We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baseler Eck

Baseler Eck
Ranked #108 of 2,455 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: German, International, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

As a flight attendant, have gone here for 30+ years. The food is great and ALWAYS consistent. Gerd and Heidi, owners and servers are amazing. They together run the place alone. Americans are used to the fast paced, eat & run, but Europe is quite the opposite, so don't be offended if you feel he is slow, it's worth the wait. Gerd is not the friendliest, quite German, but can be warm and fuzzy sometimes. He gets more irritated once the big crowd arrives, and we Americans like to change and substitute the menu, not a good idea in Germany. Go early for faster service, b4 6pm.
I LOVE this place!!! Makes me want to slap my Mama it's sooo good!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    140
    23
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Now if he could only muster a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Some great German food, mashed potatoes and meat with some sauerkraut (I shouldn't have picked the last part though) in a great original setting....

But why can't the guy who serves it ever smile? Must be a German......

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveDeVylder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This restaurant has an extensive menu. They cater to travelers, especially airline pilots. Just look at the airline stickers on the wall. The food is great, the deserts are great as well. Schnapps may flow after your meal courtesy of the owners. This is a real Mom and Pop place and is outstanding.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smokey1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
222 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great middle class family german restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

It is a true German tavern, with long tables and good hearty food. It´s a friendly non assuming place where one can have a great time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FranciscoKuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but horrible attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I'd say the food is good. But the owner/waiter of the shop was really rude to my mom and I. My mother and I shared a lentil soup and a dish of pork knuckle. As I'm having a flu at the moment and mom also didn't want any drinks, so we didn't order any cold drinks. When the owner/waiter came to collect my bill, he told me that here is Germany and that it's a German thing. Everything we have ordered was not even enough to cover our table. The dish, forks, knifes and the tablecloth etc It's more expensive for him. It's different with China. I immediately told him that I was from Taiwan and not from China. He said China, Taiwan are the same. It's like Germany! They have East and West Germany. He then asked if I was a tourist. So does it mean he is going to treat us differently if we were on business which means we can become frequent customers?????

I would appreciated if he could let me know earlier that we should order two protion of food and drinks. He did not say anything when he was taking my order.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baseler Eck also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Baseler Eck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing