We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of EXPO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
EXPO Hotel
Ranked #118 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location! Location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is just very normal and I stayed here during trade show time so it was much more over charged! But the staff here are really nice and helpful! And location is really a star! It is just on Zeil street. When you come out of Konstablewache station Zeil exit it is just on your right hand side. A lot of restaurants nearby and some of them are good ie. just the restaurant and bar named "Sober" next to Starbucks is a good German restaurant

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank iray121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    44
    36
    5
    9
See reviews for
16
33
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

A 50m walk from U+S Bahn Station "Konstablerwache", opposite McDonalds, above a German bakery shop and Starbucks, opposite a good Italian restaurant and also a large bank with ATM facilities is just there! Right on the spot. Aside from that, this hotel is basically in the middle of the citycentre shopping area, so no worries to get bored on the streets here.

The entrance of the hotel is just around the corner and a bit small, a staircase or single elevator leads you to upper floors where the rooms are located.

I had a room on the 4th floor and found it of average size (15-20 sqm maybe), but the bed was comfortable. There is a small desk and a window overlooking the quiet backstreet (the hotel is not facing the busy shopping street nor the busy square of Konstablerwache). You can be sure that it will be a quiet rest when staying in this hotel.

The bathroom is modern, clean. Not so big, but nice lighting and a shower cabin. As said, it's not luxury, not oversized or whatever. It's just right. Basic efficiency, which would pretty normal European standard to me.

Staff was friendly during check-in/check-out, a map with directions for the city can be obtained from them as well.

So, you can't go wrong with this hotel. To me it's a good price-quality ratio for this place, and I would be happy to stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skycruiserNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Very basic hotel as close to the main shopping district as you can get.
It's very conveniently located near all the big shops and interesting restaurants. I didn't find it too loud and my room was facing the street.

Rooms are very basic. Standard key locks (no key card). Everything is just OK, nothing particularly fancy except for the location. My room actually didn't have a safe in it, but otherwise it was clean and did the job.

CASH ONLY! Plan accordingly!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Perfect Location, 2 mins walk to nearest U-Baan and S-Baan, Frankfurt's main shopping street is right behind. Starbucks is right below and McD is right across from it (for those having 2 weeks straight of european food... sometimes a few nuggets is not a bad idea for snacks.) Due to business trip, I was on a budget and this hotel turns out much much better than what I would expected for its price. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Frankfurt and looking for a good place to stay with very reasonable price.

Some quick tips: It's is good and safe area, it's heart of Frankfurt! If you looking for cheap food, give the nearest metro station a visit; there are plenty of little restaurants at the metro and you pay about 30-50% of the price that restaurant would charge you for decent food. Also behind the Expo hotel, during the day time, there is open market right around the corner of the hotel, you can see what local citizens would normally buy and try out the food/beer(dont miss the beer!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were just stayed for one night, the location is good, very close train station, but when the nighttime coming, it's really loud outside, cuz the rooms are just next to the street. Lots of restaurant underneath. Don't open window even you feel hot, cuz many flies will come in to your room, but if you don't open window, the air are really sucks cuz its completely "closed" room, also no AC or other thing could help to get fresh air. Free wifi, no breakfast. one of the receptionist weren't professional, a little bit tried to flirt with my female friend who felt dislike.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Voegelchen8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Booked 3 rooms at this Hotel through hotel.info. Booking was done well in advance- nearly 4 months advance. About 20 days before my stay, received a mail from them that hotel was under construction and so they could not honour my booking. Contacted hotel.info and they informed that hotel oversold itself and so could not accept my reservation. During Frankfurt visit, the hotel was operational and having guests.
Quite clearly, cheap Hotel management decided to dishonour the slightly lower priced advance bookings for the higher priced bokkings they got later. Imagine the rates I got from other hotels since I now booked at last minute, during an exhibition time.
They are cheats, with no business ethics, or any regard for customer's loss. Dont book with them.

Room Tip: You are lucky if you get a room mate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ragz_mln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I found this hotel from walking around the area and I really liked it. It's nothing fancy but the location is awesome. 2 mins to the main shopping street Zeil. Very easy to walk around to get international meal. 2 mins to the U-bahn(Metro station) that can take you straight to airport(no stop).
The price is very affordable and the condition of the hotel is brand new(July 2012). Staff were lovely and helpful. Free-Wifi. A must if you don't mind small space(not that small comparing to London, Paris or Amsterdam).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank islandbikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Favored Hotel Scala
Favored Hotel Scala
#106 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Altstadt
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#75 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Neue Kraeme
Hotel Neue Kraeme
#122 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Zentrum
Hotel Zentrum
#152 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Innenstadt
Grand Hotel Dream
Grand Hotel Dream
#196 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Zeil
Hotel Zeil
#130 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EXPO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EXPO Hotel

Property: EXPO Hotel
Address: Grosse Friedberger Str. 14, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — EXPO Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your EXPO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing