We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very authentic, lovely little place, great find”
Review of Matsuri

Matsuri
Ranked #87 of 2,508 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$41
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Westend-Süd
Description: Monday, nationalholiday Closed.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very authentic, lovely little place, great find”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stumbled across this place walking back from a meeting and what a find!
Authentic little Japanese canteen, sushi chef absolute character, laughing and joking away, food beautifully presented and fresh.
Had a lunch menu, all of which are between 18-22 euros and include Miso soup and Green Tea and really was impossible to fault.
Comes highly recommended, and I will be back when I'm next in town.

Note not a sushi bar with rotating dishes etc... much more authentic Japanese Ma and Pop type place. But excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    33
    12
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real Japanese athmosfere”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We decided to have a dinner hear reading many positives revues and it worth it!
This small restaurant has a curios entrance but once you’re in you can understand that you’re in the right place: few tables and few customers all of them Japanese! I’ve never been in Japan before but from my friends description I am sure that Matsuri is a real and typical Japanese restaurant in the heart of Frankfurt.
The host was really kind and funny and explained us the basis of Japanese kitchen. He suggested us what to order and we spent there a really nice evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M27Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Restaurant in Frankfurt”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Although we have lived in the Westend of Frankfurt for a couple of years, we have only just recently discovered the little Japanese restaurant close to our house. Since then we have regularly come for lunch or dinner, just the two of us or with family or friends. The quality of the food is simply amazing! We have never tasted anything as fresh, as refined and as authentic as the dishes at Matsuri's. There is nothing we could add at this point except: go and taste yourself!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good tea... And that is it!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We wanted to dine on a Sunday... We called a few restaurants and they where all closed. We thought this was a good option.

When we arrived, we were surprised because it was a tiny restaurant with a couple serving. We asked for green tea and it was amazing! Then we got the menu and when we wanted to ask for our dinner he kept saying "not possible, not possible". As far as we could understand the owner-waiter-cook, we could only order anything but a specific menu... We didn't really understand what he was trying to tell us... So he rolled his eyes and said "later!", and walked away.
We payed our teas and stood up to leave, then he caught us at the door and said "what happened?"

We figured it is ridiculous to have a restaurant if you cannot serve what people want. He should specify this was a fixed menu restaurant and we would have saved the trip!

Helpful?
9 Thank clauball15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
六郎太, オーナー at Matsuri, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Google Translation
日本は、確かにアジア圏に位置していますが、他のアジアの国、例えば、ベトナム、タイ、中国とは、まったく違った料理が確立されています。料理方法も食材も違う物が多いです。当店では日本料理の中でも特に鮨・刺身等の鮮度にこだわって提供しており、提供できる料理内容はお品書きに明記しております。お客様が来店された時に、それらの事を巧く説明できなかった事を後悔しています。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Like being in Japan”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food and chef, ask for his advice and he will take you through a wonderful culinary experience. The place is small and not particularly cosy but really really worth a visit. Absolutely recommended!

Helpful?
Thank StarsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matsuri also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Matsuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing