We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel, OK location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City
Ranked #128 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Arrived at the hotel late at night. The lobby area was nice, and the staff friendly. The rooms are partly situated in the neighboring building from where the lobby is, no problem if you don't have to much luggage. There is a corridor connecting the two buildings. The rooms are a bit dated, but clean and tidy - OK for one nights stay.

The best about this hotel is the location. You are within walking distance from Frankfurt Messe, and all parts of Frankfurt are easily accessible by tram. Besides, the hotel is situated in a quiet side street, so "city noise" is no problem.

All in all, an OK hotel, but mainly for short business trips. Location and staff is great, so if the rooms are given a make over, this will be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Statstjenestemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

Comfortable and extremely clean. Friendly and attentive staff. In an excellent location for Messe Frankfurt in the business area. Breakfast is excellent although a little pricey at 24euro.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone attending Messe Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

What a find! As a first time visitor to Frankfurt this was a real find, the staff were very helpful and we only planned to use it a rest stop. This quickly changed as the desk clerk suggested a short walk uptown to the Opera House and a visit to the Xmas markets and old town centre in the evening. What an eye opener, it was one the real special moments on our trip. Be sure to walk down by the river and over the bridge with padlocks attached by lovers.
Full marks to the desk staff.
Breakfast Resturant was excellent with lots of businessmen.Range of food and service excellent. It's nice to get a smile in the morning!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xjm911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is a newly renovated hotel a few blocks from the train station, and right next door to one of Frankfurt's distinctive skyscrapers. We were very impressed by the man at the front desk who spoke German, English, French and Italian to various guests while we were having a coffee in the lobby! The WiFi is free in the lobby, but you have to pay for it in the rooms; likewise, the breakfast is really overpriced, so wander outside a few blocks to eat instead. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, and the mattress was firm. The shower is a bit anemic, but hot. And they have washcloths (almost unheard of in Europe)!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YanksAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Here I am in the Savigny, Frankfurt, towards the end of a ten night stay. It seems there are two sides to this hotel; one with lifts and a smart looking staircase sweeping out the lobby to a mystery section of what I believe to be pleasantly refurbished rooms, and one that is a short walk to the west wing where one painfully slow lift serves six floors of reasonable but tired rooms in need of a bit of updating. Needless to say, I'm in the West Wing.

All of our group are in the West Wing, so arrival was tedious as we all waited our turn in the lift. I changed the smoking room I was given as it smelt like several ashtrays has partied in it the previous night. My new room is fine - old but fine - and with a pleasant dormer window/skylight affair so I can gaze at the stars. The bathroom looks like it has be changed more recently, but I have a comedy shower that takes about 20 seconds to respond to a temperature change request, and has about a millimetre between ice cold and scoldingly hot. There is only the one TV Chanel in English (BBC news) and that disappeared for a couple of days this week, but, plenty of choice if you speak German, French, Spanish, Arabic etc etc.

Staff here are pleasant and helpful - special award goes to the Italian concierge with impeccable English, a charming manner and an excellent knowledge of the area. The breakfast is good, although I have to confess I slept through it more than not so far.

There is no free wifi, a constant annoyance to me, but it is a t-mobile hotspot.There's no in house gym, but you have free use of gym and sauna nearby. Ask about the sauna complex a short tram ride away - definitely worth a trip if you like that sort of thing.

Location is good for shops, theatres, business and red light district (if that takes your fancy). The latter is easily avoided though. I'd stay here again if I come back, but would definitely go for a room in the posh bit.

Room Tip: Not the West wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukicat5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel is near the train station but it's not at the city center. The staff in the hotel are not up to the 4 star hotel standard. Night shift staff were impolite and had no patient to meet the guest's needs. There was no one at the reception at 7 pm , which is weird for a 4 * hotel and when you call for someone, the staff were reluctant to attend the guest. This is by far the worst Mgallery hotel that I stayed

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I was in the hotel during an international fair at the Frankfurt Messe. I had 4 nights there. The first impression was not so good, look of the hotel is average. I mean the interior. The staff is aproachable and mostly smileing. The room was small and had some specific smell, like old... The best thing what I was really enjoying is the breakfast. The breakfast is the best point of my stay, and you can compare it with better, 5 star properties.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolf_CRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Roomers
#14 of 269 in Frankfurt
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#7 of 269 in Frankfurt
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City

Address: Savignystr. 14-16, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Hotel Savigny Frankfurt City - MGallery Collection)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Westend-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £72 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling financial district of Frankfurt, a few minutes walk from the exhibition centre, the central railway station and the cultural highlights of the city of Goethe, the MGallery Hotel Savigny Frankfurt City welcomes you with French charm and warm hospitality. Experience the ambiance of our 155 rooms and 4 function rooms with garden views. Enjoy the delicious cuisine in our restaurant, relax on the terrace and enjoy piano music at the bar at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Frankfurt
Accor Frankfurt
Frankfurt Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing