We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn-out with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt
Ranked #207 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worn-out with good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2007

Stayed in the hotel, because got a good price.

The location of the hotel is close to the railway station, which is naturally very practical for train travellers, but the area itself is not the best Frankfurt can offer with its drug-addicts and alcoholics. The high-rise center is less than 1km away.

Everything in the hotel expect the breakfast room is quite old and not in perfect condition. The double room we stayed in was not very big.

I'd recommend this hotel even it's condition is not the best and the railway station area is not the best area.

There's free Internet PC in the hotel.

The breakfast is very good.

Price and quality ratio is very good.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mynksteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    42
    36
    11
    17
See reviews for
10
30
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2007

We stayed at the Carlton for four nights in Feb 2007. We were quite pleased with the hotel. Smallish rooms (not a problem). Very clean and tidy. Very friendly English speaking staff at the front desk. Comfortable bed, good bathroom, good water pressure and lots of hot water. Wireless internet. Adequate breakfast provided. Fridge in room (no tea or coffee making in rooms). All in all good value and convenient location just across road from railway station. Close to Frankfurt red-light district, but not at all a problem. Would thoroughly recommend hotel to friends.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Lack of tea and coffee making in room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2007

I stayed at the Carlton for two nights in early December, 2006. The price was excellent for a room in downtown Frankfurt, very convenient to the train station and not far from the downtown shopping district. The room was small, but more than adequate for my needs as a single traveler. It had a mini-fridge, which was nice, and there was a grocery store just across the street where I bought food and drinks. This is a busy section of town, so there was some street noise, but I think one would experience that in any hotel in this district. The hotel provides wireless service, which didn't seem to be working during my stay, or maybe it was just my computer. I was able to steal a signal from the hotel next door, so I never complained. They have an excellent continental breakfast included in the price (pastries, cereal, fresh fruit and vegetables, yoghurt, cold cuts, the usual German breakfast fare). The dining room was clean and the staff were very attentive to keeping the food fresh and available. The staff at the front desk were extremely polite and friendly, always greeting me with a smile and courteous small talk-- the young woman working the day shift was particularly pleasant and helpful. I booked the room through an online travel agency for 40 Euro per night, which I thought was an excellent price for this location and level of service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vonschwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2003

Although this hotel is ideally located to the train station, it is too close to the "undesirable" section of town, ie. sex shops, etc. Some walking distance to touristy sites, mainly in financial distract. We would recommend. Very small rooms, but, this is expected in most hotels.

Helpful?
2 Thank fraleyjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Rossija
#204 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Hotel Excelsior
#50 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#35 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt

Property: Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt
Address: Karlstr. 11, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing