We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and no parking” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #39 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
st petersburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and no parking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

This hotel was overpriced. The room was very small, the shower was tiny, the neighborhood is sketchy, there is not a parking area for the hotel, no free wifi, the "queen" bed consisted of two twin beds pushed together, but the room was clean and updated.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcaraboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    222
    70
    12
    3
See reviews for
57
97
60
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Stayed at the Victoria Hotel for 3 nights, on the last leg of a 15 day Eastern Europe trip. Prior checking in, my wife and I were in Warsaw, and were flying in to Frankfurt with a late evening arrival, so I e-mailed ahead the hotel to advise them, and next morning I not only received a confirmation that they would hold my room but even instructions on how to take the train from the airport to the hotel! They saved us a taxi, for less them 8 euros, we were in the lobby of the hotel, 30 minutes from grabbing our luggage.
Hotel: Historic type building, the staff were very nice, rooms at European standard, the washroom, bedroom all recently re done, OK breakfast.
Location: very close to main train station, a 15min. walk to the Romer area, and shopping district. Lots if action in that neighbourhood because of the train station, but it still feels safe lots of Cafés, bars, restaurants near by. We would go back, good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WindowSeat33A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

The Hotel Victoria is centrally located within easy walking distance to the main train station. It is modern, well-kept and clean and has a complimentary breakfast. It is for the most part perfectly acceptable but I still cannot recommend it as I have some personal gripes:

- The beds are too short. I am 1,92cm (about 6"2) and can only sleep curled up in this bed. There are walls on both ends of the bed, making hanging over impossible.

- No free wifi. The internet connection in rooms is more expensive per hour than the private booths at the brightly light adult video store right across the street. Yes, it's that kind of area. Your only alternative is using a cable in the lobby, where at any time at least three other guests will be wanting to use the same connection.

-The tiny showers are severely limited in water pressure. It's not much more than a trickle that comes out of them. They did this by choice, the water pressure in Frankfurt is excellent.

-The A/C doesn't work at all during winter months. In my case that means October 30th, on which we had nearly 75F. I would have killed for a cool room after running the Frankfurt Marathon but no dice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krautland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

The location of the hotel was convenient as it is situated near a train station and not far from the city centre. Furtemore,my room was very clean. The staff is helpful and polite.
I didn't like the surrounding neighborhood. It is not the best for family travellers (there are some sex shops and drunk people alround at midnight). Also i found my room small.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ifbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed at Victoria Hotel during this past Frankfurt bookfair. It was our first stay at this hotel, and I was aware it was located near some "red light" streets so I was a bit anxious.

When we arrived there we saw that Elbestrasse was indeed "colourful" but as soon as we got in the hotel and started about with our business, we forgot about it. The room was on the 5th and top floor, very spacious and clean, with what looked like brand new furniture. Price was 280 EUR with breakfast, and it was a double (more like a triple, for European standards). Bathroom was small but very cleverly organized and well kept. An interesting feature was sound-proof doors in between each two rooms, so it kept noise level from the corridor to zero. We left windows open a bit courageously on the first day -it was very hot and we had to, although we thought all the "street life" would crawl up to our room- but we slept like babies. Later, we realized that what we had mistaken for heating only was also a fine AC! Wi-fi connection easy to use and very conveniently priced at 35 EUR for five whole days. Breakfast was good, and very nice staff as well, from the reception desk to the cleaning ladies. A very nice, polite supervisor came in the first day, a few minutes after we were let in the room, to ask if everything was ok. And it truly was.

I would recommend this hotel for great value, and I believe if it was but a couple of streets off, they could ask for a lot more. Other pros: a lot of reasonably priced restaurants along the way to the Messe, so if you are coming back and starving you don't even have to stop by the hotel, you can sit down and feed! Cons: again, it will not do as a meeting place for business or colleagues, you'll have to take all appointments elsewhere, but apart from that, it was a very pleasant and satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lallum35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-west USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

We enjoyed the Hotel Victoria! After requesting a quiet room before our arrival, we were given a room away from the street from which no sound was heard! Somewhat small, yes, but well laid out with sufficient space for our things and a great shower/bath, good reading lights, and comfy beds. The breakfast was tasty and efficiently served with GOOD coffee, yogurt, cold cuts, wonderful breads, bottled water, fresh fruit, bacon, sausages, and eggs. The location is especially convenient to the main train station and within easy walking distance of the museums, river, and shopping areas. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notacceptable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed ad the Victoria Hotel on occasion of the Frankfurt Buchmesse. Even if it's near the red light discrict location is very good: it is also near the train station and tram stops. The hotel is very clean, service and breakfast is very good. The only point is that we were given a very small room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bipedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Townhouse Hotel
#37 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#9 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#17 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Kaiserstr. 59, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#44 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Victoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing