room service options were limited admittedly but the restaurant provided a suitable variety of options. Designed to get you in & out as painlessly as possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear B C;
Thank you for spending your time on a review of your stay on TripAdvisor.
We are glad you have been satisfied with your stay in overall and our facility and offer.
In total we offer 4 room categories for every taste and personal needs. In our Executive Tower our guests can stay in rooms / suites up to 65 square meters.
Furthermore there are 3 restaurants where you can eat. The lobby bar “Con.nex.ion” serves salads, pizza and noodles amongst others. In our fine dining restaurant “Faces” you can explore ingredients from all over the world with your sense of taste. If you prefer traditional and bourgeois meals please visit our restaurant “Unterschweinstiege”. During the summer time all of them provide a beautiful terrace.
We would be glad to welcome you again.
Kind regards to Hongkong / China
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#46 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Address: Unterschweinstiege 16, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#5 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#17 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#20 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#32 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt! The conference and business hotel with 570 rooms and 40 conference rooms at the Frankfurt Airport is the first choice address when it comes to business events and offers everything to make meetings, conferences, banquets, congresses or events a success. Only four minutes from Frankfurt Airport and reachable every 20 minutes with the free 24 hours Express-Airport-Shuttle, an oasis full of friendliness, professionalism and cosiness with a beautiful view into nature is awaiting you. Here, recreation and relaxation have top priority: before or after the conference, in one of the 40 conference rooms with a total of 2000 square metres on level-access flooring, in our four restaurants, on the summer terraces, in the pool with a panoramic view or at the catering. WiFi with a bandwidth of up to 256 KB/s is free for guests in all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Frankfurt
Hotel Steigenberger Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing