We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, basic and no food”
Review of Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cheap, basic and no food”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on a last-minute business trip to Frankfurt. The taxi dropped me off across from the hotel, and I had to walk through what looked like a drug deal on the way to the hotel.

There was a queue at reception but that moved quite quickly and the person at reception was very friendly.

The first room I was given was basic but clean but I asked to be moved to a different room because the shower was very small. I was then moved to an even smaller room but with a better shower. The new room is number 603 and while it is very small and has quite a grubby floor and a lot of noise from the street outside, it's actually fine as a clean and basic place to sleep.

The real problem with this hotel is that there are no dining facilities. I arrived after 9pm on a flight from London and when I asked about food, the person on reception showed me a list of nearby restaurants but he didn't know where any of them were. Given the area and my experience of walking to the hotel after the taxi drop-off I decided that rather than walk around to try and find anywhere to eat I would just go to bed. In addition there was no still water in the room so I had to go downstairs and buy some from reception. A German friend of mine who lives in Frankfurt also told me that the red light district is only a block away and not to walk around very much after dark.

I think this hotel is fine for anybody who is a budget holidaymaker or budget business traveller, otherwise I would strongly recommend to avoid it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank HandofLearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan H, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear HandofLea,

thank you for taking time writing this detailed review. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding location and not having dining facilities. In fact we do not advertise an own restaurant. Talking to the receptionist, who was in charge at your arrival, we experienced that you were looking for a restaurant with vegan cuisine at 10.00 p.m. Since he is not familiar, which restaurant matches your demand and is still open for dining at 10.30 p.m. he searches the net, which one should grant him

Regarding the room, you even got an upgrade, free of charge, to a superior room! You are right, we do not have still water in the minibar, because the space in the minibar is limited, but you can get everything at the bar in the lobby.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel really is.

Greetings from Frankfurt
your Manhattan Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    257
    79
    21
    5
See reviews for
112
147
65
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights while attending a show at the convention centre. A brief summary:
Bedding could have been more comfortable.
Shower was awesome, but a bit bipolar temperature-wise.
Drinks were good value.
Breakfast was adequate.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
Location is excellent - 15 mins from the Messe.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan H, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Sam W.,

thank you for leaving us a feedback. We appreciate your kind comment regarding our friendly and helpful staff. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience the bedding and shower may have caused you. We hope this incident will not deter from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging in Frankfurt , but we hope you will continue to choose Manhattan Hotel for your next stay.

Greetings from Frankfurt
your Manhattan Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

very suitable location, easy to find, large rooms, good service and breakfast
ideal for business being close to the station and to all the key points of Framnkfurt City
the only weak point is the price:it should have been slightly lower to get a better score..............

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank umba1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan H, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear umba1955,

thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the price of the room we offered during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Hope to see you another time in Frankfurt.

Your
Manhattan Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband & I were spending our anniversary in Frankfurt, and we wanted a place that wasn't too pricey, but close to the train station. The Manhattan Hotel worked out perfectly. It's right across the street from the main train station plus the underground city subway, so we didn't have to drive our car anywhere.
When walking in the lobby, I noticed the area was modern, clean, and felt professional. There's plenty of comfortable seats, and a 24 hr bar! The staff was friendly and spoke good English, plus they have lots of attraction pamphlets and maps available. We requested a quieter room, which I was happy to see they commented about the request.
We had a double room on the 4th floor (elevator is available), and we were pleased to see how well furnished and modern it was. There's a safe, mini fridge (with mini bar inside, for a price), new flat screen TV and plenty of information inside the guest accommodation book. The bed was VERY comfortable, and we slept well...except our room did overlook an alley, and at one point in the night some drunk people were outside and causing a ruckus. This isn't the hotel's fault of course, but it might be a good idea to bring ear plugs if you're a lighter sleeper in case that happens.
One of the big plusses is the breakfast (included in the price of room). They serve from 6:15 am to 10:30, which is a lot longer than most places. AND...what a variety! From cereals, to various styles of eggs, fruits, meats (warm & cold), breads, and yogurts, you won't leave hungry! You can also get different kinds of coffee and tea.
A BIG "HEADS UP" - it's tricky driving into the city and getting on the right side of the street to reach the hotel. Due to construction and one way streets, we circled around for a half hour. I suggest just finding a parking lot near the train station and leaving the car there. It's probably going to be 20-30 euro a day (depending on the lot).
The location, price, cleanliness, and service was great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street. But bring ear plugs in case your room does overlook th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivineMzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan H, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear DivineMzM,

thank you for taking your time for leaving us such a detailed feedback. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product.

On your next trip to Frankfurt, we would be pleased to welcome you back.

Until then take care..

yours
Manhattan Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The hotel is in a perfect location right in the center of Frankfurt.
Location *****
Quality/price great
Personal kind & friendly
Room #506 Lovely & clean

I'll come back for sure

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matiyos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan H, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Matiyos H.,

thank you for another kind and positive review.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

your
Manhattan Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

right by the train station so if that suits you the location was great

the hotel was great and a nice welcome, the rooms (604/5) were really good especially considering the price, its a double, so two duvets and two decent pillows, very clean, didn't get disturbed in the morning and when I came back in the evening the guy was really helpful

I would go back if staying in Frankfurt again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan H, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Martin V,

thank you very much for your kind review. We will happily forward your review to our staff.

We are also looking forward to you next stay.

Your
Manhattan Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I would give this hotel a 4 star rating if it wasn't titled "very good." It was inbetween average and very good. Let's start with the location -- WONDERFUL if you are wanting to get to the train station fast. We just got off of a 5 hour train ride from Switzerland and my partner was feeling sick, so this close distance was great. Very convenient.

The breakfast was good. Not great. The staff was helpful in the dining hall. The staff at the front desk were fine. They seemed just kind of there. Not overly welcome. We asked for a late checkout and they gave it to us, so that was nice. He didn't want to give it to us at first, but thought about it.

The hotel is really small. You got a physical big key when you checked in, so that was kind of annoying to carry around and obviously if there are two of you, only one key can be shared. My friend was sick, so he stayed at the hotel while I was exploring the city. Little did we know that once you lock the door from the outside, the person from the inside is locked in! There are no locks on the inside...kind of odd. Also, there are no safes, so we had to walk around with passports. The rooms are really loud -- but that comes with the convenience of the station.

The bathrooms were OK. I personally didn't like showering in the hotel. It felt dirty. Just a little dated.

Overall, not bad if you are staying just one night like we did. Not one I would stay in for a long period of time, but it is cheap and close to the train station. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torid112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan H, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Torid112,

thank you for taking the time for writing your review about your stay at the Manhattan Hotel. We appreciate your detailed feedback and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We'll share your comments with our housekeeping department, but we are glad that at least you liked the location. :-) On your next trip to Frankfurt, we would be pleased to welcome you back.

Take care...

Manhattan Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
780 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#12 of 269 in Frankfurt
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Excelsior
#62 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,511 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Frankfurt Messe
NH Frankfurt Messe
#9 of 269 in Frankfurt
673 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Property: Manhattan Hotel
Address: Duesseldorfer Str. 10, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manhattan Hotel is located in the heart of Frankfurt and is the ideal choice for travellers seeking genuine hospitality in a modern designed setting. You can find us opposite the main central station (1 minute walking distance) and we are only a short walk (6 minutes walking distance) from the Frankfurt Trade Fair Centre, Stock Exchange, banking district, riverside museums, art galleries, the old opera and various restaurants. Frankfurt airport is only 7 miles away and reachable within 15 minutes. Each of our 55 non-smoking guest rooms features shower/bath, hairdryer, flatscreen with Sky-Channels, minibar, safety box, phone and allergy-friendly floor covering with dark brown planks wood decor. We offer free W-LAN via fibre optic cable (100 MBits/s), which is the fastest hotel internet access in Frankfurt / Main. Our rooms are completely renovated in a simple but elegant design and are consistent with colors, materials and light. Beige-brown tones give them a warm look combined with modern technical equipment. Our courteous multi-lingual staff is ready to assist you with all business and personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing