We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best main courses ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weinsinn

Weinsinn
Ranked #70 of 2,445 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$36
Cuisines: European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best main courses ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Weinsinn is a great restaurant with an even greater potential. The food is fantastic: beautifully presented, magnifically executed, incredible ingredients. The wines are extraordinary too: we had the best white wine we've drunk so far, and it is produced not far from Frankfurt, in the Rheingau. Our main course was delicious: lamb cooked in two different ways, one better than the other (stewed and roasted). Let's just say it was one of the best main courses we've ever had. Why not five stars then? Because there are a couple of things that need sorting out before Weinsinn deserves the top mark: First, the indoor seating is way too crowded and tables are too close to one another. It's a one Michelin-star restaurant: it ought to prefer fewer guests to cramming as many as possible in a relatively small dining room. Second, prices are just about fine for the food, but way too expensive for the wines. I know some of the wines they serve and the recharge is just way too high. The price of the water, then, borders the ridiculous... it should be not more than half what it is now. However, overall Weinsinn is a amazing restaurant and if it sorts out this handful of shortcomings it can aspire to great things.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KulturReise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    31
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
frankfurt
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great food, wonderful service, professional without the pomp and ceremony, amazing wine, a brilliant evening out, I cannot recommend enough

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PogoStickPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A remarkably well executed evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was a truly remarkable evening. The meal was so incredibly well planned out from start to finish. We loved the 4 course tasting menu, though it seemed like we got so many more dishes than I was expecting! Since the menu was in German, we trusted our waiter to choose everything for us and he did an amazing job! The wine pairings were perfection - each adding a different note to the dish. Service was attentive and timing was really well planned. During a few lulls in service, we were treated to an extra glass of what we had on the table while waiting.

The price was steep but the atmosphere and style far and away made up for it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnieLou619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Holland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Weinsinn a number 2 in Frankfurt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We were lucky today. The hotel had booked two seats at Weinsinn but when we arrived there was no record of us at all. Two guests had cancelled so we could get a table anyhow. Great restaurant with super ambiance (as if you were at home with a Michellin star cook). Food was amazing and if I may make a bit of criticism: this is the first restaurant ever that did not have a true vegetarian alternative for each course. But for the rest the color an taste of the food was amazing, paired with a really nice local wine

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jollenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food, excellent Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

This unique restaurant, previously started as a Bistro has now being provided with 1 Star. And this is well deserved - the surprising menues, reasonably priced, plus a lovely and decent wine list is worth while every Euro one spent. Highly recommended for Dinner for two as well as with friends or for Business.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThePunchBowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Weinsinn also viewed

 

Been to Weinsinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing