We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Ranked #26 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as missed a connecting flight and BA arranged. I was upgraded to a deluxe room and the receptionist ensured was high up to be as quiet as poss. The room I had, however, was probably the smallest I have seen in years. The bed was tiny, which is fine as was on my own, however, the room was not much bigger than it. Would have felt very cramped if with wife (let alone child as well!). On way out I noticed that standard rooms are even smaller!! Shower was very nice though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Holja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Holja;

Thank you for the evaluation of your overnight at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt.

We are sorry that we have not been able to afford a comfortable stay.

Due to lack of information we can only assume. As we understood you have been assigned a quiet room. You can find them in our Deluxe section. Especially the rooms at the end of the corridor are quit due to their position. At the same time, these rooms at the end of the floor are smaller sized (only single rooms located there). The usual size of the Deluxe room is 21 square meter for the single, and 27 square meter for the double rooms. All rooms do offer a queen size bed usually except of those.

The hotel offers four room categories at the moment. Our Standard rooms are a bit smaller than the Deluxe, in fact. Our guests can choose furthermore between Superior or Executive rooms. The last mentioned are in the Executive Tower which contains only 10 rooms per floor, means quit rooms. The smallest accommodation has 31 square meter.

We would be glad to welcome you again in case you should be visiting Frankfurt again – also apart from a missed flight. Please do not hesitate to express your wishes and preferences. We are sure we can offer something that fits your needs.

Kind regards
Richard Engelmayer & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    1,100
    410
    154
    103
See reviews for
452
551
327
1,366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marienfeld, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for one night before flying out from Frankfurt airport. I would probably not park overnight next time because it was very expensive. When you consider that one night cost €20, whereas 2 weeks parking at the terminal was €100! The family room was a very reasonable price, although not really recommended for more than a couple of nights as there is only one room divided by a curtain. Went to the restaurant Unterschweinstiege, which was excellent, because we had the buffet. Rather expensive for the rest of the menu. Would definitely stay her again before travelling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Jon G;

We are glad to receive your positive review via TripAdvisor.

Unfortunately the garage next to the hotel does not belong to us, but to a company in the neighborhood. It is also our concern to offer more attractive prices to our guests. Due to previous mentioned reasons our hands are tied. In any way this topic was and will always be present. Whenever we can develop better conditions, we will!

Thank you for your compliments regarding the restaurant “Unterschweinstiege”. Do you know that the building exists since more than 230 years and was a former forester’s logde before? By the way, if you want to experience something extra ordinary you should not miss our fine dining restaurant “Faces”.

Should you be travelling again to us it would be our pleasure to have you here again. The hotel offers four room categories. Maybe you have the opportunity to sleep in one of our Executive rooms? We are sure you will like them.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Greetings to Marienfeld,
Richard Engelmayer & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel three times in the last 9 months as we make quarterly trips to Germany. At check-in we were told that they now had Wi-Fi available to the guests free. We had a lot of difficulty getting online. I first tried my iPhone and could not connect. We then tried our iPad and it connected but the connection was poor at best. In fact, we even called the reception desk to ask for help at one point. I told him (Reiv) how my phone would not connect and the difficulty in maintaining connection with the iPad and asked just to be sure that there would not be any extra charges for trying the different devices. I was told that you could have up to two devices with no charge. The next morning when we checked out at the desk, not only was there a charge for a second device but also a charge for using "premium" Wi-Fi at a higher speed. We were to be charged an additional 12 euro. We asked to speak to management and they would only reduce the cost to 8 euro. We will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64Linda1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear 64Linda1949;

Thank you very much for your feedback and the shared opinion on TripAdvisor.

We deeply regret the bad experience regarding the internet you had to make during your visits.

As you have been informed the internet is offered free of charge since the beginning of this year. Unfortunately due to different reasons and situations the service is sometimes not working as we wish to offer it to our guests. We do understand your anger, of course. At the same time we would like to assure you that we are doing our best to find a better solution to provide a blameless internet service as soon as possible.

We are sorry that you have received wrong information, too. One device is definitely free of charge. The second can get an access to the internet at a lower fee.

The third issue is that we have found out our guests easily log in into the high speed option since the layout seems to mislead between the different internet options. Also on this we are working on a clearer design to avoid the guests do login into the wrong connection.

It is really unpleasant for us to lose you as our guest. Probably you will give us another chance someday and we can prove to you that we can provide an improved internet service.

Kind regards
Richard Engelmayer & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt Am Main
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Friendly customer service, nice swimming pool and saunas for free, excellent location and easy shuttle bus (3-4 min.) from the airport (also for free), beautiful green forest view from the room, clean bathroom!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Atso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Atso M;

We do thank you for your evaluation and the compliments.

Our primary goal is it to cosset our guests as much as affordable for us. If we succeed it is the best possible reward we could have. We are aiming daily for the best service and quality. Having valuable guests who let us know we achieved our goal makes us glad.

Whenever your way should lead you back to us we will be happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Richard Engelmayer & Steigenberger Airport Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
699 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The last time I stayed here was a bit problematic. this time was a total change. At check in I was offered an upgrade to an executive suite. Incredible. i had requested early check in which comes at a small price and made a big difference. The staff were helpful and the restaurant was good as always. I must say I have never eaten in the Faces restaurant as it is always closed when I stay here.However it looks like a nice menu.

Room Tip: recommend the executive tower, the rooms are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear applejuice12;
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We would like to thank you also for giving us another chance to prove a different, better service to you than in the past. Sometimes things go wrong, unfortunately. We have been lucky to compensate the previous mistakes or unpleasantness and are happy you had comfortable stay this time.
We assume you visited the restaurant “Unterschweinstiege” which serves regional food creations? The “Faces” restaurant is usually open from Monday to Friday. At the moment it is closed due to a break and will be open again from 28 of April.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again, also in the “Faces”. You will be delighted about the atmosphere, the service and especially about the culinary experience.
With best regards from Germany
Richard Engelmayer & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Free shuttle bus to the Hotel and return every 15 mins.
Good sized modern rooms
Good standard of cleanliness
Beds firm but personal choice
Good facilities especially the gym and spa on floor 9 (UK guests be warned the sauna in mixed and no clothes, which is normal in Germany but could be a shock to some)
Good food offerings and massive choice at Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear James-TRIP;
We thank you that you have evaluated our hotel on TripAdvisor and are glad to read you felt comfortable during your visit.
Our shuttle busses are operating 24 hours between the hotel and the two Terminals.
We are sorry for the probably uncomfortable experience regarding our sauna. Our guests are informed before entering the sauna by an indication that it is a textile free area.
Thanks for the compliments in regard of our breakfast buffet. We are always happy when we find out our guests enjoyed it since we are really striving for an offer that doesn’t miss anything plus perfect quality.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at any chance.
Kind regards to UK
Richard Engelmayer & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Steigenberger Airport Hotel in Frankfurt was a good quality airport hotel for a quick 1 night stay with all the amenities one needs in an airport hotel. The hotel is accessible with a quick bus ride from the main terminal, fairly renovated and as I understood there some lower category not renovated rooms. My room was an executive room which was great, new, modern, good breakfast and bar service at the hotel. Only thing to improve is a the quality of Internet, very slow, even though I had to pay 8 EUR for the what they call high speed one. Well definitely not high speed.

Room Tip: Renovated Superior and higher rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear TomasNesvorny;
On behalf of the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Team we would like to thank you for your feedback. It is our pleasure to find out you had mainly a convenient stay.
We regret the internet service was not to your satisfaction. But your hint is very helpful for us and will be considered in the feedback to the internet provider who can check what the reason for the bad quality was.
Fortunately you liked your Executive room. It’s true that amongst two more categories our standard rooms are not up to date, but many times also sufficient for the needs of our guests who stay only for one overnight. Maybe, during another visit you will choose one of our superior rooms which are the replacement for the standard category. Further renovations will be starting this summer.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again and prove our usual standard service to you.
Kind regards from Germany
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#48 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Address: Unterschweinstiege 16, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#5 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#17 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#20 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#32 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt! The conference and business hotel with 570 rooms and 40 conference rooms at the Frankfurt Airport is the first choice address when it comes to business events and offers everything to make meetings, conferences, banquets, congresses or events a success. Only four minutes from Frankfurt Airport and reachable every 20 minutes with the free 24 hours Express-Airport-Shuttle, an oasis full of friendliness, professionalism and cosiness with a beautiful view into nature is awaiting you. Here, recreation and relaxation have top priority: before or after the conference, in one of the 40 conference rooms with a total of 2000 square metres on level-access flooring, in our four restaurants, on the summer terraces, in the pool with a panoramic view or at the catering. WiFi with a bandwidth of up to 256 KB/s is free for guests in all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Frankfurt
Hotel Steigenberger Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing