We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“slightly dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City
Ranked #132 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“slightly dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

This was my second stay at the Hotel Savigny (previously a Sofitel Hotel). The building is an uninspiring post war building in a bland office area which however is only a short stroll (6 minutes) from the main train station.

Check in was swift and as I had booked the best category (superior room) no A-Club Platinum upgrade was possible apparently. Room 102 was exactly the same room I stayed in on my last trip some years ago. Unfortunately nothing had changed and the room showed clear signs of wear and tare. Unbelievably the room still feature an ancient CRT TV with poor reception. The bed was not that comfortable and the work station not very ergonomic. Internet was free with the rate (a high € 209/night excluding breakfast).

Bathroom was largish with non-branded toiletries (unusual for MGallery).

I am not sure this hotel fits in the MGallery collection of hotels which are grouped around: Vision, Design, History and Location. Location might be the only fit here, at a stretch.

No A-Club welcome gift arrived during the stay which was poor.

The best part of the stay was the breakfast which is vast and varied. Expensive though at € 24.

Verdict: The hotel is very dated and has lost the exceptional service I encountered during my previous stay. The price paid was not good value considering the shortcomings of the room and service.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starflyergold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    247
    156
    48
    43
See reviews for
61
129
97
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Stayed here as it was close to the train station and had a great night's stay.

A little difficult to find initially at 8 AM on a Saturday morning though worth it when we did.

Friendly reception and restaurant staff with comfortable rooms and bed with a clean bathroom as well.

Great location for walk to local shops and restaurants though in a business district but a short cab ride to the city centre.

Worth it for a stopover to get the body clock into European time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grasal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We returned to this hotel without having a reservation after being bumped off a flight (we are in the industry). We stayed here about 5 years ago. It is no longer a Sofitel and we both remarked how it has slipped a bit on the upkeep. Dinged up room doors, baseboards and furniture mostly. That said, it offers a huge bathroom, very comfortable beds, and appears to cater to businesspeople. My only other complaint was the very "cool" welcome we received from the female desk clerk--especially after mentioning we were repeat guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plenty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed here at the start of August and was very impressed by the service offered. The room we had was a decent size, had a nice big bathroom and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josepedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

While the location was not ideal for our trip, this would probably be an excellent location for business travellers, as it is not only very high quality, but well located in the West End.
As leisure travellers, it's a 10 minute walk, but parts of it are through some seedy areas to reach the old town and similar tourist sites.

The staff working when we arrived on Sunday afternoon were absolutely fantastic - very welcoming and friendly, making us feel right at home, and telling us about Frankfurt and also nearby towns like Heidelberg.

The quality of the room was great, and free wifi was available. The Bathroom has an additional speaker for the TV, so you could even hear it over the shower if necessary. Or in the bath, if you wanted to relax.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemaCheT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

This is a lovely modern, newly decorated hotel centrally located in the business district around the corner from the Platz de Republic tram stop and a fifteen minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof. The trams are great, running every five minutes or so, and will take you all over the city.
The reception staff were all very helpful and friendly. There was a computer in the lobby with internet access for residents and wi-fi throughout the hotel. The breakfast buffet was amazing!! Easily the best spread for breakfast that I have ever seen. Our room, a standard double, was spacious and tastefully decorated with a large en suite bathroom with a bath. It was impeccably clean and comfortable.
There was a good choice of food on both the restaurant and bar menus. However, the night bar staff were generally not willing to stay open for any type of residents bar and closed at approximately 12.30am. even though the advertised closing time was 1am.
We went to Frankfurt to visit the Christmas Markets. They were fantastic and Frankfurt is a shopper's delight.
We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel but it is quiet and not a place for all night partying or even getting a drink after 12.30am. If this is not a problem for you, then it is a perfectly restful haven in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Villa Florentina
#41 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
NH Frankfurt Messe
NH Frankfurt Messe
#8 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Innenstadt
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#99 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City

Property: Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City
Address: Savignystr. 14-16, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Hotel Savigny Frankfurt City - MGallery Collection)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Westend-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling financial district of Frankfurt, a few minutes walk from the exhibition centre, the central railway station and the cultural highlights of the city of Goethe, the MGallery Hotel Savigny Frankfurt City welcomes you with French charm and warm hospitality. Experience the ambiance of our 155 rooms and 4 function rooms with garden views. Enjoy the delicious cuisine in our restaurant, relax on the terrace and enjoy piano music at the bar at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savigny Hotel Frankfurt City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Frankfurt
Accor Frankfurt
Frankfurt Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing