We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as convenient as you might think”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
Ranked #11 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is over-priced for the amenities, but that's to be expected since you are paying for the convenience of being at the hotel. However, we discovered some serious drawbacks to this "convenience".

After driving around Germany on vacation, we planned to drop the rental car at the airport, stay at this hotel, and fly out the next morning.Three painful discoveries:

1) Finding the hotel entrance itself is a pain as the signs are poor, the route convoluted, and the directions on their web site only apply if you approach from one particular direction.

2) The car rental is a long way from the hotel and there is no means to get back. The car rental staff even told us "People who rent cars here usually stay at the Sheraton. You should consider that next time." Fortunately they personally guided us through the labyrinth back to the hotel.

3) Worst of all is if you are flying out of terminal 2. The hotel is attached to terminal 1. There is no shuttle from the hotel to the other terminal, so you have to schlep your bags through terminal 1 to find the airport transport to the other terminal (a long way). With a lot of bags and movement-impaired people in our party, this was a long, frustrating trek up and down the airport. The hotel staff -- otherwise fairly helpful -- just shrugged.

Food is over-priced and mediocre at best (no shock, but an extreme example of the trend). You'll eat better at practically any diner in Germany.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were extremely nice.

The hotel decor is straight out of Logan's Run. (Not kidding. If you stay there, see if you don't agree.)

We found the service variable. The hotel staff were helpful and efficient, apart from having no help -- and very poor directions! -- to get to/from car rental or terminal. Restaurant staff ranged from adequate to lousy.

Bottom line: the convenience factor that you're paying a premium for here is highly variable. If you have a car, stay at the Sheraton. If you're flying out of terminal 2, allow 30 minutes to get across the airport and be prepared to hand-carry your luggage on/off airport shuttles, etc. Eat elsewhere if you possibly can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMueller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane K, Executive Office at Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear JMueller_11,
Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed review on Tripadvisor.
I regret that our services and offering did not meet your expectations. At the same it’s a pleasure to read your compliments about the rooms and bathrooms.
Furthermore I am truly sorry that you experienced difficulties finding your way to our hotel. Most rental car companies provide easy access to Terminal 1 from where signs indicating “hotels” and “long-distance trains” direct you to THE SQUAIRE and our hotel. On our website, you also have the option to download a directional document with images and a description of all directions to the hotel.
JMueller_11, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future to convince you also on a culinary level.
Best regards,
Christiane K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,361 - 1,367 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed one night at the Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel, mostly because we arrived by air at dinner time and our departure flight was the next morning early. The hotel was very nice; we took two rooms as they didn't have accomodations for a family of two parents and 2 opposite gender teens. The rooms were spacious (2 queen beds) and very large, very nice bathroom and appeared to be very clean. Great blackout curtins. Downside: cost, breakfast was way too expensive to consider, and the daily charge for WiFi was ridiculous (go use their business center computers as an alternative) On site directions to the hotel could be a bit clearer for non German speaker (follow train station signs almost-but not all the way) Don't touch anything in the mini-fridge -my wife moved something to see what it was and the charge showed up on the bill - but they were very gracious about removing the charge.
For some travelers the Hilton Garden Frankfurt Airport (entrances of both facilities are next to each other) may offer a better bargin for simplier rooms.

Room Tip: Eat outside the hotel for breakfast or other meals; many choices close at hand at better prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane K, Executive Office at Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for being our guests, JimCFairbanksAlaska. Your kind comments on the hotel and bedrooms are much appreciated and we hope we will be able to welcome you and your family back in the not too distant future.
All the best to Alaska,
Christiane K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed the hotel with my family.

From Terminal 1, it takes a few minutes since the hotel is located next to long-distance train station (FernBahnhof). To use some lifts, you can arrive there with a cart.

We've asked to assign connecting rooms in advance and the offer are remarked.

The rooms have enouth spaces and are tidy.
In the bathroom, the bathtub and the shower booth are separated.

The refrigerator is one of the disappointing point since all preserved drinks and liquors are
put on the specified spaces. In other words, there is no free space.

The restaurant is very nice. We visited there in dinner time and in breakfast.
At dinner, the menus are not so various, but the taste was nice.
At breakfast, served menus are not so rich, however, good taste.

In total, I can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitei-jin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane K, Executive Office at Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear chitei-jin,

Thank you for recommending the Hilton Frankfurt Airport to the Tripadvisor community!
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in general and especially the dinner and breakfast service in our restaurant. In addition to the breakfast buffet, we also serve a la carte items, just ask our service team next time.

chitei-jin, thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Best regards,

Christiane K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

After a very busy 5 week trip through the UK and Europe, it was a great relief to settle in to a 7th floor room overlooking the forests around the Frankfurt AP and Frankfurt in the distance. The shops, restaurants and grocery store in the airport meant that I did not have to get on another bus or train to get dinner and breakfast the next day. The hotel was a bit more expensive than I stayed in usually but the convenience and the nice appointed room itself was perfect for my last day before flying home. A wider selection of TV channels than I had found before ensured I could catch up on news and movies. The ability to walk out the door, thru the airport and on to my flight the next day was comforting after all the travelling I had done in the weeks before.

Room Tip: I asked for a view if possible, that was about it. Got a front row seat for a huge thunder and light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane K, Executive Office at Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Nancy F,

It makes us very happy to read that your 5-week trip found a pleasant ending with an enjoyable stay at our hotel.
Thanks a lot for being our guest and I hope you will visit us again when your travels take you back to Frankfurt in the future.

Best regards to Whistler,

Christiane K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a modern well maintined hotel, linked to the airport by a footbridge.  Our room was a reasonable size, the bathroom was well lit and had a good shower.  The decor was pleasant enough - no character to it, but you wouldn't really expect that.  More importantly, the sound proofing must be excellent, as we didn't hear a plane all night.  We had a good size safe but there weren't many power sockets about.  There is also free tea and coffee.  There is an office area with PCs and printers near reception, which is handy for on line check in and gives you some web access.  There is no free wi-fi, not even in the lobby and public areas let alone in your room.  The amount they charge is a massive rip off and unfortunately, seems to be the HIlton way.  Otherwise, a great place to stop over or wait for an early flight out of Frankfurt.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane K, Executive Office at Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Monk-san,

Thanks a lot for your review on Tripadvisor.
The soundproofing of the entire building is really unique and certainly a big plus at such a busy location. Thank you for your comments on the power sockets and Internet, it definitely helps us to monitor and improve our services.
Monk-san, we very much appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Christiane K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed at the Hilton for 2 nights in conjunction with business meetings at the nearby conference centre. The location is top notch - a short indoor stroll from terminal 1 to the hotel. There are also a lot of different fast food outlets with a wide variety of good options in the same centre. The conference centre is also in the Squaire and is less than 5 minutes away (currently less than 1/2 price at the conf. facility compared to the same offering at the hotel, brand new and very professional).
Check-in was smooth and professional. I had to tell the receptionist about my Hilton Honors membership. Always feels better to be asked, but this is just about the same everywhere.
The room was very nice and comfortable. Good working space at the desk. Wonderful design chair, good bed and lots of pillows in different styles. The bathroom was ok, but a bit small - especially when using the shower in the bathtub. I missed a standard hand soap when washing my hands, but plenty of other remedies to choose between.
Breakfast was great. Lots of options ranging from comfort food to very healthy and a fantastic orange juice.
Two things came across as negative. The price for the WiFi service was Euro 19 and only allowed for 2 devices/24 hours. It is about time for Hilton to start offering at least a basic free to guest service (you can get it in the lobby area for 1 hour - but not after check-out). I also had to take a bottle of water from the minibar one night. Euro 7.75 for a small bottle of water is a direct insult to the hotel guests! Wonder why no-one uses the minibars anymore...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our family recently traveled through Frankfurt and had the best experience. We were traveling with our 70lb hunting dog and were pleasantly surprised by everything. The airport was beautiful and customs were polite, easy. The walk to the Hilton? Easy easy. You don't even have to leave the complex. The hotel? Gorgeous. Stunning lobby, clean architectural lines, comfy room. The beer? We are definitely going back. Frankfurt is my new Hub-Of-Choice in Europe - Hilton my preferred layover. (The HILTON GARDEN does not allow dogs...though their rooms are just next door, and fine for those looking for a less expensive option.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherish_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel

Address: The Squaire, Am Flughafen, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £87 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing